Why We Must Take One Goal at a Time?

in #ecotrain6 years ago

These days, I am full of a lot of energy and enthusiasm, and I am really positive about life in general. I have met a lot of amazing people in the past 2 weeks, some in real and some virtually, but all in all, I have had some wonderful interactions these past few days and all of this feels extremely enlightening.

Image Source

These experiences have opened my mind to a lot of possibilities and I am getting scores of great ideas these days regarding how I want to go about my aim to become a good motivational speaker and to help the society I live in become aware of the power they hold within their minds and the power of mindfulness. I just wanna do so much right now and am feeling so excited that the day before yesterday I realized that all of it was weighing me down a bit. I was so overwhelmed with excitement and energy that it was starting to create a pressure inside me and that did not feel quite nice. The feeling had not grown big at that time, but I knew if I did not relax and give myself a little break, I'd feel really stressed in another day or two and may just give up on my goal.

Since I did not want to do that because my goal is special to me and I am now in the right state of motivation and mind to pursue it, I decided to let go of some thoughts, ideas and activities that do seem very appealing to me right now and are related to things I want to do, but maybe just not right now.

All of us have a lot of aspirations, a lot that we'd like to do and a lot that we want people to benefit from, but let's face it, we cannot do everything at once even though that is what we want at times. We want to do so much and sometimes feel that we can do a lot at the same time that we commit ourselves to several projects at once. What we don't realize at that point is there is only a certain amount of pressure that our body and mind can handle. Put even an extra piece more on top and you start to crumble. This happens because our willpower gets depleted really quickly and the more load we place on our body and mind, the quicker it runs out the back door. Vrroommmm...

That is what happened with me several times in the past. I used to get excited by a lot of things and venture into everything at once and realize how overwhelm I feel a few days later and then quit everything literally. This time, I have realized that one cannot do everything at once so it is best to take one thing at a time. I have a lot of ideas and it is important I explore them first to understand which idea I feel the most connected to right now and pursue the most important one of the lot and then gradually as I achieve a goal, I can take up on other things.

I also pondered a little on why we feel the need to do all at once and for me, I realized it was rooted in the desire to prove people and myself that I can be really, really great haha. This need to prove yourself is what gets to me at times and what makes me take up on many projects at once. This time I addressed this need differently and I talked very calmly to myself. This is how that almost one sided talk aka the monologue went.

'I know there are lots of needs you have and one of them is to prove to the world especially to the men in the society that 'Hey, I am pretty amazing so shove that in your face' but you know if you keep putting a lot of burden on yourself, you will only drain yourself in the process and get nothing done. That has happened in the past. But you have a lot of potential and the best way to make the right use of it is to go slow, take one goal at a time and make sure you reassess them before you start any project so you engage yourself in only projects you really want to pursue and not something meaningless.' And I just kept talking nicely to myself and felt better. So yeah, there are some things I plan to do and I'll go about my targets, one thing at a time and the minute I decided that, I started feeling a lot better and motivated than before.

What are your thoughts on this approach and my piece in general? Looking forward to your lovely support.

Love and light,

Sharoon.


Here are some of my articles that may interest you:

The Power of Hugs

"Now that we have a better understanding of patriarchy and matriarchy, what is your ideal societal structure?"- @ecotrain QOTW

10 Things I wish I knew Challenge

Going Back to Home Sweet Home (A Short 50 Word Story)

Make Me Smile Challenge- My Son and His Innocent, Witty and Smart Answers

What's the Best Thing a Child Has Taught You??

I Don't Have a Perfect Child and That's Just So Beautiful...
Every Once in a While, it is Okay to Slow Down a Little...

What is Matriarchy? What Do You Think a Matriarchal Society would Look Like- @ecotrain QOTW

Reintroducing Myself...

How to Keep Your Eyes on the Goal...

A Discovery I made about Myself with Self-Awareness...

Celebrate the Inner You- Happy Women's Day!

When Things Don't Go as Planned...

After Deep Darkness Comes a Beautiful Dawn...
Something to Think About- Issue #4: A Selection of Amazing and Enjoyable Curated Posts
Stop Listening to People and Focus on Yourself

Listen More, Feel More and Experience More to Become More Aware and Wise...

@ecotrain qotw- What is patriarchy? Is a patriarchy the same as a society led by men, or is it more, a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity, that happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

How Positive Stereotypes can Make Life Difficult

Why is it so Hard to Apologize for Your Own Wrongdoings??

Confessions of a People Pleaser...

You are My Funny Valentine <3

To Sleep or Not to Sleep, that is the Question....

Parents- Guiding Lights or Dictators?

Who am I??

One Smile and a Deep Breath to Quickly Fight Stress

Why I am Grateful for My Hardships...

Why Do We Attach Unnecessary Meaning to Everything??

Why is it Okay to Be a Little Selfish, Focus on Your Needs and Communicate them to Loved Ones

Batman & Jesus: Why do we fear debate?

My Scar Stories- Reminders of Many Different Memories


I am a part of the wonderful @ecotrain that aims to make this world a better place so do join it if that's your aim too..


U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png



Steemit Bloggers Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

@thesteemengine

DQmaTqHTyDj5fmWU8Y3aPtfCudt7Qo43q2EQ4h5SBVj8vyQ_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Absolutely the best advice you could of given yourself. I think us woman in general are very susceptible to simply taking on to much. Maybe you're right and we all feel we have something to prove. Glad you've decided to take it slow rather and focus on one thing at a time. I've always found this to work out better in the long run. Good luck with your projects. You'll get to all of them eventually.

Yes you're 100% right. Taking it slow and focusing on one thing at a time is helping me. How are things at your end now?

you are right, we cannot do everything at once, need to put what is the priority for the time. really glad to see your post, dont you realize this post make a lot of different to the people who soak them self in?, because it does my friend @sharoonyasir

Regards

How sweet of you to say that @el-nailul. I am glad it was of help to you. Thanks a lot :)

Oh yes. I'm feeling the spring energy too. Filled with all kinds of brilliant ideas and forward moving energy. I really need to make a priorities list and figure out what needs to happen first!

Yeah maybe it is the spring energy that is filling up inside me too. It is quite exciting but you know can be taxing too. Thanks for supporting me always <3

It is incredibly taxing. The energy is overwhelming, and it's pretty hard to focus right now.

A mentor once taught me before, that not all activities equals accomplishments, so it's always good to stay focus. Not to mention the lost of productivity due to context switching!

Yes, yes, yes. You know you always give me some great terms and words to work with and understand the situation better. Thanks a lot!

Goals are a great way to keep yourself on track, but the goals need to be attainable, otherwise it will be self defeating and also ruin the premise of using the goal achievement system.
Only you know what you are truly capable of so be honest with yourself in setting your goals. Don't make them so easy that you can breeze right through them, but don't make them so lofty that they are beyond your reach.
One question I always ask myself when I finish a project is, "is this the best I can do?" If it is , fine, I move on to the next one, if the answer is "no", I go back and work on where I think I can improve on it. This one question will help you improve in ways you never imagined before.

speaking nicely to oneself is so important and i totally support your thinking ... you are awesome! thank you for sharing your thoughts and inspiration.

Eagle UpComm.jpg

Aww you are so sweet and I love this logo!

holy crow that was 26 days ago😂🤣😂🤣

Women are better at multitasking than men as a proven fact, however I believe we have a tendency to take this too far!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32