The no-more-meat house…(part I)

in #photography7 years ago

I thought it was time for a new little series, don’t you think? This time I visited a place in the centre of the old town of Antwerp that I last visited about… 30years ago. (yep, that doesn’t make me any younger 😊) Over the years the purpose has changed a lot but especially the last years since a brand-new museum opened not far from there (but more about that later…)

What you see here is (obviously 😊) the outside of the so-called “Vleeshuis”. Originally, some 500years ago, it was the base of the Antwerp meat cutters, the oldest and one of the most powerful trades in the city. They used the building as a guildhall, but also as a location to sell their meat. (yes, we love meat in Antwerp 😉)
Today it is used as… well, you’ll have to wait for the next pictures to discover that 😉 Just let me say that I shot some very beautiful room-replica’s in there… You’ll see…

vleeshuis_buitenkant.jpg

You can see on the picture that the neighbourhood of the “Vleeshuis” has been heavily renovated during the years… but there is another very old construction you can notice on this picture… You see that little blue guy over there? Well, then you also see that old wall on his right… (and left)… That wall is a part of the original city-wall that was built to protect Antwerp in the middle-ages…
For those who wonder : That little blue guy wasn’t hurt during the photoshoot, I just waited till he was on the right spot 😊

Please, don't forget to resteem if you like my photo adventures... I'm sure others will like them too!

Some other series of pictures I shot in Antwerpen...

Take a look at the renovation of my neighbour’s house…

My neighbours home renovation…(part VIII of ?) My neighbours home renovation…(part VII of ?) My neighbours home renovation…(part VI of ?) My neighbours home renovation…(part V of ?)

My neighbours home renovation…(part IV of ?) My neighbours home renovation…(part III of ?) My neighbours home renovation…(part II of ?) My neighbours home renovation…(part I of ?)

Ever seen the beautiful Saint-James Church in Antwerp? Just click on the thumbnail…

Hidden Treasures...(Saint-James Church Part VI of VI) The Private Altar...(Saint-James Church Part V of VI) The VIP room...(Saint-James Church Part IV of VI) The main Altar...(Saint-James Church Part III of VI)

The Bell Mechanism...(Saint-James Church Part II of VI) The Thing... (Saint-James Church Part I of VI)

Want to discover the Central Station in Antwerp? Just click on the thumbnail…

The Stairs... (Central Station part VI of VI) Arches Everywhere... (Central Station part V of VI) Can I buy a ticket here? (Central Station part IV of VI) Where am I ? (Central Station part III of VI)

Angry traveller... (Central Station part II of VI) Entering Antwerpen by Train... (Central Station part I of VI)

I also made a whole series of shots of a bicycle tunnel located in Antwerp in urbex-style. If you are curious to see them just click on the thumbnail to see the original post...

What's inside that tunnel... part VI of VI What's inside that tunnel... part V of VI What's inside that tunnel... part IV of VI What's inside that tunnel... part III of VI

What's inside that tunnel... part II of VI What's inside that tunnel... part I of VI

Curious to see my other work?

Happy to hear that 😊
The best thing you can do is checking out my profile here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) and follow me. I’m always happy to connect with other photographers! (And of course I’m always very happy with a little upvote… although a large one is also allowed 😉)
But of course you can find me on other social media too... just check out:

Sort:  

@randowhale @team @svamiva @cub1 @marillaanne @randowhalebonus @remlaps1 @cmp2020 @solidgold @roomservice @nolasco @jrai @pixelfan @lisa.palmer @manuel78 @pentaxke @pixresteemer @randowhaletrail @orinklev @loreennaa

Strange, although I find it a good photo (I always try to post only good ones 😉), I certainly don’t find it one of my best… So I’m really surprised to have all these upvotes. Don’t get me wrong, it makes me extremely happy… but I find it strange that the ones I prefer don’t get that much votes… I suppose it has to do with my taste that maybe is a bit… bizarre 😊
Anyway, I’m happy you all liked it and I thank you very very much for the most appreciated upvotes!
Cheers guys! (and girls of course 😘) 👍

Nom?

I think what killerwhale is asking is he sees you using our tag and are curious if you are wanting to apply. Tap or click here to learn more about #thealliance and if you would like to join, leave us a comment :)

Thanks for clearing that out... I don't speak fluent killerwhales and he/she used a dialect 😂
And yes, I was testing out the waters... I'll check the link, thanks!

Congratz, you just have been resteemed by @pixresteemer!
(All right but who is pixresteemer?)

Thanks man!

Congratulations @pixelfan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just love Antwerp, what a wondrous city. In Portugal we also have city walls in many cities. Ther's no continent as Europe, as charming as the other continents may be. Miss it!

Never been in Portugal... but I'll go once... don't know why, but it attracts me more than Spain...

Both are different and worth. But Portugal is more unspoiled than Spain, I guess. Maybe you should take a time to visit both and then tell me what you think... you will love Portugal, this I know! Everyone falls in love with

I think we will have to wait till the kids are out of the house... but after that, world, here we come 😄

Sure... they grow up fast...

Yeah, well... they appear to have the tendency to stay at home forever...
They're still at university right now... but the fact they don't seem to have plans for "later" worries me a bit 😂

Mine too :).
I guess they are just enjoying life!

And they're good at it. How old are your kids? Mine are 22 & 21... 2 girls...

I am not a native Antwerpian (are whatever you call that in English), but obviously i know the place (and I know what's inside; although to keep tension high I am not 'klapping out of the biecht.' :-p )

😂😂😂
Heb je trouwens mijn laatste comment op je berichtje gezien?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60830.20
ETH 2393.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63