๐ŸŸEpic Smothered Garlic Cheese Fries, Supersized! Hold the Guilt!๐ŸŸ (Healthy/Vegan!)

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

What if your all time favorite guilty pleasure could be recreated to be good for you, too? That's what I am here for!


fries 9.jpg


I always ask "what food do you crave the most?" when I am starting out working with someone! Once I know, I reconstruct it into delicious, healthy, made with good ingredients recipes to inspire how easy it can be to get the food you want without sacrificing anything!

One of the biggest cravings people tell me about is garlic, cheese fries!

I can certainly get behind that. I used to order those anytime I saw them on a menu!

What if we could make what would normally be fattening and full of not so nice stuff for us we could make these bad boys healthier?

In general, I always like to take a look at what we're working with!

Getting to know ingredients is key to revamping the most beloved recipes!

Garlic Cheese Fries Question List:

  • The source of the fries (are they fresh cut or are they from a frozen bag and if the latter, what else is on the ingredient list if they are packaged!)
  • Cheese (dairy can be difficult to digest and is linked to many stomach ailments) Where did this cheese come from?
  • The oil used (is it dirty, multi use canola oil or is it something virgin, cold pressed?)
  • Is it fresh garlic or powdered. (Is it organically grown or full of pesticides?)
  • What kind of salt is being used (and goodness gracious, HOW MUCH?)

Do we want it in our bodies or not?

After I answer these questions, I replace those items with healthier ingredients from trusted, organic and sustainable sources!

  • Oil= cold pressed, organic coconut oil
  • Fries= hand cut, organic potatoes
  • Cheese= nutritional yeast
  • Garlic= fresh organic cloves
  • Salt= pink Himalayan salt

So as you can see, for this recipe, it's pretty simple!

There are not many ingredients and it's going to be quick and painless, I promise!

Are you ready to try?
twirly.png

What you need:

  • 4-5 organic potatoes (sliced into wedges or thin strips)
  • 3-4 cloves of garlic (minced)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp salt

What to do:


cut fries.jpg


  • Cut washed potatoes into wedges or thin sticks

fries 1.jpg


  • Steam the slices until you can poke through with a fork!

fries2.jpg


  • Once tender, pour the wedges into a bowl and add in coconut oil, salt, garlic and nutritional yeast!

fries 3.jpg


  • Mix well together, making sure all of the potatoes get covered!

fries 4.jpg


  • Transfer to a baking pan and put in the oven at 190'C for 40 minutes. (Or until desired crispiness! I use a toaster oven that typically takes longer than normal!)

fries 5.jpg


  • Remove from oven and let cool before eating! (I know the wait is unbearable!)

fries 6.jpg


YAY! They're ready! Are you?


fries 8.jpg


I served my round up with some of my famous homemade hot sauce!

Sauces can be filled with all kinds of science experiment ingredients so I always suggest to check the label and try to choose ingredients you know and trust by companies you want to support. ORRR if you are a food-a-holic like me, make your own! My vegan queso dip would love these!

These fries will have you licking your fingers!

YES! They REALLY do taste cheesy!

Try for yourself and see! Enjoy the food'gasms! I hear them coming now! ;)


fries 7.jpg

heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!
Here are some of my recent additions:

๐Ÿ’Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg
Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

๐Ÿ’–DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?๐Ÿ’–
Inspiration for your heart!
Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too! โค
Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
Why You are the best You there is!

My Challenges:
๐ŸฅHave you heard about #veganwednesday?๐Ÿ“
Check out the contest update here!

๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด
๐Ÿฅ•Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"
๐ŸฆDYI Fro-Yo!
๐Ÿง€Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
๐Ÿง€Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
๐ŸฐSpecial Power Cake!
๐Ÿž Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
๐Ÿซ 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
๐Ÿง€Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
๐ŸŽ‚You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!

๐ŸŒI can show you the world!๐ŸŒ
๐Ÿ—บThe Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
๐ŸŽฅVideo!Drone footage of the Maldives!
๐ŸŽฅVideo! Drone footage= waterfalls!
๐ŸŽฅVideo! My favorite place in NZ
๐ŸŽ‰Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
โคCome Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali


Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

Wait a minute, how did I miss this? Crazy day today... Awwww, my weakness, fries! Hadn't thought about steaming them first! Great idea. I love it!

It's a hack to make them ready faster ;) <3 I just made some again today for lunch! I am obsessed with them!

I just want you to know, I ordered Arrowroot! Yikes, I'm in trouble for sure lol!

I seriously can't wait! You're going to have so much fun! <3

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-24T15:28:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 13.00/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Believe it or not, my mouth is watering uncontrollably..

And dear is this you standing???

Haha of course I believe it! These are soooo good! ;)

Yes it's me in Maldives =D

wowww... u have got awessssooomme figure dear. beautiful

Great one!!!!! Bin Appetit my dear!

Thank you! These were fantastic so I had to make them again today ;)

I like your style of food!
Super lecker!

Hugs

I am a big potatoes lover ;))

Oh my goodness so am I! I grew up with a potato diet so every meal had potatoes somehow on my plate ;) I think you'll LOVE these <3

OMG can you send me a portion of those fries please?;) Lol, you make me drool so badly!

Haha we can have them when you get here! They would be soooo gross by the time they got to you in the heat! <3

I'm the biggest potato junkie in the world so I think I'm going to do this tonight :) Thank you for the great recipe!

Hahaha you are? I thought I was! I hope to hear how you liked them! They've become one of my favorite things to munch on! ;)

I am going to make these! Thanks for sharing.

They are so easy and yet so delicious, I hope you give them a try- let me know if you do! <3

oh yum, think I'll be having this for dinner x

I know right? I can't believe how many people just LOVE fries but think they have to give them up because they're considered unhealthy! I'd eat these every day of my life! ;)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72