Starting A New Quilt - Wonky Stars for Gwen - Needlework Monday

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I finally pulled out my sewing machine this last week in order to get some projects done. It sure did feel good! I haven't made a quilt in over a year, but I had a niece born about 10 months ago, so I needed to get working on her quilt. I will see my parents in June and they will be able to take it to her!

I went through my Pinterest boards to see which type of quilt I'd like to start working on. A few caught my eye, so I asked my husband for his thoughts. He pointed out a few, but the fabric I was wanting to use might not work for them. I finally settled on a wonky star and I am glad I did! I love the way it is progressing - by Sunday evening I had 9 stars finished!

IMG_0044.JPG

The tutorial I found for making these stars was on this blog which does a great job of explaining each step. I decided to go with purple as my background color (as I figured white for a baby blanket wouldn't stay white for long). First I cut the fabric like she said.

IMG_0032.JPG
.
IMG_0033.JPG

I honestly hate dealing with triangles while quilting, but the way these are done makes it pretty easy - less potential problems. So basically you sew two triangles onto the background fabric to create the points of the stars. Cut the extra pieces off and iron it flat. I also hate ironing and usually skip this step, but I did it this time and I think it would have been okay either way.

IMG_0034.JPG . IMG_0035.JPG

You end up with 9 squares, 4 plain background fabric, 4 with star points and one plain star fabric. Then it's time to sew them all together in rows.

IMG_0036.JPG

Each star took me a little less than an hour to complete. I worked for about 6 hours (including making dinner) on Saturday and was able to complete 5 stars. On Sunday, I completed the other 4 stars, making 9 total for the quilt. They are 12 inches square when finished.

IMG_0038.JPG

I plan to put 4 inch squares around each star in different colors. I should be able to complete the quilt top this week if I continue to get time to do some sewing! I think this will end up being a really pretty quilt with lots of bright colors! I even used a few fabrics that I used on her sister's quilt. I can't wait to see the finished product!

Take a peek at my other quilt posts:
Piper's Picket Fence Quilt
Max’s Zipper Quilt
Texas Angel Pillow
Handmade Rag Doll for My Daughter
Baby Charlotte’s Purple Wave Quilt
Baby McKenzie’s Perfectly Pink Girlie Quilt
Baby M’s Soft Flannel Quilt
Bring Joel Home I-Spy Quilt
My Niece Ellanor’s Baby Quilt
Hudson’s Plus Quilt
Austin’s Baseball Disappearing Nine Patch Quilt
Pop’s Texas A&M Bento Box Quilt
Quilted Baby Cowboy Boots
Grandpa’s Texas Flag Quilt
My Daughter’s Paintbox Quilt
Texas A&M Graduation Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt
Grandma’s Comfort of the Psalms Hexagon Quilt
Quilted Christmas Stockings
Nana’s Pinwheel and Spools Quilt
Stacks of Sweets
8 Sponge Bob Quilt
First (and Only) Triangle Zig Zag Quilt
First Quilt for my Baby Boy
Purple Disappearing 9 Patch Quilt


#NeedleworkMonday by @crosheille

monday.png

SMbannersmall.png

Sort:  

Oooh I LOVE that vibrant purple color!! It really compliments those bright star colors! I know you ran out of your archived quilts to show but it’s really cool to be able to see some of your process pics now!!! I’m really excited about seeing your work come to life.

My mom is currently working on a mini quilt for our baby girl and she hasn’t done one in years. I haven’t seen it yet but I asked her to take some pictures along the way so I can share them with you all!! Looking forward to seeing how far you’ve gotten next week!!! 😃

I tried working on it today, but did way more Steemit than I was planning to! Ha. And homeschool...and meals. ;) I can't wait to see pics of the quilt for baby girl!!!

Oh that’s my life. I end up spending too much time on one thing and then have tons others to do lol!

This will be gorgeous. Quilts are special, i have several made by various family members

I also love quilts!! I have made quite a few of them, but never received one specifically for me! I did win one in a raffle once. ;)

I been saying i need to blog aboit mine they are all special . That's cool you won one i never win those kind of things. Lol

I entered a raffle at the very end with only two tickets purchased and I won! It was a good friend here and she was excited I won. I'd LOVE to see pics of your quilts!! And stories behind them!

It's on my list to write on =)

This is looking great! I can't wait to see the top when it's done! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! :) I am excited to get it done as well. Gotta get off of steemit and get some cutting and sewing done!

Congratulations on that idea of ​​using the stars in a quilt, for sure it will make an excellent and productive gift

Thank you! I really like it as well. I'm hoping that it will end up looking great. Usually I have a more "baby" look to the quilts I make. :)

Good combo of colors and you're right, white would definitely get dirty pretty fast.

Yes, I was looking at the white fabric I had picked and it already had some brown smudges on it. I decided to go as dark as possible! :)

Very cool, @apanamamamma! You have the patience of a saint. I love the purple background fabric you selected. It is such a gorgeous color. #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thanks! I love it too! It's going along way faster than I thought it would. I usually hate dealing with triangles but this is coming along nicely. :)

I love it, it's so gorgeous! The design as well as the purple background. Great job!!

Thanks so much!! I think it's coming along nicely!

Beautiful work, one of my Aunts was big into quilting and a remember watching and seeing how much effort and love went into each patch of the quilt

Yes, I love quilting for that reason! :)

😎👍😎

I love the purple colour too!! What a great choice of colour! Can't wait to see the full piece! You always make amazing quilts, @apanamamama! :)

That's gorgeous. Love those lopsided stars and the colour palette! I wish I could quilt, but I'm an idiot on a sewing machine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44