How to Make Ginger Tea

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

Why Ginger Tea?

How toMakeGinger Tea (1).jpg

Making your own ginger tea is so easy and I want to show you how. As the Flu season is upon us and this year, by all accounts, it is a bad one, we all want to be prepared for battle at the first sign of a cold creeping up on us.

An even better idea is to fortify ourselves as much as possible to stay healthy. Prevention is always the best approach, right?

One of my favorite go-to's, when I feel a cold coming on, is ginger tea made with fresh ginger. If you do an internet search on health benefits of ginger countless articles come up and you can read titles from Five Proven Benefits of Ginger to 24 Proven Health Benefits of Ginger and everything in between.

I don't want to make any miracle claims here, but we know for a fact that ginger helps to reduce inflammation and more and more of medical professionals agree that inflammation is the root of much evil. And I am so bold as to call diseases evil.

So maybe the tea is helping to fight off a cold, or it is my belief that it does. I don't really care. All I know is that it usually works for me. And it is delicious!

How to Make Ginger Tea

To make ginger tea, you only need three ingredients.

  • Fresh organic ginger.
  • Filtered tap water or clean well water.
  • Raw honey - local if at all possible.

ginger.JPG

Isn't fresh ginger a beautiful sight? All the gnarly shapes can make you think of all kinds of creatures - or is that just me?

Since Asian cooking has become more popular and at the same time the health benefits of ginger have become common knowledge, most grocery stores carry the fresh root now. If you can't find it locally, at least in the US, you can order it from Amazon. Sadly, they don't have fresh certified organic ginger available. Maybe, if enough people ask, they will start to carry it.

  • Take between 50 and 100 g (2-4 oz). This is a big range, I know. I like to use a lot but it is not necessary.
  • Wash and scrub the root very well. I only peel the ginger if I can't remove all the dirt.
  • Slice as thinly as you can.
  • Put in a stainless steel pot and add about 1 liter (1 quart) of filtered water.
  • Boil/simmer for at least 10 minutes.

ginger water.jpg

Freshly sliced ginger in a pot with water.

The tea is done when you see that the color has changed from clear to a yellow and it has a strong ginger taste.

Ginger finished.jpg

Now, use a ladle to fill your first cup of tea.

ginger laddle.jpg

Honey

Don't forget to add some honey or you are not going to like it too much! Ginger tea can be quite spicy. If you can, buy your honey from a local beekeeper you trust. Ask them how they treat a mite infestation in the hive. The answer will show you if you want to buy their honey.

I will not buy from a beekeeper who uses heavy chemicals to kill mites in the hive and feeds the bees sugar water in the winter. A sustainable beekeeper will leave enough honey in the hive for the bees to make it through the winter. And the chemical part is self-explanatory - I think.

tea.jpg

A little more on honey. Untreated honey will crystallize with age like the picture shows. Once honey is heated, it will remain liquid. Also, many storebought kinds of honey are mixed with sugar syrup or worse, corn syrup and it doesn't always say it on the label.
Here is the link to a study which shows that many products labeled as honey are in fact not honey at all.

Even though adding sugar to the diet, especially when fighting a disease, is not a good idea, I feel pure honey is an exception. It's health-benefits and antibacterial properties have been well studied by now.
Again, an internet search will bring you many articles on the health benfits of honey, including that it is an antioxidant powerhouse and a natural cough syrup.

Make the Tea Last

Now, you are seeping your first cup of delicious ginger tea. But there is more in the pot. At this point, you have two options. You could strain all the tea into a storage container and set it aside for later use. Then you can either add the cooked ginger to your compost or pour fresh water on it and make another pot of tea. It will be weaker, but still good.

Or, leave the ginger in the post and keep steeping the tea. It will get much stronger, almost like an infusion. When you are ready for your next cup of tea, fill a cup one third or half full of the strong tea, add hot water and your tea is ready.

ginger jar.jpg

I store mine in the fridge in a mason jar and have instant ginger tea for the next day.

If you are interested in other home remedies I use to fight off a cold, you might enjoy this article

Have you made ginger tea before? How do you like it?
If you are going to make it for the first time, please let me know how you liked it and if it helped you.

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Home Remedies for a Cold

In the Garden

Henry- A Short Story

For a Friend

Author Reading - Nose Hair

Author Reading - Oh Tannenbaum

A typical prompt

Weird Sky

Freewriter Challenge

Rocky the Super Mom

Sad - A poem

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Thanks for putting me through this... Can this tea be mixed with any other supplement like Milk ?

I don't think it would taste good with milk - lemon would be better. But you can try and see how you like it. Let me know if you try it.

Ginger is one of the healthiest things out there for sure and Thank you for sharing this recipe, im not a big fan of ginger's taste but i put in on my diet sometimes because of its health benefits.
I will make ginger tea as you tought and if i could i will make a post here :P

The tea is strong - so, make sure to add a lot of honey lol

I love ginger tea. I recently used it to fight off a cold. Although I usually make smaller batches.

I needed to drink a lot!! Everybody is sick around me and I really don't want to go down with them. LOL

It's not so much that I don't drink a lot, for some reason it just never occurred to me to do a large batch, I would just repeatedly make mugs of it. 😒

Oh yummy stuff, I want tea really bad now.

☕️ pretend this is tea for you :)

I've tried once and I didn't like the taste, maybe I'll try again using your recipe.

it is very strong. think about it as medicine. And you can always add more honey and water it down :)

I have never made my own ginger tea, but I enjoy the organic premade tea bags, how does this compare? I am sure its much better! I make my own mint tea but I haven't tried ginger yet.

From what I know, the dried one is good as well. Should be just as good.

I will have to use your recipe when I try to make my own :)

I do make ginger tea at home. I like a little lemon in it as well as honey. It's good for upset stomach as well as cold and flu season.

The lemon is a nice touch!!

Yum! I've been making this tea for a couple of years, now, and it does wonders for a sore throat. Especially with a splash of fresh lemon juice added!

Yes!! I really like it. Often, I make it too strong and have to add more water lol

I do the same thing! I end up leaving it boiling on the stove and get too distracted with other tasks. Next thing I know, I have a pot of very potent tea and I need to water it down before I can drink it, haha!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Marianne from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55