Entering Antwerpen by Train... (Central Station part I of VI)

in #photography7 years ago

As some of you enjoyed my first series of pictures from Antwerpen (the Tunnel adventures), I decided to take you with me on a new adventure. This time it will be the Central Station in Antwerpen. According to Newsweek, Antwerp Central is the 4th most beautiful train station in the world, and according to Mashable it's even the most beautiful one... I hope I succeed to convince you of that fact with my pictures 😄

So, let’s start with the first picture... when arriving in Antwerp by train you will see this...

lijnenspel.jpg

As you can see, the architecture is a mix of modern and classic. The modern part dates from 2007 and consists of underground platforms needed for high-speed trains. The classic part, the iron and glass train hall and the waiting room hall (in the back) were built between 1895 and 1905. Nice to know : the 43 metres height of the train hall was once necessary for the steam of locomotives...

Stay tuned to see more pictures of this station...
Please, don't forget to resteem if you like this photo adventure... I'm sure others will like it too!

Other series of pictures I shot in Antwerpen...

I made a whole series of shots of a bicycle tunnel located in Antwerp in urbex-style. If you are curious to see them just click on the thumbnail to see the original post...

What's inside that tunnel... part VI of VI What's inside that tunnel... part V of VI What's inside that tunnel... part IV of VI What's inside that tunnel... part III of VI

What's inside that tunnel... part II of VI What's inside that tunnel... part I of VI

Curious to see my other work?

Happy to hear that 😄
The best thing you can do is checking out my profile here on steemit ( @pixelfan ) and follow me. I’m always happy to connect with other photographers!
But of course you can find me on other social media too... just check out:

Sort:  

Well described

Great photo and story. But are you going to take us to some deeper side of the station? I would like that, some hidden and dark places ;) But no need for it, just what loved so much about the last one.

Yes... and no. This time I go for architectural and of course beautiful 😉 pictures... so not really dark. But I will continue with my dark serie in parallel...

That's ok, but how about weeding into it a person? Some traveling story of someone examining the architecture, not just you? You are good at telling stories, think about it :)

Great photography, thanks for posting your journey! @pixelfan

Thank you 👍

I love train stations! I love train travel, too. I have photos of Grand Central. The first time I walked in, it felt like a grand castle. I see Antwerpen's Central Station can easily convey that same grand feeling! I look forward to the rest.

Thanks... I'm sure you will remember that feeling in the comming days 😄
But first you will have to meet an angry traveller... I say no more, stay stuned 😉

Congratulations @pixelfan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@edward.demin @kumaranvpl
Thanks for the upvote guys, appreciate it 👍

And a special big big thank you to @svamiva @mammasitta and @bragih for the continuous support!
Without you guys I would be nowhere here…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66