CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - Western Worm Snake

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Though there is a population of these in the tiniest south-western corner of Wisconsin, I never found any until I moved to Arkansas.


The Western Worm Snake (Carphophis vermis) is a very cool little snake. They can be found in many states in the USA, but can be difficult to find, since they burrow. For the most part, they live off of earthworms.

They are a real snake and have a tiny, cute little tongue that will flick out, but they look more like a worm. They are a small snake that rarely get up to 1 foot long. Most that we have found are between 3 – 9 inches. If I find a larger one, I will try to get some more photos. (Photographing tiny snakes is difficult for me!)

BONUS VIDEO

For a smaller snake, the Worm Snake sure is beautiful and peculiar. Just to give you a little better look at it, I also made a short video. I hope that you enjoy it!

Sort:  

A worm snake! I believe I discovered one as a kid when visiting Michigan. Hopefully I was gentle...

Wow! It really does resemble an earthworm. Supports the "you are what you eat" theory. ;)

Note to self: Check to see if you look like a piece of kale...

LOL, I'll check t see if I look like a pepper... well, my avatar does!

Be careful with snakes, they are dangerous, although they are so beautiful) Such a small))

I will be careful!

Man! It is tiny!

That is a cutie :-) Thanks for sharing :-)

Nice photos and I must have to say that this snake look sweet!

They are very beautiful and cool looking! Thank you!

snakes make be cringe nice pics

Glad you could still enjoy them!

here in South Africa we have saying that goes like this mooi van veer maar veer van mooi
meaning nice from far but far from nice (dangerous) LOL

That is a great saying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37