SP Delegation the EASY way - User Guide using Vessel - Created for Minnow Support Project

Steem Power Delegation Using Vessel

Vessel is a Steem wallet application for Windows, Mac and Linux with the following features:

  • Steem Power (SP) Delegation
  • Power Down management
  • Steem/SBD transfers
  • Witness Proxy management
  • Multiple account management

For this post only Steem Power Delegation will be discussed. This is a user guide for how to easily setup and manage your delegation, using Vessel.

To be able to use Vessel you will need your Active Private Key. You will see later that you can decide which permissions to grant to Vessel. The minimum you need for SP Delegation is the active private key.

Vessel is an easy to use standalone application and by far the most simple tool when it comes to SP delegation. The Vessel wallet is developed by the great community member @jesta. If you like this tool, please be sure to show @jesta your appreciation.

Download and install Vessel

Please head over to github and grab the latest release of Vessel, currently it is 0.0.6-h.

https://github.com/aaroncox/vessel/releases   

Pick the version for your operating system and download it. I'm doing this on Windows so I have highlighted the windows version below.

Install the application as you would with any other application on your operating system.

Start Vessel!

First time configuration

When you launch Vessel for the first time you will be greeted with this screen below. We will use the Active Private Key for this example, so please click the "Import a private key".

Fill in your data  

Next up you need to fill in:

  • Your Steemit account name
  • Your Active Private Key
  • A Vessel Wallet password (this is a new password for your Vessel Wallet)

When done, click "Add to Wallet".

Confirm Account Information

Confirm the permissions you are about to grant to Vessel.

Click "Confirm Save" and you have completed the setup.

Using Vessel

Confirm Account settings

Click the "Accounts" icon to the left and click the "Account Keys" tab.

Confirm your added Steemit account and the corresponding permissions.

Enable SP Delegation

To enable SP Delegation:

  • Click "Accounts" icon on the left
  • Click "SP Delegation" tab
  • Click the green + sign


  • Fill in account to delegate to
  • Move the slider to set the amount to delegate
  • Click "Confirm Delegation"

DONE!! If you have reach this step you have successfully setup SP delegation.

Confirm SP delegation

If you want to confirm your delegation settings do the following:

  • Click "Accounts" icon on the left
  • Click "SP Delegation" tab

Troubleshooting

Below a couple of examples of issues you might run into during the delegation process.

Low delegation threshold

There is a minimum amount of SP/Vests needed to enable delegation. In case you try to delegate an amount below this threshold you will receive the following message. It tells me 4K Vests which would be around 2 SP. I'm not sure this is a generic threshold or account specific. 

Delegation with only private Posting Key

In case you add the wrong key, for example the private posting key, you will see the message below.

Thank you for reading

I tried to keep this as short and concise as possible with many screenshots. Let me know if you have any suggestions for improvements. Love & Peace!!



Proud member of #minnowsupportproject & #teamaustralia - Thank you @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @canadian-coconut and @sirknight
Click HERE to learn more about Minnow Support Project or HERE to connect to our Discord chat server.

TEAM AUSTRALIA - Keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Nice post. Very clear and helpful. Thanks for creating this and sharing it with us 👍😊

Thank you! Let me know if you have any issues.

Very useful article, thank you! Is all the info still up to date?

Cg

It should be. I just checked and this is still the latest version.
I was planning to write an update to this article as I made some new discoveries. And I also planned to cover all the other parts of the wallet as well.

Thanks for passing by!

Awesome, I'm going to install it, and get some of my friends to as well. Thank you for taking the time :-D

Cg

Very detailed walk through! Resteemed. Thank you.

Thank you for the comment! Let me know if ran into any issues.

I will. Thank you for offering ;)

HI. There a way to install in adroid smartphone? Thank you!

Hi @jraysteem, I'm not aware of a mobile app. As this is not really considered a daily task there might be no such app on the roadmap.

thank you for response. I followed you :)

Superb tutorial.

Thanks, I've been trying this out. I seem to run into problems when I delegate more than once to the same user. Instead of just delegating some more to the same user, the other person just seems to 'receive' the last delegated steem power (while the prior delegated SP is not returned to me)

Thanks for the comment!
If you delegate to the same person the latest value will be used, but I guess you might have decreased the amount and then you will hit the 7 days limit. So you should see the SP return in 7 days. This is standard how delegation work and not specific to Vessel.

Thank you for the great guide! Respect!

Thanks!
The standalone app put me off at first, but with the simple installation and ease of use, I was completely sold within minutes. :)

This was super easy to follow. Thanks.

Super! 👍 Thank you for commenting. See you on Discord. ;)

Thanks Daniel. Gonna try this today :)

Great! Please let me know if you had any issues.

I will. Thank you :)

Hello @danielsaori, thank you for your tutorial, I have downloaded and follow your steps, but it seems I still couldn't delegate any of my SP.

I cannot find the + sign anywhere
Screen Shot 2017-07-24 at 7.52.56 am.png

are there anything that I am missing?? thank you

Hi there!
From the screenshot it looks like you have the "SP delegation" tab highlighted, but the information in the window is the one from the "Account Keys" tab. Something looks strange.
Can you please confirm you are indeed in the correct tab?

Thank you @danielsaori, I reinstall the whole thing a few times, and somehow manage to get the SP delegation tab highlighted and no longer in the account keys tab now, thank you for point that out, otherwise i will loop there for another few hours T-T

Thanks for the description and I'm happy it worked out.
It sounds like a strange issue. I can't believe it is a bug as this should have been picked up, it is just basic GUI functionality. Perhaps something was corrupt with your installation.

I guess there was some corruption too, anyway its fixed now and thank you again~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52