You'll Never Guess What Makes This Small Town Famous!

in #travel6 years ago

The best part of this town is a mystery that has captured the attention of photographers across the world!


me in wanaka.jpg


Woah now, didn't think I would give it away so quickly did you? You know I like a story ;)


me wanaka.jpg


A couple of days ago, I posted some drone footage of one of my all time favorite places in New Zealand! See that video here!

I am fortunate enough to have gotten to explore the beautiful country not once, but twice! The first time was for 3 months and another almost 2 months in November!

During both of my trips I was traveling around in a camper van (which is a blast by the way!) Which means I got to see a LOT of the country!

Camper van sound a little bit wild? I thought it was one of the craziest things I had ever heard when I first landed... get a van? I couldn't even conceive how that would work at first!


van sam.jpg


Well, actually, the camper van adventure is quite popular with travelers in NZ because it's the easiest way to get to see everything on your own time!

There is even an app that you can download which shows you all of the camper van life hacks you might need such as public water, showers, campgrounds, garbage disposal, recycling centers and attractions along the way! (The app is called 'Campermate' and is an exceptionally helpful tool on the road!)

Anyways, along my way on the second trip, I ended up in this beautiful little lakeside town that melted my heart!

I was traveling to the big, bustling city that everyone raves about when I pulled into this town unsuspectingly and fell in love!

Here's a shot from the drone, swoon in the beauty of it!


DJI_0003.JPG


In the van life, I was able to stay at certain camp grounds across the country. My camper had a toilet within so that meant that I even got to stay at a lot of the government funded sites for free!

Check out my campsite view!


camp wanaka.jpg


Not bad right? I didn't even mind living in my van after a little while! ;)


me wanaka 2.jpg


OK now for the grand finale!

My favorite part (and the most famous part) of this town in New Zealand is this tree right here!


DJI_0017.JPG


Claimed by guide books to be one of the most photographed trees in the world, this willow sits in the waters with wet feet, growing alone in the lake!

A WILLOW TREE GROWING OUT OF THE WATER!

There is no sign, no arrow... you've got to be committed to finding the tree to get there!


tree water.jpg


Honestly, I almost missed it because the GPS coordinate brought me to a random spot on the beach and if it weren't for the large group of people all hanging out on the far side of the lake, I likely would have missed this miracle of nature!


me ani wanaka.gif


Yes, that is a STAFF, (a stick I found) as I was posing like Gandalf (because Middle Earth and all!)

I just felt so inspired to get into the Lord of the Rings scene... I even had the cape! ;)

Is it worth it to go all the way to see this tree?

ABSOLUTELY! 🌳🌳🌳

What's so special about it?

Aside from it GROWING OUT OF THE WATER it's absolutely breathtaking! I spent a lot of time just admiring how beautiful it was! No wonder so many photographers come from all over the world to catch it through their lens!

It'll be in my heart forever and I hope you enjoyed visiting through my eyes!


beauty tree.jpg


heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:

💖DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?💖
It's the best thing I have ever done for myself!
Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
Here's a look at why you should be 'you' too!

💁Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!
Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg

Rewarding content we love, rewards us back! Yay for curation rewards!

My Challenges:
Have you heard about #veganwednesday?
Check out the contest update here!

🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴
DYI Fro-Yo!
Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
Special Power Cake!
Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
🍫 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!

🌍I can show you the world!🌍
Video!Drone footage of the Maldives!
Video! Drone footage= waterfalls!
Video! My favorite place in NZ
🎉Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
Come Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali


Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Idyllic! Didn't you want to stay there forever?

Absolutely, it was an incredible adventure! But I am also super fortunate to be living in Bali so I cannot complain ;) <3

I love that photo with a tree in the middle of the water. The landscape is amazing. Cheers

Me too, it's so magical here! That's why it's such a famous location though ;) This tree is a superstar <3

Nice post. I luv those pictures you shared

Thank you! The beauty here was out of this world! I could not believe my eyes :)

It looks wonderful and magical :)

Most of New Zealand is that way! Everything is so green and fresh! It's a natural paradise! :)

and that makes you & your post so amazing, cuz I can feel your spirit, which is so positive and with love 🧚‍♀️

<3 Aww thank you @diemama, I do put my heart into everything I do! Thank you for feeling it <3

A tree growing out of the water, how is that even possible?! Seriously, I would've thought that the tree dies immediately in water, but there it is, all green and alive. :D Anyhow, lovely photos, I especially love the one where you can see the tree in the water, a bit of the beach and the mountains in the background. 😍

I have no idea! That's the beauty/mystery of it that has so many people coming all the way to see it! I think it's just magic ;)

Looking good as always.

<3 You're too kind, as always ;)

I call this a "Wow" post! Absolutely fabulous and thank's for sharing this wonder! Blessings and Upvoted!

Of course! I love being able to share all of the wonderful things I just so happen to see on my journey! Thanks for sharing with me :)

Awesome photo and story. Thanks for sharing!

It's my pleasure!! I was fortunate enough to see it, the least I can do is share it! :)

This is so epic! I love it! And, we too have a camper van!!! In fact we will be leaving in about 2 weeks to travel to our daughter who will be having her 1st baby and then traveling all around western US. I should have know you would be an explorer. The beauty you are sharing is wonderful, thank you @heart-to-heart. We definitely have to get a drone....lol

Oh wow that is so fun! I knew family members that had campers back home but to just buy one and start driving around a new country seemed crazy to me but everyone was doing it ;)

I hope you have a wonderful time and ahhh how exciting for the newborn to be coming into this world! Enjoy every minute! <3

SO beautiful, nature is incredible! 💚

I know right, I just love being able to spend as much time as possible in her :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62954.14
ETH 3466.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51