CLOSE TO THE CREATURES WITH PAPA - Three-Toed Box Turtle

in #photography7 years ago

Turtles have got to be my favorite animal.


Honestly, I’m not even sure why, but I do know that I really like them. The only box turtles that we has in Wisconsin were endangered, so it is nice to be able to see so many down here in Arkansas. This one is the Three-toed Box Turtle (Terrapene carolina triunguis).

An interesting fact about these turtles is that they like to eat a lot of live creatures and are omnivores. They will eat various leaves and berries, but small insects and earthworms are also common food enjoyed by these terrestrial turtles. Once, I even observed one munching on a dead mammal.

Their hinged shell allows them to securely tuck their entire body into a safe space and close around it. Many individuals will be rather shy at first, but once they realize that you are not a threat, they will move around freely even when being observed or photographed.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-three-toed-box-turtle



To see the previous post in this series, click below:



Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

You have an amazing range of animals, for want of a better word. Little -ppers don't know how lucky they are.

Keep up the great content papa-pepper!

nice photos my friend, good jobs =)

Turtle as in Darth Vader in the last photo)

her nose! incredible cute creature!

Great close up shots !! I like him , hes pretty cute for a turtle !🐢🐢🐢🐢

Really cute turtle and nice article! I like the way you describe this little creature!

Fab photos, he is a good looking turtle :)

Hello!
Good job!
I signed up, follow each other ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37