The Best Places for Vegan Food in Hong Kong! #1: Mana! Fast, Slow Food!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

As you know, I am an expert vegan restaurant finder and menu tester ;)

I just spent a week in Hong Kong and scoured out the best places to get a meatless bite to eat!

I kid you not, whenever I am planning ANY trip, my first move is to start mapping out where I am going to eat. I pick my hotel/room as close to the places I want to try since I know I am going to spend most of my time there anyway.

Pro tip: if you're like me, planning ahead with food + accommodation can save you time and money!

Slight confession- I did end up thinking about getting on an airplane because of the EOS Hackathon BUT to be honest, I was more eager to go because I knew I could finally get my hands on the coveted Beyond Meat Burger that I have been dreaming over trying for so long and that lead me into a foodie wormhole of so many delicious locations to try out (and now I get to share with you!) =D

If you're planning on visiting this bustling city, you live there already or are just interested in the food game here, check out this list!

mana.jpg

twirly.png

The Top Spot!

Mana!

Screenshot (2).png

Mana! was the restaurant I was most excited for getting into town (besides the Beyond Meat burger but we'll get to that later) obviously from the sign here, you can tell why I might have been all about this place!

I landed and immediately tried to get here but unfortunately it was closed (fortunately I had the opportunity to visit 4 times on the trip so it made up for it!) ;)


buch.jpg


Homemade kombucha anyone? Yes please!


vine.jpg


You can also grab yourself some organic wine, beers or freshed squeezed juice! I have to confess, although I don't drink very often anymore, I had to try the organic red wine and it was lovely!
one gl.jpg


At this location (there are multiple) it is very much catered to take-away and is quite small and quaint with a makeshift city garden feel in the back!


mana inside.jpg


I tried to snap a picture of their story but unfortunately, as hard as I tried, it kept coming out hard to read! Check out their website if you're interested, they are a really cool business!


mana stry.jpg


Fancy some oat milk with your salad? Never fear, you can grab it here to take home with you!


oat.jpg


Gotta love this place's philosophy and thought that went into even the seemingly smallest of things! From hand soap to recyclable wrapping Mana pays attention to detail!
mana diet change.jpg
recycl.jpg
hand soap.jpg
paper.jpg


So, I know you're all waiting for the grand production but I was waiting too! It's only fair! ;)

Here's what I ordered (I was sharing with 2 people and we were saving room for dessert!)

meal mana.jpg


1 full sized Mana! Falafel Signature Flat (Recommended by the cashier)

  • gluten free wrap (ask for it!)
  • chickpea patty
  • tomatoes
  • pickled peppers
  • tahini
  • parsley
  • romaine
    fal.jpg

Verdict:

  • The falafel was a bit dry, not the best falafel I have ever had... kind of feeling like I wish I would have picked a different option...
  • The wrap was delicious, they did a great job making a gluten free wrap that still sticks together and adds to the flavor of the meal!
  • I loved the sauce and flavor combo (so much so it convinced me to try it again!)
  • As someone who LOVES peppers, I think the pickled pepper was my favorite part!

1 full sized Mana!Ste Signature Flat (Recommended by cashier)

  • gluten free wrap (ask for it!)
  • crispy tempe
  • grilled tofu
  • roasted cauliflower
  • tahini
  • pickled peppers
    I got so excited I missed the photo-op on this FOUR times! You know it's good when....

Verdict:

  • This became my favorite and I got it every time I went back (4 times!)
  • I am a huge fan of the sauce!
  • That pickled pepper is soooo good I want to buy them in bulk!
  • Cauliflower and tofu come together for a perfect merge in this wrap!
  • I took my tempe out, I just didn't really like it (but I am a tempe snob because I get all mine made from a small batch organic farmer here in Bali so don't let that deter you!)

Zaatar Crisps with Hummus (come free with Happy Hour)

cips.jpg

These little guys surprised me. One because they were free and added onto my meal but two because they were so darn tasty! That hummus is dreamy! I strongly encourage adding them into your meal!


Babylon Burger with GF bun!

  • mushrooms
  • kidney beans
  • beetroot
  • tempe

NO photo because I scarfed it down before I ever thought of sharing... sorry :(

Verdict:

  • I wish I would have tried this BEFORE my last visit!
  • Great gluten free bun!
  • Great texture and flavor!
  • Love the sauce!

It's a winner!


So now that you're craving this delicious looking food where can you find it?
Screenshot (5).png


I love initiatives like Mana! that focus on the whole and this is a perfect example from the recyclable materials they use everywhere in their cafe to their organic soap to their signs everywhere encouraging us to all be a little bit kinder to the environment!

They have me hooked! I kept coming back for more!

If you're ever in Hong Kong, I suggest visiting them, you won't regret it! Yum!


heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!

Here are some of my recent additions:

💁Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!💁

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg

Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

💖DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?💖

Inspiration for your heart!
💜 Funny Memes & A Talk About Your Health!
💜 My Words Define My World
💜 Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too! ❤
💜 Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
💜 Why You are the best You there is!

My Challenges:

🥝Have you heard about veganwednesday?🍓
Check out the contest update here!

🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴

🍰Secret Ingredient Carrot Cake Recipe
🍟Epic Smothered Garlic Cheese Fries!
🥕Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"
🍦DYI Fro-Yo!
🧀Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
🧀Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
🍰Special Power Cake!
🍞 Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
🍫 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
🧀Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!

🌍I can show you the world!🌍

Hong Kong: Surprise Attack in the City!
🗺The Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
🎥Video!Drone footage of the Maldives!
🎥Video! Drone footage= waterfalls!
🎥Video! My favorite place in NZ
🎉Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
Come Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali

Until next time!
Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
heart thing.png
hearttoheart signature.png

[trial5.jpg
signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank so much @princessmewmew <3 This little restaurant melted my heart so I am sure that the extra exposure should get it some attention that it well deserves! =D

Wow, what a beautiful meal you got there thanks for sharing with us.

This looks amazing @heart-to-heart! Okay, so now will you go home and recreate this lovely meal yourself??? I look forward to you sharing your improved version with us!! Happy trails! :)

Hahaha I would love to! I have no idea how they mastered those GF wraps- I should try to crack the code! I got lazy having everyone else cook for me so tonight was my first time back in my kitchen in so long! I'll have to share what I whipped up soon <3

lol, yes I can imagine how wonderful it is to be in your own kitchen...eating out grows old quickly with me, even if it is tasty! I look forward to your newest creation! Welcome back!

Haha well it's no surprise and that's because you cook up such amazing meals, who could beat that? :)

Thanks for the warm welcome! It's always like coming home when I get back here ;)

This is the moment when I'm glad that I do not eat meat. In such cafes as if in my native element :)))
However, in ¨normal¨ restaurantes it´s always easier to do a choice - 70 percent of the menu with meat is immediately ignored and the choice is made much faster!

Haha yes that can be a struggle with a meatless location, all of a sudden there are so many options, what can you do but try them all right? ;)

Congratulations @heart-to-heart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That looks like a must place to visit really like their quotes they have on the signs.

It really is! Most places don't do gluten free wraps so I was really excited about this feature and was extra happy about their morals and environmental advocacy :)

I've also noticed that alot of places/people don't know what Gluten free is, it's great to know that there is at least one place out there that has taken this into account.

Dear @heart-to-heart, good sharing!! Very good to introduce some nice vegan meals from different countries..:)

You know @cherryng, I always visit so many places and never do this! I figured I should start sharing my research ;)

Everything looks so delicious =) Great post dear

Congratulations! Your post has been manually curated and has received an upvote from the @vegansofsteemit community.
Our goal is to support quality content from the vegan community on Steemit. If you feel like chatting with fellow vegans, join our Discord channel here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85