When Things Don't Go as Planned...

Right now I am feeling quite sucky. It is almost 8am here and will be around 8:30am when I finish writing this post. My son woke up in an okay-ish mood but said he doesn't want to go to school today. I ignored him and proceeded with making his breakfast, lunch and doing a few other chores. We had breakfast together and a nice time too and then when I tried to make him change clothes to leave for school, he simply said no so I said okay but for today only. I also told him that mama has to work now and he can play by himself or do what he want but not use the phone and he agreed to it.

Image Source

While I am happy he is being so obedient and it is okay if he isn't going to school, I am feeling miserable for two main reasons. First, his not going to school disrupts my walk routine. I go for a nice morning walk followed by an even lovelier chanting session every day after dropping him off to school. I just love that me-time and it is one of the times of the day I really look forward to having. So if he isn't going to school, I am not going for a walk because if I tag him along, he will want to use the swings and slide which means he will want me to stay around and even if he does not want to stay close, I cannot leave him unattended. So no walk and chanting for me which is why I am sad.

Secondly, there is a really nice meet and greet and panel discussion for women organized at his school to celebrate Women's Day today. I was really pleased to find this out when his principal shared this news for me. I was glad that the head of a institution for kids was taking this initiative for women and wanted the mothers to grow as women. It is at 11am but if he doesn't go to school, I don't get to attend it because he won't let me go. So yeah I am feeling quite sucky about that, but I guess it is okay. I'll try to make the most of today in whatever way possible.

Another reason I feel bad is that I have to work in front of him and he has nobody to play with so he is a bit sad but he isn't saying anything to me (such a good boy he is) because he knows mama has to work and I cannot leave my work because gotta do it to make ends meet. Aaah.. sometimes things aren't completely in your control. But you know what, it is okay. I'll figure something out and I think I should go play with him a little. Cannot see him sad for long. Love him to bits!

I will probably be posting another post dedicated to Women's Day but for now,

Happy Women's Day

I had even recorded a video message on that, but my phone isn't working so I have lost that video. Sucks! Anyhow, no worries. Do share your thoughts on the piece.

Love and light,

Sharoon.


I am running a writing contest with 5SBD up for grabs for the winner so if any of you would like to participate in it, click on the following link:

Shary's Writing Prompt Contest #3 and Results of Contest #2


Here are some of my articles that may interest you:

After Deep Darkness Comes a Beautiful Dawn...

Something to Think About- Issue #4: A Selection of Amazing and Enjoyable Curated Posts
Stop Listening to People and Focus on Yourself

Listen More, Feel More and Experience More to Become More Aware and Wise...

@ecotrain qotw- What is patriarchy? Is a patriarchy the same as a society led by men, or is it more, a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity, that happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

How Positive Stereotypes can Make Life Difficult

Why is it so Hard to Apologize for Your Own Wrongdoings??

Confessions of a People Pleaser...

You are My Funny Valentine <3

To Sleep or Not to Sleep, that is the Question....

Parents- Guiding Lights or Dictators?

Who am I??

One Smile and a Deep Breath to Quickly Fight Stress

Why I am Grateful for My Hardships...

Why Do We Attach Unnecessary Meaning to Everything??

Why is it Okay to Be a Little Selfish, Focus on Your Needs and Communicate them to Loved Ones

Batman & Jesus: Why do we fear debate?

My Scar Stories- Reminders of Many Different Memories


I am a part of the wonderful @ecotrain that aims to make this world a better place so do join it if that's your aim too..


U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png



Appreciator Footer.png
Animated

Sort:  

Firstly, happy international women's day to you. At times we just got to give ourselves a pat well-deserved right?

I totally can relate to you on this topic because it happens to me like urm...every day. Sometimes I am okay. Sometimes I just lost it and then to make it out again. Well, at the end of the day, we will still ensure everything is alright, isn't it? Because whether we like it or not, the condition of the house and children pretty much depends on us.

So @sharoonyasir, I truly personally think you are a great woman. Thank you for openly sharing with us this "things don't go as planned" day of yours.

Yes we do deserve a big hug and a pat. Hug for you too! Sometimes I explode as well but I try not to do it in front of my son cos he is too sensitive and feels things a lot. So I try to make sure I don't affect him negatively but yeah some days are hard but nonetheless gotta keep moving on. I think you are amazing yourself Jadeline which is why you appreciate others. Thank you for such lovely words. <3

I know what you feel. Each time my son does not attend his kindergarten, my morning routine (which means work) is completely changed.

Exactly my point. I forget to even drink water properly when one of my routine's habits gets disrupted. But I guess this is what happens with kids.

Sometimes you have to roll with what life gives you to work with. It's cool that your son gives you enough peace to work though! :)

Yeah rolling with what life brings about is what helps us to move on. Well, improvements come with time and perseverance. My son didn't let me breathe properly too when he was younger but now he has become wiser and understands things so helps me out a lot. Blessed to have him.

Things don't go as planned often, but sometimes, although rare, life takes a surprisingly positive turn. All in all Happy Women's Day

Thank you and yes the twist did seem unpleasant at first but things went on to being quite nice actually.

Just gotta roll with the punches... lol, truly no use in fighting it ;)

Hahaha yeah and I did roll and things went on to being quite nice actually.

Oh hugs.... Yeah I also don't like it when things go unplanned. I especially learn that more after marrying my husband who tends to make plans or cancel plans the last minute. Yeah I somehow am still adapting to it. I get especially upset if my me time that I look forward to is disrupted. So I have to "look forward" to something else by creating something. Not that we don't love them but haha yeah the much needed me-time. Hope your day take a turn for you @sharoonyasir :) happy women's day!!!! Celebrate you!

Oh I can relate to what you go through. My husband has a way of ruining plans last minute mostly and that sucks big time lol. Happy Women's Day to you too love! So nice to see you hear.

Hang in there, if you don't have older ones it does get better. Eventually, you'll wish they needed you more. HA Sounds like you're doing it right and it's perfectly natural to feel disappointed when life is interrupted.

Yeah I agree that when kids grow older, parents miss the old days which is why I try making most of the time I have with my lovely baby now but sometimes you know you really want things to go smoothly. However, despite my apprehensions my day turned out to be quite nice.

The challenges of parenting.. Sometimes I wish I could clone myself and let the other half work while I play with my girls

Aahh I wish that tooooo

Tbis only shows life is so unpredictable and we have no control over it. I guess once in a way its ok to just let go off on the routine but for you it came on a wrong day :)

Haha yeah but my day went on to being quite nice actually. I did two blogposts that day and my son stayed with my mother happily while I attended that seminar and I also spent quality time with him later so it was a good day. I guess not losing my mind when things started taking a wrong turn did help me a lot.

I experience this nearly every day. I have to balance play with work, and of course the kids just want to play all the time! I try to remember that I love my work, and it is play for me! Watching me set boundaries helps them learn to set their own boundaries and not just do what others want them to do. They learn a lot by our actions!

Oh yes setting boundaries for them so they can then learn how to do that for themselves and others is so important. That's what's helping me stay sane these days :P

And just them seeing me set boundaries for myself lets them know it's ok for them to set boundaries for themselves. Boundaries are sanity indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19