The Empty Chair #4 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cigarettes ]

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

For every daily prompt, i will be writing on the theme: "The Empty Chair".


If you missed my last freewrite on the theme, here are the links from latest to last:-

  1. The Empty Chair #3 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Cracker]
  2. The Empty Chair #2 - (5 minute freewrite challenge) [prompt: Paint]
  3. The Empty Chair #1- (5 minute freewrite challenge) [Prompt: hardboiled minds]

The latest day-104 prompt/link.

So here i continue the "Empty Chair" trail. I hope you enjoy reading it. Thanks again to @mariannewest and ya'll freewriters who keep upvoting and sharing in this trail


Prompt - Cigarettes


There she stood at the threshold; he knew it was his last chance to save his marriage. He let go of the pride.

“Sit down, Sweetheart”, He said, pointing at the only other chair opposite the table, as he side-curved his lips to direct the cigarette smoke away from her.

She assented.

“I am changed!” He pleaded, promising to end the drinking, and telling his wishes for a fresh start.


Blah blah…rambled the old timer, his voice slurring until it was a swiiiooooosh of whitish smoke ribbons escaping from his darkened lips as he dozed away, unaware of teary-eyed Claire watching all the while.


Now Claire sighed, relieved from the tormenting episode of papa talking to an empty chair.

For years, Papa’s heavy drinking had been the undoing of his otherwise happy marriage to her mum. The gambling and smoking; these only started after mama’s demise a year ago.

Grief? Regret? She didn’t understand. But how much longer, before his buffet of addictions would finally drive, and keep him locked away in such deliria?

Wiping her tears, she bent low to gently cover with a blanket, his repugnant snoring figure. He was still her papa.

Sort:  

It is such a hard thing to watch a person wrapped up in their addictions try to overcome after many many years. My mother never was able to quit smoking or drinking before she died. I understand the emotions wrapped up in this particular piece. Good job with the free right and on goes the chair.

True, many many years in whose aftermath is lurking, shadows of regret. The things you can't change, things you could have done differently. Thanks for sharing your experience. And for following the 'Empty Chair!".

and on goes the chair.

All true, my friend. You're welcome.

What a bittersweet story. Addictions are so horrible and take away so much.

Also, I am here helping @mariannewest with freewrites today:
Here is Prompt 105
Thanks for writing with us!
@byn

True, they take away so much, and leave behind along trail of 'what-could-have-been. Thanks @byn for today's prompt. My bandwidth though is all sorts of wayward. It is really low. It may take me a while until late to be able to make my freewrite, but i will. thanks.

I am hurrying to post this before it reverts!Thanks again.

This one is so full of emotion, so longing for human contact, love, appreciation! I love how it makes you think, for me I think of all the people in my life that may not be there forever.

A great prompt, well done!

Wao. Thanks for the compliments. This 'empty chair' theme i am writing on for every given daily prompt seems all too filled with emotions. I am trying my best to vary them, and see if i can capture the wide range of emotions that are aroused by the very mention of 'empty chair!'

That is amazing! I think it is a great theme, it can mean so much and work in different ways.

Hope you never run out of ideas! :)

A great theme it is. Run out of Ideas! hahaha. I know. I hope not too.

But you can be sure it is some heck of a task. Thursday's Elephant prompt was proving somewhat of a nut! But i have still attempted it

Thanks @lindahas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53