Day 104: 5 Minute Freewrite:Wednesday - Prompt: cigarettes

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Please welcome our newest freewriters. Visit their blogs please, leave them a comment and if you can, a vote.
@nicktravers
@hemendrapatar
@maki07
@hartfloe

Prizes

More good news about Day 101!!
We got another donation!! Thank you @saffisara. You just are amazing!! So very, very generous!
Btw. if you don't know yet. @saffisara is the creator of the #haturday tag. Check it out, you all. It is a great way to have some fun and show off your hats and lovely faces - or not 😉

Prize for Day 100: 20 SBD and the SBD payout of the post!!!
You have until Friday 2/2 at 6 PM Pacific Time to enter!! Multiple entries are allowed as long as it is with a different partner! Click here for details

Prize for Day 101: 17 SBD and the SBD payout of the post!
You have until Saturday, 2/3 at 6 PM to enter the contest. Click here for details
If you want to donate to increase the pot, send your donation with a note - prize Day 101 to my wallet. And upvote the post.

Over 20 Club

In other news. Four of our Over 20 Club invitees already posted their posts. I will post them again on Friday. But please, visit one of them per day and give them one of your lovely fully powered up 100% votes.

If you don't understand what 100% vote and powered up is all about, read the articles on voting below.

@snook Incredible Journey

@felt.buzz A Look Back

@improv On Freewriting

@deaconlee My over 20 Freewrite Posts

If you don't know what the Over 20 Club is, read about it here

The short explanation is that we, as a group, want to give an extra boost to those who are regular freewriters. Please try to reserve 1 vote a day (or however you want to divide it up) for the over 20 club. You too will be a featured member before you know it!!

Freewrite band.png

Prompt: cigarettes

Set your timer for 5 minutes
Start writing
Use the hashtag #freewrite
Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Here is @snooks excellent tutorial on how to join our freewrite adventure

And @improv's input:

Two things I do a little differently. I just type "timer" into google and it pops up a 5-minute timer. I also type directly into steemit. I also rarely use a photo, don't I? So that's three things.

Please read, comment and vote (if you have voting power) on each others freewrites as much as you can. Especially if you are new to the platform, you will be surprised how many friendships are formed by reading and commenting on each other's work!

Freewrite band.png

Voting

Remember to check your voting power. Do not vote for a while if you are under 90!
https://www.steemnow.com/ or use https://steemworld.org/

Here is an excellent article explaining how to maximize your vote by @taskmaster4450. It helps you to grow to vote wisely!! And a more recent one

And here is a counter opinion on voting by our freewriter @improv

This post is talking about using your vote for maximum curation. Thank you, Asher @abh12345 Read the post here

Check out this post - one of our freewriters got a shout out!!

Great Opportunity

This is a great opportunity for those of you who are more serious about your writing and are ready to take it to the next place. The Isle of Write just announced their new project. SBD can be won and you can even make it into a print edition. Read the details here.
An update on how to enter your work.

Contests

If you come across any other contests the freewriters might want to enter, please let me know!

Writing help

  • A free app: Grammarly. A lot of us are not native English speakers and I am finding it a helpful app. It will underline spelling and grammar mistakes. Just remember that is is not always right -especially if you use complex sentence structures. Here is the link

  • Remember The Most Dangerous Writing App. You set the time - 5 min - and start typing. Don’t stop!!! It will destroy what you wrote if you stop for more than 3 seconds - and backspace does not count as writing on the app. If you are prone to stop and think - this app forces you to keep going. You can make corrections after the 5 minutes are over.

  • A timer. Egg timer is a free tool you can use on your desktop to set a time. This is useful for our freewrites or if you want to work in blocks of time and then take a break. Here is the link

  • Our fellow freewriter @arbitrarykitten has a business here on Steemit. Several editors are offering to edit and format your post for a small fee. Check out their intro post

  • Our discord channel Isle of Write has workshop rooms for fiction, non-fiction, and poetry where some of the experienced writers might be able to give some tips. Join with this link https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

  • If you are ready to get serious about improving your understanding of the English language check out @majes.tytyty blog. He has lots of useful information to understand words and their roots better. If you have questions or need help, leave a comment on his blog.

  • Check out @ghasemkiani if English is not your first language. He explains many idioms. Often to use those correctly is the biggest struggle when using a foreign language. He uses #idioms-tutorial

  • If you know of other helpful tools or people, please share with us!

Money

There are several people who offer SBD for free on this platform! How great is that!!

Here are a few

@fisheggs - follow this account and you get upvotes at random times.
@sydesjokes - he rewards his followers with SBD for any kind of interaction with him- comment, vote, resteem.
@craigcryptoking- he does a giveaway a few times a week. All you have to do is to be the first, or fourth or eight commenter. And he added a few more.
@danielsaori - he does a comment contest. A new challenge every week.
@rexusmo - I think a few of you have started to leave links to your post. Every day, he has a cheering up post. You leave a link to a post you are proud off and you might get a reward. Keep trying!!

Steemit Tools

This is the most comprehensive list of applications on this blockchain I have seen. I highly recommend that you bookmark it!! I also will include it in the growing resource section in the future. Steemit Tools

Staying Legal

This is an excellent article by @dmcamera on how to use images legally. A must read!!

Discord

Remember, we have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join . https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

If you like this and want more people to come out and play - resteem!

Morpheusfreewriter@celestal.jpg
Courtesy of @celestal

Also, I would love it if you all check out each others #freewrite and spread some love :)

@ackhoo @ahmadmanga @ana-maria @arbitrarykitten @alvinauh @alxgraham @annhoyblog @abyni @authorofthings @arkayani @ameliabartlett @amos-robinson
@bashadow @bloghound @brisby @byn @btcnoodle @binkyprod @brazen
@bleedingheart @beatenegg @bitsendpieces @belemo @boladayl
@chuazm @citizenzero @creationofcare @cecicastor @cikxaijen @celestal @cvmidwife @cecirod1218 @carolkean @calluna @crookshanks @clodaghdowning @cbrayst
@deaconlee @deemarshall @dennisauburn @dmcamera @dfrankle @digitalmutt @debbietiyan @daithilifereport @deirdyweirdy @davinsh @daqueend @docpaoh
@ecoinstant @elizacheng @ellievallie @eggstraordinair @elijahniel12 @emdesan @ebitularmbert
@f3nix @fitinfun @felt.buzz @fishyculture @foffelius @freedomtowrite @fireawaymarmot
@gniksivart @girlbeforemirror @ghostfish
@hernandezch @hemendrapatar @hartfloe
@improv @iyanpol12 @imcesca @isaganispeaks @itworks4sierra @iknowkungfu @isa93 @iikanji
@janine-ariane @jayna @jewels3 @jie28 @jjwriter85 @jkiw @johnwjr7 @jbn @jrhughes @jyezie @jedau
@knightengale @kerlund @kcoyote
@littlenewthings @littlescribe @lenapena @lucylin @lonestarpoet @ldacey-laforge @ladylei
@long888 @lindahas
@marcoriccardi @marillaanne @melinda010100 @miniature-tiger @mydivathings @maverickinvictus @molovelly @mrslauren @mr-neil @mountainjewel @mkkenny @mwoodall @mel1ss @mylittleblurbs @martinwbender @metzli @moneyinfant @mylittleblurbs @mcoinz79 @mariaentela @maki07
@nathanthewise @navaneeth @not-a-bird @nays @nicktravers
@omra-sky @old-guy-photos @olaivart @otsouvalas
@preparedwombat @pumpkinsandcats @pixiehunter
@rainbowme @raj808 @rok-sivante @rensoul17 @racemlaadhar @rubertd @rhei86
@shanibeer @sharoonyasir @simgirl @snook @stinawog @sayee @slhomestead @steemitgraven29 @someoneusual @svashta @saryn @starfall @snrm @syzegy @saronym @shula14 @serapium @saffisara
@srivera @spellmaker
@tezmel @themerrylotus @theprettysoul @thereikiforest @topkpop @tpkidkai @tegoshei @tattoodjay @thisgirl @thechosenwhan @the-real-coral
@valorforfreedom
@wandrnrose7 @whatilearned @whatisnew @wildwoman @wonderwop @wido @warpedpoetic
@yomibolo @yadah04

footer by snook.gif

a gift from @snook

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

100 Days Freewriting!

Hiking Cowles Mountain

Senior Buffet

To a True Friend

Weekend Freewrite 1/14/2018

Mystery Delegation

Pen - A freewrite

How to make Ginger Tea

Home Remedies for a Cold

Freewriter Challenge

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Ha oh dear I'm sorry I want to post this properly but somehow am back to no bandwidth again ha! I'm sure I'll get the hang of this soon...

Anyway.. thank you for this prompt... very good one for me as I'm about to move locations and lifestyle today - and part of that is stopping smoking so.. Thanks for letting me spill this!

Timed and written using The Most Dangerous Writing App

====

Cigarettes -

Haha cigarettes.... so funny to see this prompt today because.... I bloody hate cigarettes... Yet I'm a nicotine addict right now... But soon... Soon being today... I plan to change that yet again. I've given up smoking many times in my life. I'm currently 30 just turned, and started smoking properly around the age of 17... so it's been a while... I'm so glad I can't see my lungs on the inside because Im sure it would be horrifying, but at the same time it would also be a blessing... for maybe if I could see the damage that I've been voluntarily doing to my own sacred temple then perhaps it wouldn't be such a challenge to disown such a detrimental and destructive habit. Fag butts on the floor. Fucking hate that. Why do smokers seem to be such arrogant cts half the time? Like... why is it so hard to find a bin or an ashtray or just carry it around in your pocket until you find somewhere to dispose of it.... lazy and ignorant... I pick cigarette butts up off the floor because... Well who else will? Mother Earth is something to be respected, cherished and protected... So blind we often are to the destruction we cause... I can't talk though... I'm a fking smoker.. Even if I do put my fag butts in the bin they still end up in a landfill somewhere contaminating this beautiful planet we live on, adding to the piles and piles of shite that are building huge vast trashscapes that stretch for miles... plastic deserts and wastelands.. not the world I envisage leaving behind for the future youth. So I gotta change. Cigarettes. Today. Stop funding big tobacco who profit off our poison. Stop funding the destruction of my own body. Start finding true love, care and respect for myself, so that I may practice rituals and routines that serve me instead of hinder me. But it can be hard you see. I guess there must be something going on psychologically, in the subconscious beliefs because... Why would I really want to destroy the only me there is?

===

Thanks... sorry about the language! Thought it was best I starred it out?! It's just a topic I'm passionate about.. as you can probably tell!

Anyway love this so much... thank you again @mariannewest will definitely be participating here every day :) You guys rock!

With Love
Hart Floe
<3

My friend ended up figuring out why she was smoking and couldn't give it up through freewriting. Once she got it, she was able to quit.

really!! that's amazing... maybe I just keep free-writing till I figure it out then!

Haha if I manage to stop smoking through free-writing I will love you forever
<3

I have confidence that you will quit. It is a very hard habit to break. They liken it to cocaine. I quit smoking cigarettes in my forties. is a very expensive habit in many many ways apart from cash. Good luck to you and great freewrite!

Thank you... your belief and kind words mean a lot! I know I can do it... I'll get there!

Thanks for reading and commenting again.... love making friends here! :)

<3

My pleasure! You're honest writing is wonderful!

Good luck on quitting! It is hard to do but so worth it! My husband found the patches helpful so far. Maybe those would help you as well?

Maybe... I'm thinking of trying hypnosis.. I reckon that'd work a treat on me... or maybe I should just.... Take back my power and say no!

Or maybe patches could be good too :P

Thank you for reading and commenting! <3

I wasn't sure I'd be able to sit and write much of anything today, but I ended up going over my time limit instead! I'm not sure if I managed to accomplish my goal with the writing, but here is the result:

Cigarette.

Giving this a try. First time writer for the 5 minute challenge :)

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mikesthoughts/my-first-5-minute-free-write

Witha handle like yours, it’s as if you’re automatically prepared for freewrites.

lol. sorta. I'm always confused what to put as my username/handles. usually it's just a whim :)

Here's mine. It's a bit longer, because I only found the contest after I was done writing. I hope that's not a disqualifier;-)

Hi @doodlbear - we are glad that you are writing with us. The contest is the DAy 100 and Day 101 prompt. for day 100, you need to find a partner and to a WeWrite to qualify, for Day 101 - you just write using the prompt of that day.
we do a daily prompt, but they are more a personal challenge, not a contest. However, you will find that you are going to have lots of fun and going to meet some real nice people.

Mine came out in Story form today :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58633.15
ETH 3210.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31