🥕Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"🥕 (Vegan/GF)

in #vegan6 years ago

Hey, are you gunna eat that? 'Cuz if you're not, I WILL! ;)

Want an easy way to save money on food? How about getting more use out of your 'waste products!"

There is NO SUCH THING AS WASTE when creativity comes out to play!

Take these delicious veggie balls and patties as a no waste example!


meatball2.jpg


I have been juicing a lot lately since I moved into my new house and one of my favorite things to turn into liquid is carrots!

I LOVE carrot juice and there are so many benefits (including the fact that they are a very high source of antioxidants!) The Beta Carotene inside the rabbit's favorite food has been associated with maximizing immunity in the body, lowering risk of cancers/free radicals and improving skin and eye health!

Eat the Rainbow! 🌈

A little trick I like to play is the color game! In general, I try to have a rainbow of options per meal but if that's not possible, I always make sure to stretch the colors out across the day!

Did you know that colors of what you are eating (from the Earth) actually give you insight into what they can do for your body and mind?

Vibrant oranges like what carrots give us, are also linked on a spiritual level to our sacral chakra which is associated with creativity and emotion! I know when I drink my carrot juice, I get filled to the brim with ideas so it must be working! ;)

That said, I ended up with this right here:


patty5.jpg


An enormous amount of carrot pulp!

What on Earth should I do with all of this I asked myself.

Usually I will toss it into a stir-fry or curry, make it into breads and cakes, sprinkle it on salads....

But this time I wanted to get really fun and creative (must be all that orange!

There is nothing at all wrong with the pulp. It's perfect for recipes but a lot of us toss it aside when we could be using it for so many other delicious things!

Here's what I came up with! Carrot balls and patties that are too scrumptious to waste!

Whatever you do don't throw that extra meal in the trash! There's a much better way! Let's make these!
twirly.png


What you need:


patty4.jpg


  • A pile of carrot pulp leftover from your juicer!
  • Your choice of gluten free flour (I used purple sweet potato!)
  • Chia seeds soaked in water!
  • Spices of your choice (I used green curry and salt!)
  • Fresh herbs (I used coriander and basil!)
  • Coconut oil!

patty3.jpg


What to do:

I made 2 different flavors of patties and another flavor of the balls so get creative and spice with your favorite seasonings/herbs!
I made these different flavors in rounds starting with 1 quart of carrot pulp each.

  • Get a big bowl! You're gunna need it!
  • Mix 1 quart carrot pulp and 1 quart flour (I use sweet potato flour to be gluten free!)
  • Mix 3 tbs water to 1 tbs chia seeds x 3! Let them sit for about 5 minutes, when they expand, throw them in the bowl!
  • Stir in 1 cup of coconut oil!
  • Pick your favourite spices! I used green curry for the balls, masala and fresh coriander for patty recipe 1 and garlic and basil for patty recipe 2! Sprinkle a tbs or two of dry spice in and add in any fresh herbs here!
  • Mix everything together!

patty2.jpg


  • Roll into balls or flatten into patties!

meatball5.jpg


meatball4.jpg


  • Either fry in some coconut oil on a skillet or bake for 30 minutes at 180'C or until crispy!

meatball3.jpg


  • Serve with your favorite dipping sauce! I used my famous homemade hot sauce and it was a huge hit!

meatball1.jpg


patty1.jpg


There you have it! Now you can put those leftovers to waste, get double your value and a delicious, quick and easy meal to go with your juice! ENJOY!🌈

heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!
Here are some of my recent additions:

💁Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg
Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

💖DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?💖
Inspiration for your heart!
Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too! ❤
Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
Why You are the best You there is!

My Challenges:
🥝Have you heard about #veganwednesday?🍓
Check out the contest update here!

🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴
🍦DYI Fro-Yo!
🧀Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
🧀Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
🍰Special Power Cake!
🍞 Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
🍫 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
🧀Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
🎂You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!

🌍I can show you the world!🌍
🗺The Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
🎥Video!Drone footage of the Maldives!
🎥Video! Drone footage= waterfalls!
🎥Video! My favorite place in NZ
🎉Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
Come Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali


Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 84%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

OMG sweetie! So so good, love to use leftovers for something new, that is what we all need to practice! Such a great recipe, I think I will try this tomorrow for lunch;) I have some leftovers and need to create something with it. That purple sweet potato flour also looks amazing, such a vibrant color! The colours in our food is the key, I try to add as many colour in the food every day, including chocolate, it has them all, right;)
xxx

<3 Did you have these for lunch Nina? <3 Leftovers are my favorite because they give me a chance to make something else from something I already started so I feel like it's less of the work :P

I love that flour, it's what I use all the time since I am gluten free and it's wonderful! Sometimes it looks quite dark after cooking but it's still pretty neat anyway ;)

Haha chocolate is just a rainbow anyway I say <3

It always feels so good when you're able to make a delicious dish from leftovers. These veggies balls look amazingly yummy! 😋

I totally agree with you! I try not to waste anything but sometimes I feel discouraged when I have so much pulp to 'deal with' these are a great way to use it though because they are also easy :) <3

These look great! So happy to see ideas like this so people realize you don't want to waste all of that good fiber from those fantastic veggies! I don't have a juicer, but a friend just let me borrow his dehydrator to play with. Maybe I need some carrot juice to give me a brain boost for ideas... ;)

I usually use my dehydrator for dealing with my pulp but it takes a lot longer! You can do the same recipe and just put them in until they start to crisp, that's where this originally started from! <3

Nice post..... I always learn from your post. Keep it up

I'm so happy to hear that! :) No plan on stopping anytime soon :)

nice recipe .. good

what a rad industrious way to use that juicer pulp! You go girl- this is genius! <3

Aww thanks my dear! I refuse to waste and these are delicious! <3

so so smart! 😍

Incredible and delicious work @heart-to-heart, I like what you do, I want to try to make them and that I am as perfect as those. God bless you always

Regards...

I hope you give them a try! Next time you have a bunch of pulp laying around, it's a fun way to make something delicious out of the 'scraps' :)

I LOVE these neat balls! So many great ideas for the pulp that usually gets tossed out! Thanx for more inspiration! 😘

Hey girl! Not a problem at all! I realized so many people just throw it away and that's just so much good that can be so many delicious things like the carrot cake I made with it as well! <3

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87