One Smile and a Deep Breath to Quickly Fight Stress

in #ecotrain7 years ago (edited)

I just had a little emotional breakdown and a panic attack about 40 minutes ago. Husband and I were having a financial discussion and things weren't looking good at all. Normally, I am quite strong in such times, but I guess everyone has their bad days so I guess today was mine. My day had been fairly good till that point, but I don't know what happened to me and I went under quite a lot of stress within minutes. I was just so depressed that for about an hour, I stayed grumpy and couldn't think positively.

Usually, I am the positive one in my marriage, guiding my husband to be hopefuly, but this time, he came to my rescue. I think this is the beauty of a loving marriage- one comes to the rescue when the other feels down and vice versa. Even though he was the one going through the trouble, he gave me hope and made me calm a little. However, I was still panicking from within and couldn't relax so thought to use Steemit instead. Nothing was improving and then I remembered a post by @eco-alex on how meditation calmed him down when the exchange market wasn't functioning as he had hoped. So I did a tiny bit of meditation and deep breathing and felt a tad bit better and then I came across the following video and it brightened me up real fast. Watch it and you'll be smiling too.

I guess laughter is the best medicine especially when you feel stressed. I am quite better now and going to give hope to my husband too cos my panic attack did worry him a lot. Also, I am constantly taking deep breaths and am feeling more focused on the present instead of thinking about the future. It is going to be alright. I will make things fine for myself and my family and my God will help me in that mission. I am going to affirm this to myself tonight and will be a lot more hopeful in the morning.


take-a-breath.jpg

Image Source

Good night everyone. And it feels quite different to write a short post for a change lol. I am never this succinct ever.

Love and light,

Sharoon.

P/S. Do tell me how you calm yourself down when stress attacks you?


If you love inspirational content, head over to the @ecotrain

U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png


APP.png

Sort:  

Panic attacks can be scary stuff! I am so happy that you can see the humor in it now and hope that you never have to go down that path again.

((hugs)) Tip!

Yeah mine wasn't too bad, but it was scary. And I only get one when I am really really depressed. I am glad I was able to manage it on time and not let it control me for a long time. Thanks for all the love and support. :)

Hi @sharoonyasir! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Always And Forever. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

I think you accidentally manoeuvred yourself on a CIA watch list with that video, guess you did not really watch it mindfully before posting it, and that is really funny after all this meditation stuff going on in ecotrain.
Or maybe I underestimated you and you have a wicked sense of humor, or maybe it´s even a political statement.
Enlighten me!

Hahaha omg I watched it till the 26th second on Facebook cos there was a shorter version of it so I didn't watch the explosion part at all. I searched for it on YouTube and found a longer version of it but didn't watch that one at all cos I thought it'd be the same lol now I look so silly.

And I am uploading the original one cos the one with that bombing video on the ipad is an editted version.

Thanks for being vulnerable and sharing how you felt, I had a similar situation this past weekend and I also posted on steemit about worry and that it doesn't change our situation. I meditated on the scriptures I found about worry and I gave my burden over to God, yesterday I had great breakthrough in my situation.

I am so glad calming yourself and staying positive helped you out and you are in a better state now. So happy for you and thanks for the kind words. I am not past that crisis but emotionally, I feel better than last night. Opening up about my experience and sharing it here did help too. :)

Watching funny videos usually does the trick for most people!

Going for a walk also calms me down, mainly because I like walks. So doing something that you like, I guess, calms you down. It could also be listening to a particular form of music or instrument(for example, piano) or even drawing/painting.

Yeah all of this works but sometimes you know, you just don't want to try the things that calm you down and just feel more frustrated. It happens with me at times. I know what I should do but I just don't do it and want to stay in the misery for longer. In those times, something unexpected is what does the trick for me like yesterday I came across that video which calmed me down and reminded me to breathe deeply. I love long, calming walks though especially those taken alone in a slightly cool weather.

So beautiful and hopeful, always! I used to watch FRIENDS, before Saba happened, for a breather... :)
But you're right, smile is a great treatment for stress. Even if you simply smile for no reason, or smile at your son doing something funny, it would make you feel better. I have experienced that with Hiba. It works. And yes, such short pieces are goooood for people like me haha. KISS - keep it short and simple! :D

Hahaha @kiss. I like the acronym. Unfortunately I cannot do short often. Occasionally is fine but I do it too often I feel suffocated haha. Oh FRIENDS is amazing... I used to watch it a lotttt too and often when I used to feel low. It used to make me smile every time and feel better. Now there ate other things that do the trick like Faateh and u already know it.

I do I do. Favourite FRIENDS character? 😍

There isn't one. I love Rachel, phoebe, joey and Chandler like the most but if I really have to pick one from the lot I'll pick Joey.

He's cute. Mine is Chandler.

Chandler is absolutely loveable but I like Joey a tad bit more because he has always been the more selfless person in that lot.

Haha selfless? JOEY DOESN'T SHARE FOOD!!!! Hahahahaha.

Yar kisi cheez mein tou banta haina. He shared his girlfriend with Chandler as in he did not mind when he found out about them. He loved Rachel but let her go. Haye Joey. Waise I love Chandler a lot too. He is just so genuine.

Hi @sharoonyasir, well done for bringing yourself out of that stress place, I know how it is to be spiralling out of control in negative thought processes, I truly believe it says a lot about someone who decides they do not wish to be controlled by their fearful thoughts anymore, and make a conscious choice to step back and really look at the situation from a detached space, surrendering their idea of control and really trusting that the situation will unfold in its own way, that you are being supported and looked after by something greater than you, even though the rational mind doesn't have the means of comprehending that, it's not supposed to!

it is a very vulnerable, honest and raw post, I love such posts, it is very REAL and I get to know you for who you really are. Well done, I wish more and more people express themselves in this authentic way. For me it's the only way forward. Nothing satisfies me more than truth.

You are a wonderful person. Keep up the good work!

Much love <3

Bristena, thank you soooo much for all the love. Honestly, I have found so much love here on Steemit that I cannot thank my God and universe enough for it. I am glad my attitude towards my worries is becoming more realistic and optimistic with time and I don't let them control me completely. You are wonderful yourself! xox

yay, awesome! so happy to hear that! I know how this goes for myself so any time someone is breaking through their own fear-patterns makes my heart sing with joy :)

Deep breathing is so wonderful and so easily over looked, isn't it? As a new mom of twins I often have to remind myself to stop and take a breath. I am happy you have such a supportive partner; they are worth their weight in gold. My hubs took the kiddos for the day and told me to go nap, relax, and rejuvinate. Its hard to be a good mom abd partner when we let stress get the best of us. <3 -Aimee

Oh yes, deep breathing is often overlooked and underestimated. We would keep wallowing about what's wrong in our lives, but won't out take out 2 minutes to just breathe deeply and let our breathing improve our negative thinking. Wonderful partners are a blessing really. Mine was always wonderful, but not always too supportive when it came to caring for our son. Now, he has improved on that too and together we manage our lives well. :) Thanks for the lovely comment. Means a lot.

Couldn't agree more. I think that nervous/angry/scared energy builds up because we forget to breath. I know whenever I start freaking out, taking a minute to focus on the in and out, helps tremendously. I just wish I remembered to do it more, hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79