CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - Unknown Beetle

in #photography7 years ago

I’m not even sure what kind this is.


I’ve always enjoyed bugs and I really like beetles, but I’m not sure what kind this is. It is similar to the Stag Beetles that I am familiar with, but I’m not exactly sure what this is. I find a lot of these in Arkansas under logs that I roll over…

Any ideas steemians?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-unknown-beetle



To see the previous post in this series, click below:



Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

So I gather from your answers that it is not a Computer Bug?, really well photographed.

It wasn't originally, but now the bug is on the computer.

Hang, it spread fast, it's on my computer as well, anti-virus did not help at all! Better warn the rest of Steemit , they may be infested as well?

Looks like it is too late, Papa gave a bug to Steemit!

It looks a lot like a patent-leather beetle aka Jerusalem beetle (Odontotaenius disjunctus).

I have to agree with you there. That is what it looks like.

Thanks @ocrdu!

@papa-pepper looks huge
ticklish on your face?

You are most welcome.

It's the patent leather beetle! We found them all the time during our entomology course. If you hold it up next to your ear they make really bizarre creaking and chirping sounds!

Yeah, I just learned that! Thanks man!

Not sure, but I'm willing to bet he can take a nip out of ya! lol

Ah, an entomologist in this community. I look forward to seeing more.

I just like to play with the creatures and check them out! Thanks!

Interesting subjects!

Beautiful shots! Thank you! Congratulations!

No. No. No. You are all wrong!

This is not a patent leather beetle. No! This beetle's name is Harry. He was abandoned at an early age by both his parents but overcame all to become the wonderful specimen he is today.

His favourite music is anything by the Beetles and he enjoys going out on a Saturday night with his friends for a curry and a few beers. His party trick is to stay very still and look like a piece of liquorice.

He is currently unattached but has fathered around 5000 offspring none of whom he knows the names of but he loves them all.

His ambition is to avoid getting squashed by the boots of @papa-pepper or eaten by anything that loves beetles as an aperitif.

You lot know nothing :-)

Wow the little fella as a big mouth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32