OPERATION TRANSLATION : Now Under Construction – What it is, and How You Can Help

in #translation8 years ago

Steemit is growing fast, constantly knocking down barriers and racing around obstacles. The language barrier is just another one of these temporary inconveniences that will soon be removed in our community, and Operation Translation may play a key role.

In an attempt to continue building up our global community, I recently made this post:

TRANSLATION OPPORTUNITY ON STEEMIT


It started a process and got a little attention, most notably from @stellabelle, who has made the same offer that I did in her post.

TRANSLATE ANY OF STELLABELLE'S POSTS AND KEEP ALL REWARDS


To sum up the proposal:

  • Any user who desires to translate any of our articles from English into another language is free to do so for the purpose of reposting it on steemit.
  • The translator is free to post their translated version under their own username and keep all the payout rewards for their efforts.

More details are included in each of our posts, but that is the general offer that we have made.


WHY THIS IS IMPORTANT

  • It gives those who are bilingual or skilled in languages an opportunity to take excellent articles posted by other users and make them accessible to non-English speaking users.
  • The translator has the opportunity to risk work required vs. potential payout with their efforts just like the original authors did when they posted the original article in English.
  • By using this method, members of this community can work together to continue to diversify the content of this community and make the information provided by steemit more accessible.

WHAT YOU CAN DO

  • Consider making this offer yourself, as a steemit author
  • Find and upvote translated articles in this project to inspire additional interest from authors and translators
  • Consider promoting or resteeming posts like this to increase awareness
  • Let your friends who are capable of translating know about this opportunity

UNDER CONSTRUCITION?

Yes, this is still just an idea in its infancy. @stellabelle and @papa-pepper are considering some sort of official guidelines and a logo or image to include at the end of posts from authors on board with this effort. Your input in these areas is crucial.

Read our posts about the matter and let us know:

  • What have we overlooked?
  • How can this effort be improved?
  • Do you have a better name suggestion than “Operation Translation”?
  • Do you have an idea for an official image that authors could use for this project?

Many members of our community are already hard at work on this effort. Several offers have already been made to translate our articles into a variety of languages. Here are some examples:

HOW TO COMMIT “STEEMICIDE” by @papa-pepper

COMO COMETER “STEEMITCIDIO” Portuguese translation by @jsantana


STEEMIT BLOWS MY MIND AGAIN by @papa-pepper

STEEMIT ME VUELA NUEVAMENTE LA CABEZA! Spanish translation by @traducciones


Steem Developer Update - Graphene 2.0 by @steemitblog

Actualizacion del Desarrollador de Steem Spanish translation by @traducciones


STEEMIT SLANG by @stellabelle

JERGA DE STEEMIT Spanish translation by @traducciones


FBI Finally Releases Nikola Tesla's Documents They Seized 73 Years Ago by @stellabelle

El FBI hace publicos finalmente los documentos de Nikola Tesla que decomisaron hace 73 anos Spanish Translation by @juanmiguelsalas


These are just some of the articles getting translated by this group effort.

Please consider upvoting those posts linked above and help us go FULL STEEM AHEAD by joining in the OPERATION TRANSLATION brainstorm!

This is a group effort in so many ways and we can choose whether or not this will work. Without upvotes on translations, no one will continue their effort, so please keep an eye on what is going on and encourage these hard working talented individuals in our community.


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OFFICIAL OFFER FROM PAPA-PEPPER

Sort:  

Yep, this is still an open offer everyone.

Awesome man! Do I need to notify you in the post that I am going to be translating it?

And what about now? Is it still an open offer? I would like to translate your series of "the stranger - papa's advice for newer users" in Portuguese (#pt). Great content on how to improve here on Steemit!

This offer is still open.

This really brings back memories. We have many goats growing up and had around 10 milk era. It was great.

I upvoted it, so I must have seen it.
I prefer the approach I came up with for multiple reasons.

First, no cost to the creator of original content.
Second, the only thing risked is effort by the translator.

We don't exactly have a plethora of whales for every language, so gaining traction outside of English seems difficult.

To have an English post not pay out well and then fork over money to have it translated into a language where it most likely will do even worse doesn't seem to work for me.

I am glad that many are brainstorming on this idea from many angles and that there is an active dialogue specifically addressing this issue, but I am still trying to figure out what will be best.

Thoughts?

Hi @papa-pepper I would not be in favour of upfront payments. I like the idea of the translator getting the benefit of the value of the translated post (as if it was their own post). But I do think they should give credit to the original author as well, very important.

I actually asked some German bloggers if I could translate their posts into English for them.

I have rendered editorial services in English and translation from Filipino to English for my friends in the Philippines. Im thinking about getting my services out but I am still too busy. How much would you pay for an 800-word English translation of a foreign article? Thanks in advance for any of your ideas.

Do you know if there is already a translatin of the FAQ in French, because otherwise will do one

Hi papa-pepper can you showcast my Translation of the FAQ in French so the new French community members can find it more easily. Here is the link : https://steemit.com/fr/@jeanpi1908/faq-traduction-francaise-partie-1

A big thank you to @felixxx, @dresden, and @xanoxt for being inspirational in developing this concept.

This is a great initiative, and I am happy to see more being done to improve the connection with the international community.

One suggestion though. I think the program would probably be more successful, and be more fair to the original content creators if the translators gave at least a small percentage (maybe 10%) back to the original author.

I would tend to agree with this @timcliff - with perhaps one little caveat. If the post makes more than $10 then implement the percentage. I'm planning on joining @papa-pepper and @stellabelle with some of my articles. Granted, many of mine had no visibility because I was new and didn't have a following. Hopefully the ones translating will have better luck (or timing).

From my point of view after 1 month on steemit, my post is dead, financially speaking.

The odds of a translation getting a great payout are slim for the most part right now, so the translator is risking a great deal.

In my original post, I mentioned that if a translation gets a great payout, the translator would be free to share the rewards if they desired.

To encourage participation, I prefer a no strings attached agreement, since I get free publicity anyway, and now I have at least a chance of making something more, depending on the translation payout and the translators choice.

This method provides greater incentive for the translators, and my main goal is investing in the future of steemit and building our community, rather than the financial aspect.

This method was my choice to get the ball rolling, but every author can make their own decision on the matter.

Translating this article into Spanish.

Of course you are.

Absolutely marvelous.

I will upvote when you are finished, just reply with the link.

Interesting concept. I'll consider translating in french posts I like from people that give permission.

You can see if you like any of mine, the other post I linked about it suggests a few good articles.

I really like your Snapping Turtle article and I decided to make a French translation of it. I'm going to try and PM it to you in case you don't see this reply. Here it is:
https://steemit.com/howto/@heroic15397/finally-the-how-to-video-you-ve-all-been-waiting-for-how-to-grab-a-snapping-turtle-by-the-throat-a-french-translation-of-papa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87