CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - Garter Snake

in #photography7 years ago

This one is a magnificent creature!


There are so many individual species of Garter Snakes and Ribbon Snakes that I'm actually not going to try to pinpoint the exact species of this one. Though I may not know exactly who it is, I do know what it is, which is absolutely striking... in more ways than one!

Anyway, this one was a real pleasure to photograph and I'm glad that our paths crossed. Check out these great photos!

If you want to check out the story of how I found this particular snake, click here for the link to that post.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-garter-snake



To see the previous post in this series, click below:



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

This is also one magnificent creature...

Your image of that cute lifeform is also pleasing.

You are sooooo correct... especially about that first one!

Cool...

I've been bitten by one of those (garter snake) in Canada and didn't die.

That may be why i could take the snake bite in the zombie survival challenge and just shrug it off.
hehehe

Both snakes bites really hurt though.

You poor guy.. at least your Daddy is on your team!

We'll see if that's a good thing or a bad thing after all this rain stops.
He's not fun to be around when he is cold and miserable.
At the moment my hands are so cold I can't even feel where the snake bit me.

I know your pain...

If you're interested, you can give me the location (near a city or in a county will suffice) and I'll send your picture to a friend of mine who is ridiculously good at identifying herps.

This one was somewhere in Missouri... not even sure where, as I was all over that state the other day. With 35 individual species of Garter Snakes plus the Ribbon Snakes varieties, I wasn't about to open that can of worms... er, snakes, right now.

If your friend wants to have a go at it, I'll try to remember the city, but all I know right now is Missouri. Thanks!

He replied really fast! Here's what he said:

Based in the Photo I'd call it a Red-Sided Garter Snake. especially if he is somewhere in the central-north western side of the state. It's typically just considered a subspecies of eastern garter though so it could just be an eastern in the "zone of overlap" between the "two" species.

Very cool, thanks much!

Cool! I just emailed him some of your pictures. He may ask for one of the venter, in case you have one.

Sometimes, the rest of the time i'm just aware of the risks and willing to deal with the consequences.

Think she just moulted? Colouring is so bright for a garter snake! Great shots!

She does look pretty fresh. Could be, nice observation!

Thanks for sharing :)

What a serious lady...

That she is! She's a Beaut though!

Great shots!

Yeah, I've learned to only post the ones that aren't out of focus... LOL!

Lols!! I would have died ten times getting snakes this close

Good thing it was me then!

Wohooow! What a beauty, and your first proofphoto is amazing!! You just made my day. WOW!

I thought the same, very colorful snake. Steem on!!

Steem on my friend!

I have always been fascinated by the creatures of nature. Thanks for bringing them to us, up close and personal, with your talented, vivid photography. Having this particular creature that close to one's face with its mouth open, looking like it's ready to take a bite, would make me nervous if I was standing there watching you interact with it. :-)

Good thing you weren't standing there watching!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57