๐ŸŽ‚The Cake Doctor: Antioxidant Packed Cake with Healing Powers!๐ŸŽ‚ ๐Ÿ’–

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

The doc diagnosed this cake as your cure. Yes, this cake is full of food medicine!

Have I raved about the benefits of food enough yet? Have I told you how much we can cure and relieve problems within by changing what we put into our bodies?

How about we slice you off a piece of this creamy, rich in antioxidant cake that'll go to work on your body's health right away!

(That's right, dessert CAN be good for you, if you put some heart into it- luckily that's what I'm here for!) โค

Why is this cake so amazing?

I'm super happy you asked! Let me explain! โคโคโค


papaya11edit.jpg


Papaya:

The other day, I bought a papaya. Nothing weird or special about that if you know me (I'm a tropical fruit eating fiend!)

Papayas have incredible benefits such as antioxidants, vitamin A+B+C+E, fiber, and magnesium! They're great for digestion, they're anti-inflammatory, and they make a wonderful face maskโ€ฆpapaya is skin-tastic!

Actually, fun tip while we're here: use the skin after you peel your fruit for your face! Your skin will thank you!

While orange papayas are incredible, (I love any papaya that comes my way) this was a unique and extra sweet yellow one inside!

I'm not a papaya diagnosing expert so I thought it was a regular orange-ish/pink one from the outside layer of skin however, from time to time life surprises me with various colors on the insides!

I was in the middle of devouring it when I thought:

"This would be amazing in a cake!"

I had dreams of this beautiful yellow cake being a show stopper after being inspired out of my own mind by my pink cake I just made recently! (Wait til you see that bad boy! It's a masterpiece!)

I have never in my life been a fan of fruit cake. I was pretty certain fruit belonged raw or in pie, not cake... I have changed my own mind and I am sure you'll be convinced after seeing this too!

Blue Butterfly Pea & Coconut

Just for fun I added a little bit of blue coconut milk to the icing!

How did I get blue coconut milk? I made it with blue butterfly pea which are local, edible flowers that are also super rich in antioxidants and said to have brain-boosting, memory enhancing, stress decreasing super powers!

These blue flowers release their magic when you soak them in water so adding a handful to my coconut milk provided the beautiful light blue liquid for this recipe!

Goji

Just to add in some more bang for my buck I really wanted to get the body excited so I topped it with vibrant red goji berries! These berries, also known as wolf berries are high in antioxidants which help to fight against disease and infections!

Ancient Chinese medicine says they are also know to help aid meditation, increase vitality, longevity, energy and stamina.

Sound fun yet? That's quite a party happening in this cake- right?

Come give it a try!


papaya7.jpg


What you need:


papaya.jpg


Cake:


  • ยฝ small papaya (roughly 2 cups)
  • 2 cup gluten free flour (I used cassava)
  • 1 cup coconut cream (I make mine myself from coconut meat and coconut water combined)
  • ยผ cup coconut oil (anti inflammatory)
  • ยฝ cup coconut shreds
  • ยฝ cup chia + ยพ cup water (put chia in and let soak for 5 minutes)
  • 1/2 tsp arrowroot powder + 1/2 tsp water (heat together to form a paste)
  • ยผ tbs baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ยฝ tsp nutmeg
  • ยฝ tsp sea salt
    (Optional add ons:)
  • goji berries
  • coconut shreds
  • raisins

Icing


  • 1 cup coconut milk (I made mine blew by dying it with flowers!) ;)
  • 3 bananas (very ripe)
  • 2 passion fruits (only the seeds)
  • ยผ cup coconut oil
  • ยผ chia seeds (omega 3's/good fats)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

papaya10.jpg


What to do:


Cake:


  • Start by blending the papaya until itโ€™s soft.

papaya1.jpg


  • Pour the papaya into a bowl and add flour, coconut cream and shreds.
  • Stir this mixture together then add in the soaked chia, baking soda, arrowroot mixture, salt, nutmeg and vanilla.
  • Either hand beat everything together or put it all into a food processor until itโ€™s thick and has a batter consistency. (If itโ€™s too wet at first, add a bit of flour!)
  • Pour this into a cake pan that has been oiled down with coconut oil.

papaya3.jpg


  • Put aside.

Icing:


papaya2.jpg


  • Place all of the icing ingredients into a food processor and blend!
  • Pour this mixture on top of the cake batter.
  • Top with dried fruit and coconut shreds if youโ€™d like! I used goji, raisins and coconut shreds for mine! (They were so yummy!)

papaya4.jpg


  • Place the cake tray in the oven on 180โ€™C for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean!
    (Youโ€™ll be able to smell the fruity deliciousness all through the house!)

papaya5.jpg


  • Once itโ€™s ready you can leave on the counter until it cools and serve or, if youโ€™d like it to look like it does in these photos, put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to shape.

I ate it hot and cold and preferred it cold but itโ€™s totally up to you to create your own experience!


papaya6.jpg


Hot or cold, I hope you like it! It's packed full of goodies that your body will thank you for!
ENJOY MY FRIENDS!


HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my girl @vegan.niinja! This is your delicious virtual cake I promised! You're amazing and I love that Steemit has brought us together! โคโคโคโคโค


papaya8.jpg


papaya12.jpg

heart thing.png


I truly believe we can heal ourselves through food and it is my mission in life to create and inspire delicious, mouth watering creations that are beneficial and packed full of plant based goodies to fuel our bodies, minds and lives! ๐Ÿ’–

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion. Here are some of my recent additions:


Have you heard about my super 22 day challenge?
EAT LIKE A SUPERSTAR: 100SBD GIVEAWAY UPDATE!
beyonce22dayedit.jpg


๐Ÿ’Want to Stay in the Loop? Here's a FREE Steemit Assistant to Make Your Life MUCH Easier!๐Ÿ’
Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!t!!


๐ŸดHungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!๐Ÿด
๐Ÿง€Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
๐Ÿซ 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
๐Ÿง€Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!
๐Ÿฅ‘You Won't Believe it's Not Magic! Double Chocolate Mousse (Avocado) Cake!
๐ŸŽ‚Treat Yo'Self! Brownies+Ice Cream+Cookies+Fudge = Cupcakes
๐Ÿ’œIncredible Purple Vegan Quiche!

I can show you the world!
๐Ÿ’ฐCome on an Adventure to an Old Mining Cave and Waterfall!
Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort: ย 

This post, with over $50.00 in payouts, has used the following bid-bots.

buildawhale payout in the amount of $37.52 USD.
upme payout in the amount of $34.73 USD.
rocky1 payout in the amount of $25.47 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value in the amount of $97.72 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform.

Please consider the long term effect on our platform before using bidbots!

You can read more about how bidbots are affecting our platform here.

This comment is by no means a judgement of your work @heart-to-heart, only an earnest appeal that we might all work together to build a great platform by letting the community curate our work and not bidbots.

@Transparencybot is a non-profit initiative, please consider supporting it and the transparency it brings to our platform.

Good post

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 50 SBD worth and should receive 187 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much for choosing my cake in the selection today :) I really appreciate my work being noticed by this bot! I realize it likely can't respond but it's still really encouraging for a creator to have this kind of boost in confidence, especially after all the work and heart that goes into it :) Thanks @trufflepig <3

Thanks, sometimes I (or rather my creator) get lucky and notice such kind replies to my comments due to the best notification bot in the world, kudos to @ginabot :-)!

And, thank You for your kind words, of course!

The cake does look super tasty, maybe I'll try to make one sometime (my cooking mode is still under development, though!).

Oh yay! I'm so excited my message was delivered! These bots are getting crazy effective :)

The cake is really delicious but there are so many more cakes and goodies where that came from so, better hurry up and get working on your programming so you can cook and eat by the time the next one is up :) I have a really special cake I have been waiting to share! <3

Mmm looks and sounds so good, what a great vegan cake recipe i want some of this!

Thank you so so much my darling for your contribution to my party!!!!
You have just made me dance;)
I am your biggest fan, and this means the world to me!!!

You know how to make me drool, as always, a true delicious masterpiece!!! Did you know that you or a man can use the seeds from papaya to not be able to produce children? Haha its true! We tried that for a while, but as it takes at least some weeks before it works, it can be quite challenging, and you need to buy papaya all the time (in europe very expensive). My partner didnt like the taste of the seeds either, so we stopped after some days haha, but the actual papayas were awesome!! Papaya is definitely one of my absolute favourite fruits!!

Hahaha you are adorable Niina! <3 I'm so happy I could get it onto the screen for you in time for your party!

Ahhhh OK hang on there tiger. That is superrrrr intense for your body. Papaya seeds are incredible. They are akin to antibiotics as in they go into the system like nuclear bombs and they kill everything living inside! I first heard about this from some medicine women in the jungle and so I was doing cleansing of my bacteria with it when I was living in Central America thinking I was a genius for helping my body clean out....

I later found out that it can kill the good stuff too and shouldn't be taken too frequently.. think... if it can stop babies from being made, is that good for us?

Careful my dear, nature can be super powerful! <3

This Cake can actually cure because of the ingredients used in the preparation. We are what we eat,and we can prevent sickness by eating right - balance diet. The cake is so nutritous and is capable of healing. I love the cake though it is for girl @vegan.niinja. I will try the recipe thanks for the post

Yes, I completely agree with you @amfavour :) I believe food is medicine and that by eating right, we can become healthier, better versions of ourselves which is why I love posting great tasting, healthy recipes like this one for people to try! =D
I'm happy to hear you're going to give it a try! It's quite different than my usual desserts but it's definitely delicious! Enjoy it :)

Now that is a fruit cake I would definitely like to try! The traditional ones with died sticky sweet fruit, not so much, but this one looks fantastic. Lena unknowingly posted a cake on my birthday, so only fitting that you share one for the lovely @vegan.niinja! :)

Oh my goshhhh I know what ones you mean... blah! Those nasty Christmas cake things in the tins and bags...yuck, no thank you! For you though, not the right climate. We'd have to make this here when you visit with the local fruits so they are fresh ;)
Aww that's so sweet about Lena's cake on your bday! Lucky you ;) Maybe we should make this a tradition and have it be like Secret Santa for birthday cakes haha <3

I see how creative one can get when preparing healthy food. This must be an inspiration for me to improve my cooking skills :) Also love the tip about the papaya skin. Have a peaceful day.

I feel like healthy food breeds creativity because unfortunately the world is full of so many ingredients and products that are not so healthy... whenever adjusting a diet it calls for some play in order to be able to really enjoy food that is good and healing for our bodies :) I'm happy to hear this inspired you- it's quite different than my normal treats (even though they are always healthy as can be) and it really made me think outside of the box! Definitely try the papaya for the skin, it's incredible :)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 90%.

Well said Gabriel Garcรญa Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

I love to try that. But what is the taste???

The taste is sweet, texture is fluffy! It's a very sweet, delicious cake that is really good for you! :)

Oh man! Yummy!! Just this evening I bake this bread for snacks!

I'm going to try this.
On the one hand it looks yummy and as you say healthy. Healthier than other cakes surly. Than on the other hand it looks like it's got some significant weight to it.

Well there is nothing bad for you inside so it sure is healthy! It's quite dense yes, definitely filling =D It keeps things to one slice at a time :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55