CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA-PEPPER - Speckled Kingsnake

in #photography7 years ago

As a Wildman, @papa-pepper loves to be mixing things up outdoors.


The woods are now alive with life, and the reptiles and amphibians are creeping and crawling out in full force. I'm there to meet them every day, and I thought that it would be fun to try to photograph our encounters and get some great original shots of being close to these creatures. As I encounter them, I'll keep posting.

To start with, I'll use this Speckled Kingsnake that "Monster Truck the Pepper" caught when he was in town with @mama-pepper. Here are some of the shots, a few of which were taken when it was in the defensive, striking position. Since it is a nonvenomous snake, these photos weren't too dangerous to take.


Here is a short video I made as well, so that you can see it in action. Check out how it vibrates its tail to mimic a rattlesnake, it's some pretty cool stuff to observe!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-speckled-kingsnake


Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

awesome video

Thanks so much, there are more to come of different creatures!

You say they are tasty, could be an answer to your selfsuficiency ?. Don't let the little peppers name them, less tears if one gets away.

Hmmm.... There are a lot of snakes around here... if the necessity ever manifests.

Great photos ! But i still dont like snakes ! Lol! 🐍🐍🐍🐍

I'll have to like them enough for both of us then.

Cool ! Thanks for that 🐍🐍🐍🐍

How will they taste? hehehe :-)

Snake is actually very tasty and easy to clean... It's just illegal in Arkansas.

I've eaten snake in Morocco. Dare I say what it tastes like?

I guess like chicken @kus-knee

I knew that you'd know!

I have also eaten iguana, tastes like chicken too

My father cooked up a snake once, and I actually enjoyed it very much. Like most things, frog legs included, tastes like chicken... ;) lol

As a chef, I prepared Frog legs with hot garlic sauce :-)

It is! But small portions :-) In Holland you can find the froglegs in some steakhouses but rarely though, They come frozen in a box :-)

oh good lord @papa-pepper no one on steemit haunts my dreams like you with your posts lol. Snakes make my skin crawl, I dont hate them by any means, but they def creep me out. But... I will say its a beautiful snake you found

Lol... Thanks for the, um... Compliment?

always compliments to you my friend, your posts are always very memorable, what a blessing to this community you are. There will always be great praise from my end. Even if these snakes haunt my dreams... eee just got a spine chill

My snake dreams, and I do have them, usually feature me running around catching as many as I can until I wake up. I'm always so disappointed to wake up...

Thanks very much! I was just playing around, I know it was a compliment!

DANGER NOODLE!!!

danger noodle nope rope
source

But seriously, if snakes stay out of my way, I will stay out of theirs. I feel bad when despite my best efforts, I mulch a garter snake when mowing. It's only happened 2 or 3 times.

DANGER NOODLE!?!?!

I've never heard that one before.

Oh my....I don't like snakes either....just like snails they scare the living hell out of me....funny they both start with s...so let's see...spiders, salamanders, sgeckos, speople....lol...they all scare me!

HA HA! sgeckos and speople! (Mailed your $2 note the other day. Let me know when you get it!)

That is such a gorgeous snake! It looks like they have an unusually short tail, too, compared to most snakes. So muscular and sleek. Snakes are so amazing!

They are gorgeous indeed! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41