THE BLESSINGS OF ZIPPERED POCKETS

in #adventure7 years ago

Good pockets can be hard to come by!


Personally, I've always been a fan of good pockets. The best ones have zippers on them. Zippered cargo pockets are probably the most excellent pockets of all time, but they can be hard to find these days. It seems that everyone is switching to velcro, but velcro just doesn't have the same potential that a good zipper does.

Allow me to illustrate.

Imagine that it is a dreary day full of disappointing drizzle. You've got your rain suit on but you're still wet, and you're weed whacking up a storm making the lawn look nice. Nearby, @bluerthangreen is riding a lawnmowers taking care of all the easy-to-reach places for you.


Then, out of seemingly nowhere, a Garter Snake sneaks out. Somehow it has thus far dodged the weed whacker and the lawn mower, but that does not mean that its number will not soon be up. You could relocate it off to the side, but you have no guarantee that it won't slither right back over and get chopped up... options are limited.

Then, you remember that you have real pockets on your rain gear. Pockets with zippers! Yes, today is a happy day for your people!

Ever so carefully you put the snake in your pocket, an all to common occurrence for you, and you zip it shut. Once the lawn is finished and the dangerous weed whacker and lawn mower are put away, your new friend can be free to go. But, for now, he'll be safe in your pocket.


Sharing this story reminds me of when I used to live in New Orleans and we would go catch geckos at night. You'd be surprised how many geckos you can fit in one zippered cargo pocket!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-zipppered-pocket



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Just make sure you're checking the pockets before you do laundry....

My wife would FREAK OUT!!!!!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Only the first 13 or 14 times!

LOL - I agree!

Oh the geckos here are in abundance. We usually have a few dozen under the carport during summer and fall. Weirdest thing I've ever seen was a gecko on the bathroom mirror. I think it was trying to turn clear? Very strange site. Cool little critters though.

There are really cool! I miss them. Hopefully soon enough I can head to Texas, Louisiana, or Florida for a visit and check some out!

I was enjoying it then a snake :(
but i know what you mean ;)

I've used pockets on a pair of shorts to hold worms as I was fishing a small river for bass. Worked great for fishing. However, it is best to remove the worms before placing the shorts in the washing machine.

Ah yes, I remember that story!

Good morning Dad!

Good morning Son.

We're up in Minocqua. It's 32 degrees with a bit of sleet and snow. No mowing grass today.

This is cool how both of you have accounts and see eachother participating in the community!

Thanks @skrt. I'm just a fringe player. Created my account last month as another way to communicate with my son and his family.

It is good to be able to check up on the young one from time to time. Good to hear from you grandpa-pepper.

I know everything about pockets! I've sewed so many clothes for my life and a lot of good pockets!))) I am a seamstress. @papa-pepper

Wow, very cool. @mama-pepper and Pinkie-Pepper sew some of our clothes, but it is mostly skirts for the girls.

I sew for everyone!)

You must have steel nerves to put the snake in your pocket)))) My applause))))

I once held one in my mouth because I needed free hands!

I'm glad you saved the snake from the lawn mower. Just do not forget to get it out of your pocket before washing, or you'll get a beautiful striped rope =)

It is out already. Thank you!

They d9don't suffocate in the pocket or what?cos most water proof jacket can be airtight....😮

The material on the inside is breathable... literally!

Thanks for making sure though.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 27. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 27 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

OK, i love the couple of pants I have that have zipper pockets but I'm not going to use it the same way for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01