Going Back to Home Sweet Home (A Short 50 Word Story)

in #ecotrain6 years ago

Sisa took the final look at the lake. She had spent a good time there and had made some wonderful friends, but somehow she just could not forget her home. She knew she belonged only there so she got up and flew towards the forest- her home, her safe haven.

20150720_070854.jpg


What I wrote above is a really short story and a submission for the lovely 50 word story challenge started by @jayna. The prompt for this week is forest. The image I used above is a picture I took about 2.5 years back on a trip to Islamabad with my family.

The story above is just 50 words and something not I am used to doing. Those who follow my work now how verbose I am and how difficult it is for me to write something succinct so yeah writing a 50 word story was a challenge for me, but I took it to try something new and I did enjoy it a lot. Thank you @jayna for starting this lovely challenge. If this interests you, do try it as well and share your thoughts on my piece.

Love and light,

Sharoon.


Here are some of my articles that may interest you:

10 Things I wish I knew Challenge

Make Me Smile Challenge- My Son and His Innocent, Witty and Smart Answers

What's the Best Thing a Child Has Taught You??

I Don't Have a Perfect Child and That's Just So Beautiful...
Every Once in a While, it is Okay to Slow Down a Little...

What is Matriarchy? What Do You Think a Matriarchal Society would Look Like- @ecotrain QOTW

Reintroducing Myself...

How to Keep Your Eyes on the Goal...

A Discovery I made about Myself with Self-Awareness...

Celebrate the Inner You- Happy Women's Day!

When Things Don't Go as Planned...

After Deep Darkness Comes a Beautiful Dawn...
Something to Think About- Issue #4: A Selection of Amazing and Enjoyable Curated Posts
Stop Listening to People and Focus on Yourself

Listen More, Feel More and Experience More to Become More Aware and Wise...

@ecotrain qotw- What is patriarchy? Is a patriarchy the same as a society led by men, or is it more, a society led by fear and a feeling of scarcity, that happens to be an environment in which the masculine takes charge?

How Positive Stereotypes can Make Life Difficult

Why is it so Hard to Apologize for Your Own Wrongdoings??

Confessions of a People Pleaser...

You are My Funny Valentine <3

To Sleep or Not to Sleep, that is the Question....

Parents- Guiding Lights or Dictators?

Who am I??

One Smile and a Deep Breath to Quickly Fight Stress

Why I am Grateful for My Hardships...

Why Do We Attach Unnecessary Meaning to Everything??

Why is it Okay to Be a Little Selfish, Focus on Your Needs and Communicate them to Loved Ones

Batman & Jesus: Why do we fear debate?

My Scar Stories- Reminders of Many Different Memories


I am a part of the wonderful @ecotrain that aims to make this world a better place so do join it if that's your aim too..


U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png



Appreciator Footer.png
Animated

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @rahmad07 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

Writing anything in under fifty words is a challenge. Well done.

Oh a challenge it was for sure. Thanks a lot. Good to see you here. :)

I have lately thought of giving these 50 word stories a go as moat of my posts blow out due to what I like to call my enthusiasm. Lol. You did a great job!

This looks very hard to do! I have to ask...was she a bird? Thanks for sharing.

Yeah it was too hard. I had to think about a theme first and then write on it and make sure I stayed precise. I wrote 60 words first and then kept thinking for 5 minutes on how to reduce it to 50 and then did it. Yes, for me, she was a bird but it depends on your imagination on how you see Sisa. It can even be a girl, a boy or anything else depending on what you want Sisa to look like.

That was great. You painted your picture very well. Thanks again.

Sorry.....responded from the other personality. LOL

Thanks a lot. :) Means so much.

Nice going, trying a new style of writing :) I definitely know that feeling you described, especially in regard to traveling.

Oh yes, new things are often hard to try but quite exciting too.

I have trouble with challenges that limit the numbers of words, the lower the number the more difficult they seem to be for me. I have always been a story teller, and never have been short with words.
You did real well with this story and staying within the limits, I hope it gets some notice with the judges for you. It has my upVote, for what it is worth.

My husband keeps saying that if I am not getting big upvotes, I am not doing well here but I keep telling him that big upvotes and money isn't what's keeping me on Steemit. I thrive on the support I get from you and all the other supportive ppl like you and your upvote and being here mattters SO MUCH to me. Can't thank you enough for that. <3

Husbands don't know everything, I know I am one, and neither do wives. Steemit is more than steem currency, it is about growing a community of people where we can express ourselves. Big upvotes will come with time, Rome wasn't built in a day.
No thanks needed, I appreciate what you write and what you have to say.

Also, I am tooo verbose myself. Love telling stories and writing stuff but cannot do that in a few words so this was an interesting challenge for me.

I know the feeling.

Yes, I have the same issue. It's very difficult to write a story in 50 words, and am much more comfortable writing longer works. You should feel proud that you're willing to give it a try! I like your story.

Thanks a lot @jayna. The kind words mean so much to me. :)

This is a really cool challenge and an enticing story. I might have to try one of these. I'm wanting to write fiction but kinda afraid.

Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : https://t.co/JCv10Zv8sw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87