Why I am Grateful for My Hardships...

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Hardships are a part of life. No matter how you try to escape them, they will find you and ambush you. While hard times do make life rally challenging for us and sometimes even trigger depression and make us lose all hope, they aren't all that bad.

Luckily, I was never a person who perceived hardships as something negative. I have gone through a lot of difficult times in life- my father went through a terrible financial crisis when I was about 11 and that affected our lives greatly too; then there came a time when we could not afford to eat properly; then my parents got separated and my mother along with me and my siblings shifted to my grandparent's house where we saw blood relationships change color and turn into vicious beings (not all of them, but a few.) Things then improved for a while and I got married and started living a happy life with my husband, but fate had something else store for us and my husband I went through a tough financial period that led to an emotional crisis as well. For about 3 years, we experienced a lot of turbulence in our relationship and lives, and it wasn't something easy to live with. One of my really close family members went through a lot of trouble too and since he was closely related to me, that affected me deeply too.

So you get the idea that life hasn't been a very soft bed of roses for me always. It has had ups and downs, highs and lows, good times and bad times, but despite all the rough patches and storms I had to endure, I never labelled them as bad episodes. Yes, I did feel pained and sometimes even hopeless for a while when the going did get tough, but I never saw my hardships as some sort of death sentence. Whenever a hardship came knocking my door, I always perceived it as a test from my Allah and had the firm belief that if I stay put throughout the hard time, adopt an optimistic outlook towards it and keep consistently finding my way out of it, I will bring good times my way; and honestly, this is exactly what happened every time I went through a bad phase. I am grateful for all the tough times I went through because they played a big role in shaping me who I am, and I encourage you to adopt the same attitude towards your hard times because your hardships do teach you a lot.

690be6e5308296c3693ffc83fcbab086--quotes-about-being-thankful-inspiring-quotes-about-life.jpg

Image Source


Why Be Thankful for Your Bad Times

As much as the hardships you face make life hard for you, they teach you a lot of things as mine did for me. My hardships taught me to be patient, to stay calm when the tough times strike you and to build the endurance we need to become stronger and more powerful in life. Patience is quite an important virtue because if we aren't patient, we won't be able to move past the bad times and if we aren't patient, we won't be able to wait for the fruit to ripen. We are likely to give up sooner than we should and when we do that, we often move away from something we have been pursuing for a long time right before it is going to yield the desired result. I remember reading a story wherein a man goes to South Africa to find a cave of diamonds, but after looking it for a long time, he gives in and sells off his land.

A farmer buys that land and starts cultivating crops on it and takes good care of the land. One day, he finds a beautiful crystal on his land, unaware of what it truly is and its real worth. Later, he finds out that it is diamond and that the entire land is full of diamonds underneath. Had that man who bought that land not given up on his dream and looked elsewhere for diamonds, and had enough patient, he would have achieved his goal. I don't remember the story clearly but it is the gist of it.

So you need to be patient to move forward and move past a tough times so you can welcome good times. I was quite patient before too, but after reading this story, I became more patient in life and stayed put whenever a hardship hit us and luckily, I have been able to move past it and welcome fantastic times in my life after that.

In addition to making you patient, your hardships also teach you how to fight your problems and emerge victorious in the end. They give you pain and when the pain becomes unbearable, you become compelled to fight the obstacle. Obviously, this does depend a lot on the kind of mindset your nurture. If you perceive a hardship as a death sentence, you may succumb to it the minute it strikes you or after bearing it for some time. However, if you don't want it to get the better of you, you do fight back and this teaches you how to face your fears and manage your own battles which is a really important lesson to build a meaningful life.

My hardships also taught me to be content because when you are stuck in a rut or going through a tough time, you become more aware of your blessings and reminisce your good times and that makes you thankful for the good times you have been through. I also learned to be thankful for my hardship because I found myself becoming stronger and more positive with each hardship. A few days back my husband told me that his trades weren't going too well and that he was feeling hopeless. My response was simply: 'Stay put hon, we have gone through much more difficult times in the past. Look at how much you have grown over these past few weeks, be thankful for that and just power through. These tough times are only to polish your skills.' He listened to that, paid heed to the advice and told me the other day that he had found a way out of his problems. I couldn't be happier at that moment.

All the tough times I have been through also reinforced my faith in Allah. I believe whatever force you believe in and the God you worship loves you dearly and He cannot see you in pain. Yes, he puts you through tough times but the tests are only to turn you into gold and if you keep believing in Him during those times, he will ease your pain and bring great times your way, and that's what happened with me every single time.

Also, my hardships also taught me whom to trust and rely on and whom to stay distant from. Some people show their true colors in difficult times and this is how you learn about their genuine sides. For instance, there were a few people who turned out to be mates only for the good times and disappeared during my tough times whereas there were some who stayed with me through every thick and thin and that showed me who loved me unconditionally.


images (3).jpg

Image Source

My hardships have always shaped me into a better person and they also taught me to be more accepting of difficult times and to stop labeling them as negative experiences. For all these reasons, I am and will forever be grateful for going through difficult times. How do you perceive your hardships and what lessons did you learn from them? Would love to hear your views on the topic. And thank you for being so kind to go through this post.

Love and light,

Sharoon.


If you liked this post, you may find the following interesting too:

Why is it Okay to Be a Little Selfish, Focus on Your Needs and Communicate them to Loved Ones

Why Do We Attach Unnecessary Meaning to Everything??

Batman & Jesus: Why do we fear debate?


I also work as a ghost writer on e-books revolving around the self-development niche so if you ever want a e-book ghost written or an article polished beautifully, feel free to contact me. And I am up for proofreading and editting your posts too for a very little amount. :)


I am a part of the wonderful @ecotrain which has only improved me in different areas of my life.

U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png


I am also a part of #thealliance that has helped me grow a lot on the platform.

thealliance_ladies_1.png


I am also a part of #steemitbloggers which is a fantastic community for bloggers created by the brilliant @jaynie.

APP.png

Sort:  

Like you have written, hardship is inevitable. My father also had financial crisis when I was at 10 years old and we the children had to learn the hard way to save. Thank God, just like you, I never see hardship as death sentence. Somehow deep inside me, I wanted to cheer up my parents so I vowed to be successful to give them back in the future. Now that I am a mother, never would I thought I would have a son with condition, CDH. Life is tough, no doubt, but with gratefulness, really we sail through. Gratefulness changes the lens of our perspective in life, everything that is horrible might have some gems in it. Thanks for sharing your personal story with us. It only opens up to us that we are not alone in our trials and challenges. And truly there is one above that will keep guiding us.💖

A big hug for you. You are so right in taking the positive and thankful road because that's what helps us ease our pain. Lots of love for your son and i'll be praying for him for sure. Life is tough, but that's how it is. There are lots of people who are going through more hardships than we can ever handle so being thankful for our blessings and even hardships is only right. Thank you for opening up about your experiences with us. Means so much :)

For me life is full of challenging times, enabling us to grow and learn. to really connect with our emotions and explore our inner selves, it's really an opportunity to improve our coping strategies.
it is also a time of testing and questioning.
In some way,s things become clearer in our lives, we really see what is important and valuable.
when times have been hard for me I have had to dig deep within myself and draw on my core strength, it is at times like that when emotionally I feel overwhelmed but I also feel very alive, everything is so raw and exposed. I have had my moments of feeling hopeless but I have always managed to pick myself back up again. In the end our hardships makes us stronger.
Thank you @sharoonyasir once again for being so honest and open and allowing me to be so also xx

What you said is just so beautiful and wise,

In some way,s things become clearer in our lives, we really see what is important and valuable.
when times have been hard for me I have had to dig deep within myself and draw on my core strength, it is at times like that when emotionally I feel overwhelmed but I also feel very alive, everything is so raw and exposed.

Digging deep into yourself and finding your core strengths is truly enlightening and I believe one of the motives of hardships because that is how we can improve and grow ourselves.

It takes a lot of courage and grounding of the self to see hardships and difficulty as a way to learn, grow, and find gratitude. You seem incredible for being able to do it. Love and power to you <3

It takes a lot of courage and grounding of the self to see hardships and difficulty as a way to learn, grow, and find gratitude.

It does for sure and all of this really grooms you personally and especially emotionally. Thank you so much Saba!

Trying to think of something thoughtless and thug like to say so I do not ruin my reputation

But alas your posts always get me thinking and a more positive Sid eof me comes out for my reply lOL

I for the most part look at life’s hardships and hurdles as you do, there bumps in the road that we much scale and get over and inthe process of negotiating over through or around them it helps develop us into the people who we are

Aahhh, bumps in the road.. This is the word I was looking for and thinking about but could not recall. Thank you for suggesting it.

Hahaha @ the thug like thing. No, you'll be an optimistic thug with a great photography skill for me always. I am so glad you too nurture an optimistic attitude towards hardships because that's what helps us ease the pain.

:) I find being positive helps one enjoy life so much more no matter what happens, sometimes i am too positive and my wife perhaps to negative we need to meet somewhere ein the middle i think but were working on that :)

Hahaha, I am laughing because I am like you and my husband is like your wife. Yes, choosing a moderate pathway is the best, but often difficult to achieve. My husband keeps telling me 'you are too positive' but luckily when things turn out the way I envisage, he comes running to me happily :)

Lol isn’t that funny how our partners are the opposites Yo us in this aspect
I hope with time we will run off on them

Hahaha I hope so tooo! I was talking to another guy a few days back on discord and he was just like you and me in terms of positivity and his spouse is like ours.

Well they do say opposites attract, maybe we are all proving that :)

I see hardships as part of my growth process, and I believe that things will always get better. It really depends on how a person sees life. I just believe that no matter what comes my way, life must still go on.
Nice content you have here!

This is what keeps you going too. If we believe otherwise, we would give up to our challenges soon enough. Thank you for stopping by and this meaningful comment. :)

Contrast helps us clarify what it really is we want. It's a crucial part of life. Without it, life would be bland. After some amount of therapy, I realized that the sexual abuse of my childhood taught me what the abuse of power feels like. I committed myself as a child to fight those abusing their power. It's a key piece of who I am.

Oh God, you have been through so much. Makes me more thankful of my life. I have had narrow escapes from sexual abuse a few times myself but did not go through the actual experience. So much love and power to you @solarsupermama! I am so glad you chose to fight the abuse of power and did not let that experience weigh you down for good.

I was really quite lucky that it wasn't very severe or long term, but I have gone through a few rounds of it in my life. Like I said, it is part of what made me who I am, and I am grateful for that.

You probably already know my thoughts on this topic, but I had to at least read your take and show some appreciation. hardships are life defining, no doubt about it. They mould us, our character, to the core of our very being. i have been knocked down so many times (as it sounds like you have also), yet I got up each time. Not always in a timely manner, often gingerly, and with emotional scarring, but I still picked myself up. Sometimes i didn't want to, looked around for someone to blame, but life doesn't work that way. Not in my opinion.

And each knock down has resulted in renewed strength. That's something to be grateful for. As is this post.

You probably already know my thoughts on this topic, but I had to at least read your take and show some appreciation.

How nice of you. Means a lot especially coming from a person whose work has become an inspirational force in my life. Yeah, I too do not often get back up on time and often gingerly too. However, gladly, I do get back up and I believe as long as we keep getting back up, we always have room and chance for improvement. I am also grateful for this deep comment :)

These episodic trials and tribulations have given me a lot of writing material. Exploring their meaning and lessons through writing have lead to mental and emotional improvements (I believe), and this in turn has helped to make each effort back up that little bit easier. I have stopped searching as desperately for the why did this happen to me?, and given more energy to okay so what do I do about it?

Yes, hardships do give you a lot to write about. And I too have stopped living in the past and being forgetful of the present. My focus now is to be mindful of the present and really focus on what can be done to make it better.

For instance, there were a few people who turned out to be mates only for the good times and disappeared during my tough times

Same thing happened here, I found my friends more caring than my relatives!

How do you perceive your hardships and what lessons did you learn from them?
Still struggling, I now try not to think about my past but sometimes, it does strike my mind and I start feeling helpless. It's been 18 years now but yes, the good thing is that I still haven't given up! Your story is just like mine excluding the separation of your parents and your marriage, other than that, ditto same! Yaar why your phone is off?

I knew you would relate to this. Yar phone tamashey kar raha tha. Sah karney ko bheja hai. Hopefully, I'll have it by tomorrow.

Yes hardships make us stronger. Thanks for this post!

They certainly do :) Thank you for being here <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99