Listen More, Feel More and Experience More to Become More Aware and Wise...

in #ecotrain6 years ago

I am not a very wise person still, but if I look back on my journey, I have definitely improved a lot and a major portion of that improvement came in the past 6 months, yes precisely the time I joined Steemit because it was then that I came across some truly amazing people whose work, words and wisdom has shaped up my mindset and personality for the better.

One of the things that helped me become a better person in terms of living my life and becoming open to new experiences and ideologies is the ability to listen more. For a long time, I thought speaking more was important but I was so wrong in believing that. It is actually listening more that improves your wisdom and the following quote perfectly illustrates this point.

‘God gave us mouths that close and ears that don't... that should tell us something.’- Eugene O'Neill

Image Source

The way we are designed says a lot about how we should be and live, only if we pay attention to that. We are born with ears that do not close and always stay open, but mouths that have the option of closing so only if we get that clue and start listening more, our lives would become so much easier. Mostly, our focus lies on speaking more. We have a need to be heard, to express our views and also to prove everyone that we are right and this just forces us to speak only. I am not saying one should not speak his mind and express their viewpoints. You should definitely do that, but you must also listen more.

Whether it is a loved one saying something, your boss speaking to you, an accomplished person giving a speech or anybody else- listening to someone is difficult, but if we just focus on listening keenly to people and even to our own selves, we would become better aware of things, have better perspective on things and understand things in their true nature.

For instance, if you just let your partner pour their heart out to you, you will make them feel loved and this care will draw them closer to you. If you just listen to the voice inside your heart, you may realize that it is not money what you want but abundance and abundance often does not come from acquiring more. If you just listen more, you will find peace in the babbling of water in the stream and the rustling of leaves as the breeze strikes the trees. If you only listen keenly, you will hear your child tell you how much he loves you and that will just light you up.

Listening more makes you think more and when you think more, you feel more and become open to more experiences. However, for that to happen, it is just so important to listen in an unbiased and nonjudgmental manner. When you listen to someone, you must be as unbiased and nonjudgmental as you can be because that is what helps you listen to things the right way. Do not listen to things with your emotions, but just listen to them with your ears. If your partner tells you he isn't happy with how you talk to him, listen to his pain and do not associate too much meaning to this statement. Feel his pain and then analyze your behavior. If your heart says you need to do something different than what the society expects of you, really dig deeper into the desire and see if that's what you truly want. It is important to listen with an open mind because that's when you really understand things.

I went through a bad episode two days back that really rattled me and in that time, I had one of the most important, inspiring and deepest conversations with a wonderful woman. I just listened to her openly and her words helped me find a clearer direction in life. Had I not listened to it openly, I would have been feeling miserable than before today, but fortunately that's not the case. I feel so much stronger and better today because I know it is important to really listen to the different things going around you and take time to respond to things because decisions taken hastily often just lead to disasters.

What are your views on the topic? Thank you for bearing with me always and showing your love.

Love and light,

Sharoon.


I am running a writing contest with 5SBD up for grabs for the winner so if any of you would like to participate in it, click on the following link:

Shary's Writing Prompt Contest #2


Here are some of my articles that may interest you:

@ecotrain qotw- What is patriarchy? Is a patriarchy the same as a society led by men, or is it more, a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity, that happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

Never Stop Taking Care of Yourself...

How Positive Stereotypes can Make Life Difficult

Why is it so Hard to Apologize for Your Own Wrongdoings??

Confessions of a People Pleaser...

You are My Funny Valentine <3

To Sleep or Not to Sleep, that is the Question....

Parents- Guiding Lights or Dictators?

Who am I??

One Smile and a Deep Breath to Quickly Fight Stress

Why I am Grateful for My Hardships...

Why Do We Attach Unnecessary Meaning to Everything??

Why is it Okay to Be a Little Selfish, Focus on Your Needs and Communicate them to Loved Ones

Batman & Jesus: Why do we fear debate?

My Scar Stories- Reminders of Many Different Memories


I am a part of the wonderful @ecotrain that aims to make this world a better place so do join it if that's your aim too..


U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png



Appreciator Footer.png
Animated

Sort:  

I love how you speak so GENUINELY from your heart!!!!! You are such a magnificent human being!

Thank you so much and that confidence is because of you and the many positive influences I have met here on Steemit. Speaking straight from your heart isn't easy, but when you get the taste of it, it becomes a part of you :)

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Oh wow this is amazing!

So amazing words what you left us here @sharoonyasir because these three actions on the whole lead us to one important word: empathy. When you pay attention to others' words, when you process these words in your mind and when you can feel what these words expressed, you can empathize and maybe give some advice. That's what make us wiser every day!! =D

Beautifully said! I love it when people leave deep, meaningful thoughts and share their insights with me. :) Thanks a lot!

I love this post @sharoonyasir! Everything you are saying is so true, and I'm glad you were able to really listen to the woman who helped you as well!

I've always been a firm believer in the power of listening, and am often heard saying, "we were born with one mouth and two ears for a reason" :) I notice that people will open up to me a lot and I really believe that is why. I find that a lot of people, during a discussion, spend more time thinking about what they are going to say next, as opposed to really listening to the words being spoken to them.

Part of listening to me also entails the idea of listening to your emotions, listening to the environment, listening to your family/friends etc. And I guess it's more active listening...are you really hearing what's around you. Funny, I just did a post on conscious living yesterday because I was thinking about the same kind of things here. We often miss out on so much in life because we can't be bothered to really hear it!

Thanks so much for this! I really loved it :)

Oh wow, such a lovely comment and you are so right about the importance of havign 2 ears. Like I said, we need to really pay attention to how we are made and designed and use those cues to live a better life. And yes, I often spend more time thinking about what to say next in my head instead of listening to people. I am a listener but often I am not listening solely to what the other person is saying and the past few months and the talk with that wonderful being really helped me improve. I am just going to check out the post you referred to. :)

Thank you so much! And that wonderful being sounds like a keeper :)

Beautifully written, and so true! Listening isn't just about being polite – it's about connecting and engaging with people and learning from them! People who shout down others in arguments are not always just trying to "win the argument" - they are actually scared that they might learn something that changes their point of view, so they try to drown out the unwelcome information. So listening can be an act of courage.

Thank you for the lovely comment.

People who shout down others in arguments are not always just trying to "win the argument" - they are actually scared that they might learn something that changes their point of view, so they try to drown out the unwelcome information. So listening can be an act of courage.

What you said above is so so true. I have had personal interactions of this sort and at times, I did that too- became angry with people just because I feared I'd be proved wrong in the end. Listening is a lot more courageous than it seems and often is something that isn't given much credit.

It's interesting coming from the person who was the bearer of pain. Usually in that time it's harder to think clearly while still rattled, much less take in any sort of advice. Maybe it wasn't so much advice but words of comfort. I feel from personal experience that giving advice when it is not wanted is pretty much the worst thing that a listener can do. And I've certainly been guilty of that.

Wise words... listen more.

It is harder to think when you are aching with pain, but if you do let your pain subside on its own without reacting to it or holding to it, you can become peaceful and can listen peacefully. It is hard, but if you do it, its results are amazing. Thank you so much for this lovely comment. <3

Yes, you are absolutely right. We need to listen more. And listen without judgements. Only by doing this half of the world's problems could be solved.

Oh absolutely and it has to just start with one person. If we just start listening more, we can encourage others to do the same and this would spark a positive chain reaction which would improve things. Thank you for the lovely words!

So many bombs on this one and very genuine emotions.

Hahaha thank you for this lovely comment and the word 'bombs' really made me smile. :D

Wise words from you as well. 🌺

Thank you so much :)

I appreciate your posts, keep it up!

Thanks a lot for the support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75