CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - Cecropia Moth

in #photography7 years ago

The largest native moth in North America!


The Cecropia Moth (Hyalophora cecropia) is the largest of it's kind around here. Some have been documented at a wingspan of half a foot. The caterpillars are also rather large, reaching lengths up to 5 inches. This one was found in front of a store that I was cutting the lawn at yesterday. I was quite excited to see it and immediately grabbed my camera.

I love how fuzzy they look. Sometimes certain moths remind of be of little flying teddy bears. Here are the photos.

Just to add a bit of "life" to the post...

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-cecropia



To see the previous post in this series, click below:



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

DAmn!!!! That is Beautiful! What I found the other day is not even as close as nice as that creature, but close
IMG_6694.JPG

IMG_6692.PNG

IMG_6691.JPG

Great findings as usual, keep it up!

I found another neat one yesterday too, but I'll post on it later.

I like yours, how big was it? Thanks for sharing the photos!

It was a nice decent size, not as big as the one you posted. Have you seen one like the one I displayed?

I have at least seen similar ones, but they were only about an inch ans a half wide.

The style of this one I posted, had a very unique face. It looked 0r looks like something from the Power-Rangers haha

What do they eat?

The adult moths do not eat at all.

The caterpillars feed on leaves of trees and shrubs.

Good question!

GOOD SUCCESSFUL PICTURES@papa-pepper

Thank you! I think that they turned out well!

Very cool!! I love how furry it is. Amazing creature and wonderful photo's.
Great post again Papa Pepper!! Steem on!!

Que grande !!!

Grande indeed! Gracias!

HAHA!

Whoa @papa-pepper! That moth is huge man!!! lol Great pic!

You looked amazed in the image above!

I most certaintly am my friend! lol...It looks like a big colorful spider with wings!:)

Wow, what a hairy butterfly!

Very hairy. I like seeing the individual hairs up close!

wow ,very attractive and colourful !! <3

Thanks, I thought so too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62