CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA – Five Lined Skink

in #photography7 years ago

In my opinion, these are one of the most beautiful North American lizards..


Five Lined Skinks (Plestiodon fasciatus) are some very cool lizards. They are a smaller variety that can have some striking colors.

Juveniles and the adult females often have an amazing electric blue tail. These tails can detach if the lizard is attacked or grabbed, but, thankfully they will regrow. The new tail will never be as long as the original though.

Their black bodies with yellow stripes make the rest of them look similar to a Garter or Ribbon Snake. In fact, the first time that I saw on in the wild, I only say the head and front of the lizard’s body for a brief moment and I thought that it was a Garter Snake. When I peeked around the other side of the log, I was amazed to see the legs and realize that it was a lizard.

That event happened when I was 25 in Wisconsin, but these little guys are also common in Arkansas, so here are some recent photos.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-five-lined-skink



To see the previous post in this series, click below:



Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great photos! I love skinks.

How do you get so close to them? They were always really flighty around me so I could never get really close.

I have four little helpers (the @little-peppers) to get things surrounded and keep the animals in the middle so I can photograph them!

nice pictures would like to know where you live and take these kind of pic 'S
you must enjoy you surroundings.

No matter where I have lived (up north in Wisconsin, Down south in Louisiana, or in the middle now in Arkansas) I always enjoy being out in creation and interacting with the animals around me.

Of course some can be dangerous, but, if you are safe and wise about it, it can be a good time! Thank you @writemore!

At least they are better for the little peppers to play with.

Sure, lizards do not pose the same level of danger most of the time.

We tormented them as kids, but they managed ti escape when they wanted to.

Great photos, unreal how you get up so close.
We get skinks around here too, They are cool.
Ours don't have such striking colours though.
Not the ones I've seen anyway.

No one can ever accuse you of having too few pictures.

Have you seen anyone post on new curation strategies, after the hardfork?

It is hard to pick the best photos sometimes.

Also, no, I haven't. You?

No, I haven't either. Looking forward to some insight

Wow. Really amazing photos. What a beautiful lizard :-)

Here is a short video we made of a few of them.

Very cool. I love their colours. It is an amazing change from black into that blue . Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for appreciating it!

Beautiful capture. What a sweet looking little face the skink has.

that is so sweet, thank you!

Beautiful lizard, I like it))

it even looks nice upside-down!

That's one of our @little-peppers with one back in Wisconsin!

I've never seen one of those. Very cool indeed! Steem on!!

There is a variety that lives just south of Wisconsin Rapids. The first one that I saw was at Deer Trail Campground along the Wisconsin River off of County Road Z.

20180525_220319.jpg

Thanks for the post Papa. I ran across this little fellow this morning here in North Florida, or i should say he ran across me! I admit I jumped a bit. I thought i would add to your excellent Five-lined Skink post. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32