The Bell Mechanism...(Saint-James Church Part II of VI)

in #photography7 years ago

I had some doubts if anybody was reading the text I write with my pictures, but now I know that at least 1 does… Yesterday I gave a hint about the place where this new adventure is taking place. I posted a picture of a “Thing” and asked to guess what it was… and @tattoodjay did 🙌
It’s indeed a bell mechanism, but I didn’t find it in a clock tower… it’s exposed at the entrance of the "St. James" Church in Antwerpen. Exposed because it’s not used anymore… it dates back to 1492 and has been replaced by a newer one cause… well, it didn’t work as expected anymore. I suppose the people in the neighbourhood were tired to hear the bells every 10 minutes 😂
Anyway, congratz to Jay for guessing what the thing was. You win… my eternal gratitude for reading my posts 😂

Now back to the subject…. I will have the opportunity to talk a bit more about the St. James Church in the next posts but first, as promised yesterday, how to turn the previous picture of the bell mechanism into a more impressive image… well, here are the results:

Detail 1
st_jacob_bell_mechanism_III.jpg

Detail 2
st_jacob_bell_mechanism_IV.jpg

Laying on my back in the church (made myself very popular with this one 😄)
st_jacob_bell_mechanism_II.jpg

What do you think? Did I succeed in at least making the image a bit more attractive? Personally I think I did. (otherwise I wouldn’t post this anyway 😊)
The secret, I think, is to focus only on a detail of the subject instead of trying to get the whole thing in 1 shot. Add to that a little (or much) post-processing, some Bokeh, some B&W for the background and some desaturation of selective colours in the foreground and voila… you get a picture where people at least look at and ask “What the hell is this” 😉

Stay tuned to see the next pictures in this series...
Please, don't forget to resteem if you like this photo adventure... I'm sure others will like it too!

You missed the start the Saint-James adventure?

No stress... just click on the following thumbnail to see the previous picture in this series...

The Thing... (Saint-James Church Part I of VI)

Some other series of pictures I shot in Antwerpen...

Want to discover the Central Station in Antwerp? Just click on the thumbnail…

The Stairs... (Central Station part VI of VI) Arches Everywhere... (Central Station part V of VI) Can I buy a ticket here? (Central Station part IV of VI) Where am I ? (Central Station part III of VI)

Angry traveller... (Central Station part II of VI) Entering Antwerpen by Train... (Central Station part I of VI)

I also made a whole series of shots of a bicycle tunnel located in Antwerp in urbex-style. If you are curious to see them just click on the thumbnail to see the original post...

What's inside that tunnel... part VI of VI What's inside that tunnel... part V of VI What's inside that tunnel... part IV of VI What's inside that tunnel... part III of VI

What's inside that tunnel... part II of VI What's inside that tunnel... part I of VI

Curious to see my other work?

Happy to hear that 😊
The best thing you can do is checking out my profile here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) and follow me. I’m always happy to connect with other photographers! (And of course I’m always very happy with a little upvote… although a large one is also allowed 😉)
But of course you can find me on other social media too... just check out:

Sort:  

@svamiva @mammasitta @brumest @meanmommy33 @bragih @achimbornemann @kendraclemenzi @coquiunlimited @kellyjanderson @txatxy @daljit @extras

Seems like you’re all lovers of Bell mechanisms… or you just love my heavily edited pictures of it. In any way, I really appreciate all those upvotes…
A big big thank you to all of you 👍

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

I love texture and color, I keep it for my wall

Hé thanks! And I saw your door... 😉

Hey! Not only JJ! Me also of course. Clockwork I thought was too obvious so I did not comment, also because JJ had already said that. I thought I would get a second "clue" in this post but then I just got the answer?

But no hard feelings, just to let you know that of course, I reed the text. And I agree with you, I like details more than the machine in one photo. And about the after-work, great job! Me like, me like a lot.

Yeah, I was surprised I didn't read a reply from you... I even started to worry, is everything allright with Bragih? did he left? has he been abducted by aliens? Maybe he got blocked in one of his doors... 😄
Anyway, just like JJ, you win my eternal gratitude for reading my posts and all the good vibes that goes with them!

I love your "stories", be it the photo or the text and don't miss a post. But like I have said before, I think you should continue to write more text to your photos. And you are doing that, and be sure, I read it :)

Excellent shots! Love the style used. I almost thought it was a 3D art piece, LOL. This is what I have always loved about photography, if done right it can also become anything your imagination makes it to be and very artistic. Well done. Oh and @tattoodjay he's pretty awesome. He's one of the few people that ACTUALLY looks at posts.

Apparently you read them too 😉 Nice to meet you and thanks for the very nice comment!

Congratulations @pixelfan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Love bells, love clocks, love mechanisms like this, love churches as I mentioned before... Wow! :D And indeed then, @tattoodjay IS everywhere :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70