Day 102: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: paint

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Imgur

Freewriters! Please welcome the newest freewriters!! I love for you to visit their blogs and say hello.
@boladayl
@saffisara
@rhei86
@jedau
@ghostfish
@mariaentela
@otsouvalas
@srivera
@iikanji
@spellmaker
@hernandezch
@ebitularmbert
@mcoinz79

A warm welcome to all of you!!

News about our Day 100 celebration!!

We got another donation!! Thank you @wandrnrose7. You rock!!!

Prize for Day 100: 20 SBD and the SBD payout of the post!!!

You have until Friday 2/2 at 6 PM Pacific Time to enter!! Multiple entries are allowed as long as it is with a different partner! Click here for details

Prize for Day 101: 10 SBD and the SBD payout

You have until Saturday, 2/3 at 6 PM to enter the contest. Click here for details If you want to donate to increase the pot, send your donation with a note - prize Day 101 to my wallet. And upvote the post.

The Over 20 Club

To start off the next 100 days of this freewriting journey right, we thought it a good idea to keep looking back a little bit.

Let me explain.

When we first started, just a few people were writing every day. And many of us were little tiny redfish or fairly small minnows. You know that means that our combined voting power was pretty low.

Many of the early freewrites had hardly any payout at all. Still, so many of you stuck with it and kept on writing. Thank you for that!!!

The Over 20 Club is a way to allow some of those long forgotten pieces to shine again and give the authors a way to get a bit of a payout.

Here is how it works:

  • I have a list of writers who have written at least 20 freewrites.
  • Every Monday, I will invite 5 authors to write a post showing us 3 or more freewrites they liked and are past their payout.
  • The writers have until Thursday evening to post their showcase post.
  • Several of us have committed to giving that post a 100% upvote.
  • Friday's prompt will have links to the showcase prompts and hopefully, many of you will give it an upvote as well.
  • It is up to the writers and the voters to participate - you are free to choose.

The First 5 Over 20 Club Invites Go to:

  1. @improv - the only writer who has participated every day!! Big shout out!
  2. @snook
  3. @felt.buzz
  4. @deaconlee
  5. @iyanpol12

You probably have met those 5 in your comment section already - they have been writing pretty much from the beginning. But you will be surprised how quickly you can also belong to the over 20 club!!

Imgur

Prompt: paint

  • Set your timer for 5 minutes
  • Start writing
  • Use the hashtag #freewrite
  • Publish your piece (include a link to this post if you wish)

Copy and paste your URL into the comment section of the prompt post.

  • Or, if you don't want to publish your freewrite, just copy and paste as a comment under the prompt post.

If you don't know what a freewrite is, here is a link to the introduction post.

Here is @snooks excellent tutorial on how to join our freewrite adventure

And @improv's input:

Two things I do a little differently. I just type "timer" into google and it pops up a 5-minute timer. I also type directly into steemit. I also rarely use a photo, don't I? So that's three things.

Here are all the freewriters. Visit and make friends :)
@ackhoo @ahmadmanga @ana-maria @arbitrarykitten @alvinauh @alxgraham @annhoyblog @abyni @authorofthings @arkayani @ameliabartlett @amos-robinson
@bashadow @bloghound @brisby @byn @btcnoodle @binkyprod @brazen
@bleedingheart @beatenegg @bitsendpieces @belemo @boladayl
@chuazm @citizenzero @creationofcare @cecicastor @cikxaijen @celestal @cvmidwife @cecirod1218 @carolkean @calluna @crookshanks @clodaghdowning @cbrayst
@deaconlee @deemarshall @dennisauburn @dmcamera @dfrankle @digitalmutt @debbietiyan @daithilifereport @deirdyweirdy @davinsh @daqueend @docpaoh
@ecoinstant @elizacheng @ellievallie @eggstraordinair @elijahniel12 @emdesan @ebitularmbert
@f3nix @fitinfun @felt.buzz @fishyculture @foffelius @freedomtowrite @fireawaymarmot
@gniksivart @girlbeforemirror @ghostfish
@hernandezch
@improv @iyanpol12 @imcesca @isaganispeaks @itworks4sierra @iknowkungfu @isa93 @iikanji
@janine-ariane @jayna @jewels3 @jie28 @jjwriter85 @jkiw @johnwjr7 @jbn @jrhughes @jyezie @jedau
@knightengale @kerlund @kcoyote
@littlenewthings @littlescribe @lenapena @lucylin @lonestarpoet @ldacey-laforge @ladylei
@long888 @lindahas
@marcoriccardi @marillaanne @melinda010100 @miniature-tiger @mydivathings @maverickinvictus @molovelly @mrslauren @mr-neil @mountainjewel @mkkenny @mwoodall @mel1ss @mylittleblurbs @martinwbender @metzli @moneyinfant @mylittleblurbs @mcoinz79 @mariaentela
@nathanthewise @navaneeth @not-a-bird @nays
@omra-sky @old-guy-photos @olaivart @otsouvalas
@preparedwombat @pumpkinsandcats @pixiehunter
@rainbowme @raj808 @rok-sivante @rensoul17 @racemlaadhar @rubertd @rhei86
@shanibeer @sharoonyasir @simgirl @snook @stinawog @sayee @slhomestead @steemitgraven29 @someoneusual @svashta @saryn @starfall @snrm @syzegy @saronym @shula14 @serapium @saffisara
@srivera @spellmaker
@tezmel @themerrylotus @theprettysoul @thereikiforest @topkpop @tpkidkai @tegoshei @tattoodjay @thisgirl @thechosenwhan @the-real-coral
@valorforfreedom
@wandrnrose7 @whatilearned @whatisnew @wildwoman @wonderwop @wido @warpedpoetic
@yomibolo @yadah04

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Hiking Cowles Mountain

Senior Buffet

To a True Friend

Weekend Freewrite 1/14/2018

Mystery Delegation

Pen - A freewrite

How to make Ginger Tea

Home Remedies for a Cold

Freewriter Challenge

Laughter Yoga for Seniors

Battling Cancer with the Gerson Therapy

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here

Sort:  

Paint... Well I guess we're all painting really.. from one moment to the next... each walking around this life with paintbrushes in hand... each painting strokes and making our mark upon this land... We're painters. We each have the ability to paint any picture we choose... we each play this game that's impossible to lose... But it's not impossible to paint something that doesn't look so good. I think that we're all artists on the inside. It's just that many of us have covered that up and denied it and tried to pretend it's not true... We see others around us who's skills totally astound us and we then wander if we will ever be as good as them... so often this feeling of inferiority or 'not-enoughness' leads us to failing to even begin our journey to greatness and beyond. But we're still painting. We're just making a different masterpiece. Our lives are our masterpieces. We don't always remember that. I like to make sure I remember to be conscious about what I'm painting each day. What picture do I really wish to experience? What beautiful piece would I rather look back upon when my time is up and I'm ready to sit back and just enjoy the wonderful image I've spent so many years craftfully painting away at... It will contain the whole beauty of my life - My story, my family, my journey, my obstacles, trials, tribulations, successes, achievements ... everything... at the end of the day though it doesn't matter what your masterpiece looks like... if you don't like it, you will be able to paint another one... and another one..... and another.... you'll never have a final chance to paint something beautiful... you can always start a new and see what comes through next time.... so what view you happen to be presented with at the end of it all... knowing that you created it all.. you painted every stroke.... you were the sculptor that created it all. It was you.

written and timed to 5 mins using The most dangerous writing app

Thanks for creating this @mariannewest and @improv!!! So grateful <3

I really like that take on painting your life - and to be able to start over. And so very true - so many never start being creative because we listened to those who told us that we are not enough...

Yeah it's a sad story that runs in the lives of many... part of my work is helping people to turn that round and realise they can create anything they want in life :)

That's what I came here to do!

Thanks for everything :) I really appreciate you reading and commenting <3

That is such important work!! Will be fun to watch what you are going to do.

haha yayyyy I have A LOT of tricks up my sleeve... just wanna make a few friends here before I start revealing them ^_^

Thank you <3

Here's my last minute submission to this prompt. As usual, I did a combo of freewrite with The Most Dangerous Writing App.

Today daily prompt - paint. The first thing that pop into my head is actually paint.net. A program which is similar to Photoshop, but it's a simplified version of PS. I use this to edit my photos. My colleague taught me how to use PS before. But it's just too complicated for me to master it. There're too many keys, buttons and features. I just couldn't get it. Then I forgot who but it's someone I knew from Tsu who introduced me to paint.net. This is a super awesome program. I can do simple editing with it. The most important of all is paint.net is free to use. Just ask Mr Google and you will get to the page to download this program. I have been using this since and all my photos uploaded to Steemit via my laptop, paint.net is the one and only program I used to edit (if needed). Normally I don't do much editing as I am not a big fan of photo editing.

This is very late, but I always see these the morning after it is posted. Am I ok to join in as long as I get the freewrite done within 24hours of the prompt post? I didn't want to risk it as a post in case it is too late so this one is as a comment.

War Paint:
She sits before the mirror. Her hand shaking, the fear, pounding like a desperate fist against her chest. She doesn’t want to go. She can’t do it. Her breath comes in sharp rasping gasps. The bloods fills her ears with its deafening drum beat. War Drums. She feels hot panic rising in her chest. She grips the brush, her knuckles whiten with the effort. Dusted pink, the soft fibres caress her pale skin. The brush dances across her velvet cheeks, her soft downy skin left glowing pink. War Paint has many colours. Pink streaks on pale cheeks. Sunrise, new days, early spring flowers fighting the frost. Lipstick. She untwists the stick, its vibrant red head smears her lips. The soft, worn, ghostly lips, blaze with colour. Fire, anger, strength, sunset skies and summer fruits. Another mouth to form other words, to chat and laugh, to smile. Black lines hide these eyes. Thick stripes frame portals in pale blue. Bluebells in the shaded forest. Fearless, war paint embolden. Dark dancing lashes flutter with rippling joy. She sits before the mirror. Her hand no longer shaking. Someone else looks back from the mirror. She is ready.

You are never too late to the freewrites :) Some people are still posting to prompts from 50 days ago. The only time limit is if there is a prize like for day 100 and 101 - if you want to enter to win.
Otherwise, if you are doing the prompt from a few days ago, it is best to post the url to your post under the most recent prompt post so people can see it. I probably will see it in my replies - but most people will read and interact on the most recent prompt.
All good.
And really love your piece!! I think it is the truth for a lot of women. they put their face on...

Thank you very much! I had no idea, I can't wait to get stuck in with my every spare 5 minutes now!!

Thanks @mariannewest for warmly welcoming me to this wonderful community. You should know i am excited, and having as much fun as any writer can possibly have, being part of this community, and challenge.

Here is my freewrite for today's prompt.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@ebitularmbert/the-empty-chair-2-5-minute-freewrite-challenge

@mariannewest the user @mcoinz says it doesn't exist. Maybe there is a typo?

probably - I get tired and my eyes cross over. Thank you for letting me know and going to search for the post :)

I totally understand! I just didn't want them to get left out :)

Thank you so much!! I need proofreaders!! My fingers do not always type what my brain is thinking lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61