CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - Northern Water Snake

in #photography7 years ago

This is one of my favorite snakes.


I’ve been finding these for years up in Wisconsin, and am blessed to be able to enjoy them down in Arkansas too! This post will be a little longer photo-wise, so I’ll keep the text short.

Enjoy the close-ups of the head, and also the scales. I think this is one beautiful snake!

Bonus Video

Sort:  

Occasionally we see some water snakes on the lake we live on In Michigan. It may be those. We have snapping turtles and eagles that probably keep them in check.

I would guess that you are correct. They were the most common kind in Wisconsin.

Dude I am no snake expert but when they are coiled up like that, doesn't it mean they aren't too happy with whatever is right in front of them? You're a brave man.

If you look at the "S" shape of the neck in this photo, you can estimate the strike range by imagining it straightened out. If It was also lifting its head and making more curves, it would signify that it was even more prepared to defend itself.... bravery can often be confused for foolishness, so I'm glad that you could tell the difference!

Now adding math into the mix. Mind blown. That could be a cool game show. Do a math problem while a snake may or may not be getting ready to bite your face.

That sounds like a good game. I'll try to make a pilot episode later this week when I get home!

Love the first photo with his tongue!

Thank you! He stuck out his tongue a lot!

It's wild, and already released, but they are nice to find around! Thank you!

Great photos and an extremly exiting situation espacially for me as a german :-) we have only very little snakes which I last have meet as a child in nature.

We got a lot here! Found at least four today!

This snake is both beautiful and scary at the same time. Made my hair stand on end. Great job papa!

Thanks. They are tough, but can be easy to photograph.

Hmmmmmmmm like me yes....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32