๐Ÿž ๐Ÿง€ Get STUFFED! Gravy Smothered, Cheese Topped, Amazingness Awaits You!๐Ÿง€ ๐Ÿž

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

You know that fancy meal you see on cooking shows with the buttery bread wrapped, savory, tenderloin inside... I reinvented it for Easter!


wellingtoncollageedit.jpg


OK, OK, I'm not a broken record, you know by now if you hang around with me what my reasoning for changing my diet is and if you don't, short and sweet: my health depended on it (even though I didn't know it at the time) and by changing what I consumed, it changed my life!

Now I am on a mission to share healing foods with you all!

When holidays roll around, I get into this fight or flight mode... should I try to help, should I stay out of it?

I like to inspire and lead by example! I understand food is emotional, trust me!

heart thing.png

Many people continue on their traditions because of comfort and familiarity. They get together at the same time every year to celebrate and relish around something across the board- food!

So what if we didn't have to give anything up?

What if we could have the recipes we love that we come together around the table for, and have them be dedicated to being good for our bodies, the environment and (can you believe it) taste just as good (if not better!)

Would you be interested?

Let me show you what that could look like!

Disclaimer:
I had wanted to make my own bread but I ended up in my own world all day (as usual) and to save time, I bought this organic, gluten free, vegan, pumpkin bread I get from one of my favorite restaurant owners here in Bali.


wellin11.jpg


What you need:

(This recipe is vegan and gluten free!)


IMG_20180401_180402.jpg


Stuffing
(I made way more stuffing than needed for the center to save over for lunch! In following these measurements there will be a lot of stuffing here that can be served on the side!)

  • 1 loaf of organic, gluten free, vegan bread
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 potato
  • 1/2 bell pepper
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 head broccoli
  • 1 package of tempeh (organic)
  • 2 cups of cooked multi color beans (I used: mung, pinto, black, red lentil, kidney)
  • 4-6 cloves of garlic

herbs.jpg


Herbs (add in on their own)

  • 1 bunch spring onion
  • 1 handful of basil
  • 1 handful of "Indian butter" which can be subbed with oregano if you have it!

Gravy

  • 2 cup thick coconut milk
  • 1/2 onion
  • 4-5 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup Indian Butter (use oregano)
  • 4-5 basil leaves
  • 2 cups of mushrooms
  • 1 potato
  • 1 cup Irish moss (or gluten free flour)
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste

Cheese Topping

  • Top with your favorite vegan cheese on top!
    I will post the exact recipe I used for this soon but itโ€™s a whole process in itself that Iโ€™d love to share with you step by step in my usual recipe format! =D

What to do:


๐Ÿž If you're like me and love making everything from scratch (even though as I admitted, I had to use pre-baked bread this time since I was running behind....) start with your loaf now! Remember vegan means no eggs, milk or butter which are all items I have seen used in traditional bread recipes! ๐Ÿž

Otherwise, we have to start with the tenderloin! I wanted mine to be full of protein, not necessarily caring about the texture being similar to the original version.

That said, I went with beans and veggies to form the center knowing the bread and sauce take the cake on this recipe!


wellin1.jpg


  • Take half of the bell pepper, onion, and garlic cloves and simmer them in coconut oil for a couple of minutes.
  • Next, add in the tempeh and let it cook together for about 3-5 minutes, making sure the tempeh gets cooked on all sides.

wellin2.jpg


  • Add in the vegetables!

wellin3.jpg


  • After the veggies start to get soft (but still tender) add in the herbs!

wellin4.jpg


  • Add in already cooked beans! Mix everything together on low heat and cover.
  • Start the gravy!

Gravy


wellin9.jpg


  • Begin the gravy in the same way as the stuffing.
  • Start with pepper, onion, garlic in coconut oil for a couple of minutes.
  • Next add in mushrooms and let them hang out for a little while together.
  • Throw in your herbs and stir everything.
  • Add in the coconut milk after it all have cooked a bit (3-5 minutes).
  • Add in salt and pepper, cover and let the flavors mingle on low for 5 minutes.
  • Add in the flour of the Irish Moss in my case to cause the thickness.
  • Cover and leave on low while you continue the recipe.

wellin8.jpg


  • Everything you have for your stuffing is already cooked by now so take it out and blend it in a food processor!

wellin10.jpg


Now it is ready to be stuffed!


wellin12.jpg


  • Carefully cut a square center through the hole loaf of bread.
  • Remove the bread from the inside but keep two ends on the side.

wellin13.jpg


  • Fill the center with as much stuffing as you can (be careful not to push too hard or you'll break through the top!)

wellin14.jpg


  • Secure the ends with the pieces you saved using toothpicks.

wellin15.jpg


  • Brush with a coating of coconut oil all over the outside. Set aside in an oiled pan to prepare the gravy.

wellin16.jpg


  • Pour the gravy mixture into a food processor or high speed blender.

wellin17.jpg


  • Blend until desired consistency! I wanted it to be a bit chunky! Pour it all over the loaf!

wellin18.jpg


  • Bake on 180'C for 20 minutes!

wellin23.jpg


  • Remove from the oven and top with the vegan cheese!
  • Bake on 180'C for another 15 minutes to let the cheese melt!

Look at this masterpiece you now have to offer!


wellin19.jpg


wellin22.jpg


  • Remove the loaf from the pan and place onto cutting board.
  • Slice carefully with a sharp knife on the cutting board and sprinkle with oregano!
  • Enjoy!!!!

wellin24.jpg


wellin25.jpg


A lot of HEART was put into this post for you so if you like it, I accept upvotes for my services! <3


heart thing.png


I truly believe we can heal ourselves through food and it is my mission in life to create and inspire delicious, mouth watering creations that are beneficial and packed full of plant based goodies to fuel our bodies, minds and lives! ๐Ÿ’–

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:


Huge 100 SBD Contest: EAT LIKE A SUPERSTAR!
beyonce22dayedit.jpg

HACKS ON HOW TO WIN!


๐Ÿ’Want to Stay in the Loop? Here's a FREE Steemit Assistant to Make Your Life MUCH Easier!๐Ÿ’
Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!t!!


๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด
๐Ÿซ 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
๐Ÿง€Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
๐Ÿฅ‘You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!
๐ŸŽ‚Treat Yo'Self! Brownies+Ice Cream+Cookies+Fudge = Cupcakes
๐Ÿ’œIncredible Purple Vegan Quiche!
๐ŸœGarden to Table: Coconut Curry!
๐Ÿ Baked Lasagna
๐ŸŠFruits to Make You Feel Your Best!
๐ŸซGo Coco-NUTS for Homemade Creamy, Fudgy Chocolate Bars!

I can show you the world!
๐Ÿ’ฐCome on an Adventure to an Old Mining Cave and Waterfall!
Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

You had me at gravy....

Looking for the cry-laugh emoji in response here!

Homemade gravy that's super delicious ;)

This is amazing!!!. I can feel the crust. I wish that is going into my mouth right now. You sure put a lot of heart and emotions into this. Perfect!.

<3 Thanks Valentine, as always a lovely response to my creations. I see you're not here yet, so many meals leftover in the fridge for my lunch :)

I got my flight scheduled changed, we should have been devouring all of those together, my Valentine. I always trust your magic, I know you can always reproduce it. Don't be surprised when you come and couldn't find them anymore in the fridge. Hahahahaha. You are too adorable my Valentine.

Soooooooooooooo delicious Sweetie, wow!!!

<3 Thanks @lenasveganliving <3 I'm working through recipes my mom used to make to convert her one day ;)

Wow that looks soo delicious =) I really can imagine what it tastes like :D

an interesting recipe, I'll definitely try, thanks

Every time we publish something good to nourish myself, to know, and for that I thank you, thank you for leaving us a good contribution to grow in this ... friend of I hope you follow the successes and triumphs in your life. .. I wish you the best, from Colombia I follow you fully ...

The food came to the mouth and every food was delicious, if you could eat, then where can you find food

Interesting recipe. Looks very healthy to eat. Thanks for sharing this. Upvoted & followed for a good, effortful content. :)

Thanks @cookntell :) That's the name of my game, delicious and healthy at the same time! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it :)

First of all your work is really appreciable and literally speaking this post is reflecting as colourful and have amazing essence, and i heard that Bali is covered with full of greenery but after watching your post i think yes because your post consisted of all natural stuff which is reflecting as delicious due to your cooking talent and all these stuff are really awesome and beautiful in appearance. Thanks for sharing and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hi @chireerocks thank you :) Yes Bali is full of greenery and nature, I am lucky to get all of my fruits and veggies here, grown locally :) That is what you see in my recipes and I am really happy to hear you appreciate it :) Have a great day!

Welcome and thank you so much. ๐Ÿ™‚

excellent in my country they do it with a part of the cow that is called (chuchacho) too good I congratulate you

Ya it is originally a meat dish usually with beef (cow) but in order for it to be vegan, no animal products can be used so I had to revamp it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64582.42
ETH 3502.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46