๐Ÿง€Na'cho Erryday Cheese! Kickass Vegan Queso To Fire Up Your Nacho Game!๐Ÿง€

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago

In my laboratory, I have created the perfect blend of ingredients to smother all over my face... I mean... nachos! ๐Ÿ˜‰


nacho edit.jpg


So listen to this, I lived in Central America for about a year and a half, maybe a bit more. On top of that, I have been to Mexico more than I can count and despite all of my restaurant visits, I couldn't ever find the luscious, orange, creamy, spicy, saucy that I once knew in vegan format. Somehow queso sin leche just didn't get the response I wanted. ๐Ÿ˜‚

Little side note, Mexican food is my absolute kryptonite. It makes me melt like this queso!๐Ÿ˜‰

I have been on the search for what seems like an eternity. Life without perfect nacho dip to me was not worth living! I ate everything that promised me the sensation I was looking for but could never find anything that had the same gooey, cheesey, queso-y that I had once been strongly infatuated with! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Challenge accept-amundo!


cheese1tip.jpg


I believe that what our food is made of is incredibly important to our health. When choosing 'nacho chips' I ensure to use organic, (preferably) stone ground corn, with only oil and salt for cooking. If you check ingredient lists on some packaging, you will find a science experiment with words you haven't seen or heard since chemistry class. No thank you!

That being said, I recommend eating this deliciously nutritious cheese with a side of this finger looking, plant based galaxy of tastes!

I don't know about ya'll but honestly, the way I get most of my recipes is a craving followed by what I attribute to shear magic. I want something and so I create it. That's what happened with this cheese.

Something some kind of wonderful...

I was experimenting big time and really didn't think that this would end up to be one of the best things I have ever put in my mouth so I don't have as many step by steps in picture format as usual.

That said, it couldn't not be shared especially with so many of you celebrating Easter this weekend! You've got to make this to impress all of your family!

Want my secrets? Fine, twist my arm, why don't ya! I'll share! ๐Ÿ˜‰

twirly.png

What you need:


Base


  • 1 boiled potato
  • 1/2 cup veggie broth
  • 1 cup cashews (soaked overnight and even better if left in the fridge, rinsed for 1-3 days for maximum cheesy flavor!)
  • 1/3 cup nutritional yeast
  • 1/3 arrowroot powder + 1/3 cup water
  • 2/3 cup rice milk

Stir-fry


  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 onion
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper
  • As many hot peppers as you can handle. (I push stomach lining limits so I can't be responsible to give you a number.)
  • 2 tbsp cajun
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tbs coconut oil

What to do:


  • In a pan, add 1 tbs coconut oil and spices to medium heat. Let simmer for about 2 minutes then add in the onion, garlic and yellow bell pepper. Cook until soft. Set aside.

cheese6.jpg


  • Add 1/3 cup arrowroot powder and 1/3 cup water to a bowl. Mix well then pour onto medium heat. This mixture will turn to gel. As soon as it does, remove from heat so you don't burn it! It's super fast so keep an eye on it!

cheese7.jpg


  • Put soft potatoes, stir-fry mixture, arrowroot powder gel, nutritional yeast and cashews in a food processor and process until you have a soft mixture.
  • If your processor handles liquids well, add in the rice milk and veggie broth, if not, switch to a blender.
  • If your blender is heavy duty, it can warm this up for you on high speed but if not, pour it into a skillet to warm up for a couple of minutes (until warm to the touch.)

quesooo.jpg


Now that you have this soft, creamy, gooey, mixture, slap it on top of everything and anything you want to shove in your mouth! ๐Ÿ˜‰


nachochipedit.jpg


nachos.jpg


SO MUCH GOOEY GOODNESS!

This recipe made lots of queso! I just excitedly dumped it on the craziest, loaded nachos (most delicious) I could come up with! I had saved some in the fridge in a container for the next day and it was just as delicious re-heated so feel free to make tons!


cheese3.jpg



heart thing.png


I truly believe we can heal ourselves through food and it is my mission in life to create and inspire delicious, mouth watering creations that are beneficial and packed full of plant based goodies to fuel our bodies, minds and lives! ๐Ÿ’–

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:


Huge 100 SBD Contest: EAT LIKE A SUPERSTAR!
beyonce22dayedit.jpg


๐Ÿ’Want to Stay in the Loop? Here's a FREE Steemit Assistant to Make Your Life MUCH Easier!๐Ÿ’
Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!t!!


๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด
๐Ÿฅ‘You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!
๐ŸŽ‚Treat Yo'Self! Brownies+Ice Cream+Cookies+Fudge = Cupcakes
๐Ÿ’œIncredible Purple Vegan Quiche!
๐ŸœGarden to Table: Coconut Curry!
๐Ÿ Baked Lasagna
๐ŸŠFruits to Make You Feel Your Best!
๐ŸซGo Coco-NUTS for Homemade Creamy, Fudgy Chocolate Bars!
๐Ÿ Mouth Watering, Creamy Cashew Alfredo Pasta Sauce!
๐Ÿž The Ultimate Loaded Breakfast Sandwiches

Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

Looks amazing! Do you think the same result could be achieved with almond milk instead of rice milk? Anyway, great job!

HI @stolentissue! Definitely! As long as it's not flavored you should be fine. They have the same consistency and work interchangeably. =D

That's it! I think I need to move in and become your official taster! Side note mexican food is life! Cue the fiesta! ๐Ÿป๐ŸŒฎ

Awwww don't tease me! I would love that :) I eat so much along the way that by the end I am stuffed hahaha <3 I could not agree with you more. It's one of my only complaints about being on this side of the world... I miss Mexican food sooooo much. Luckily I have had more than enough exposure to it to recreate it here ;) <3 Come by anytime! You're not too far away ;)

What a tasty creamy cheese! Thanks for a wonderful life changing recipe.... AGAIN!!๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ™Œ

Hahah you are too sweet to me Nina! You know I cried my eyes out when I found out that cheese was not the best thing for me (or the animals, or the environment) so I have my own personal mission never to have to give it up ;) Luckily nuts are sooo much better in my opinion <3

oooh this looks scrumptuous! I love nacho's, Mexican food is my weakness as well. Comfort food I call it lol Resteeming for future! Thank you @heart- to- heart

I LOVE nachos and tacos beyond the realms of regular human haha I seriously was devastated at first thinking vegan meant no more Mexican since obviously Mexican food for the most part is just super super not vegan ;) However, it's possible to recreate- this is seriously too good. I think with guac and salsa it would just be out of this world! Try this on Mr Bird ;) <3

I am with you girlfriend! I'm trying this one! I'll let you know how the taste test goes :)
You're the best!

Giiiirl you got to be kidding me. That looks so good :D. Would love to have some of that right now =)

Hahaha me too now come to think of it. I think I'm going to have to go for round 2 today since this post has made me so hungry :) Come on over and we can eat a huge plate together! <3

Hahaha would love to :D. Too bad it's almost a days flight time away :D.
One day darling ;)

OMG cheese heaven! This looks so delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹ Happy Easter!

Haha I LOVE vegan cheese ;) Happy Easter to you too my dear :)

Oh fan, I love queso, I had made the minimalist baker one a few times but this looks creamier and a good bit easier too. Full marks. ๐Ÿ˜‹

I love queso too! In fact I might have to make this again since this post is stirring up my hunger ;) This one was really experimental and I almost wouldn't have had the recipe to share since I was all over the place! Luckily I wrote it down on a tiny page and took pictures ;) I have a feeling you'll love it!

Great!!! Now I can make the nacho cheese, when I lacking of how to get the ingredients.

My place isn't a good place to find ingredients for foods like that, plus there are no fast food chains other than KFC.

Because I'm not vegan, I prefer to change the rice milk with the dairy milk. Is combining both of it taste better?

Well @ilhamifneh, I don't suggest getting the nachos from fast food chains. That's why I mentioned about the chips in the beginning ;) The idea is that these nachos are made from healthy ingredients so they are good for you!

I wouldn't know if regular milk would taste better. I'm vegan and this recipe is vegan so, putting milk in it would make it not vegan! Personally, I wouldn't think so- I don't drink milk and don't ever support or encourage the use of it because I have seen and studied the effects it has on our health and environment so I'm sorry I don't have an answer for that. The idea with this cheese is that it does not use animal products on purpose =D Hope this helps answer your question :)

Yummy yuyummy, I strongly believe it tastes great ๐Ÿ‘Œ

Haha thank you :) I promise, it does :)

๐Ÿ˜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70