🍰Secret Ingredient Carrot Cake Recipe Will Make Even The Haters Love It!

in #food6 years ago

If you're thinking "carrot cake is disgusting" I am right there with you! That's why I made it delicious!


cropped cake.jpg


When I see carrot cake on a menu, I groan and think whyyyy does that even exist?

When a server asks me if I'd like dessert and I ask what they have and they say carrot cake my face does this thing it scrunches itself up like it's trying to hide inside of itself ... "none for me, thank-you."

Why is that?
Some people are ALL ABOUT the carrot cake.

Have I just never had a "good" one?
That can't be it. My dad's been serving carrots in the form of cake for decades and people love it. Can't be that.

As you should know by now, I love a challenge and this seemed to be calling out to me soooo...

Remember all that left over carrot pulp from my post the other day about carrot veggie patties- the one where I told you to keep the leftovers??


patty5.jpg


Well, there was tons of extra pulp and so this carrot cake was born that even I like!

What's the key ingredient that made it go from no thank you to yes please?

Check it out!
twirly.png

What you need:

  • 4 cups gluten free flour (I use sweet potato)
  • 4 cups carrot pulp
  • 1 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup maple syrup (or other organic, plant based alternative)
  • 6 tbs chia + 18 tbs water (1 x 3 for each 'egg')
  • 1 tbs vanilla (or 1/4 vanilla bean)
  • 1-2 tsp allspice
  • 1-2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
    Optional Additives:
  • 1 cup coconut shreds
  • 1 cup raisins
    Icing
  • 1/4 cup carrot juice
  • 3/4 cup coconut shreds
  • 2 cups coconut cream
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tbs vanilla

AND THE SECRET INGREDIENT!

Which is...

COFFEE!

Yep! No milks, no creams, COFFEE! (1/2 a cup to be exact!)

To be honest I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out but it was kind of like magic!


twirly.png


What to do:


carrot cake 4.jpg


  • Mix the dry ingredients together in a big bowl (spices, baking soda/powder, salt)

carrot cake 5.jpg


  • Add in the flour (this is purple sweet potato so it's gluten free and amazing!)

carrot 1.jpg


  • Whisk these ingredients together then set aside.

carrot2.jpg


  • Mix the chia 'eggs', vanilla, sweetener and the coconut oil together.

carrot3.jpg


  • Stir together until it's all blended into a wet consistency (like shown here!)

carrot4.jpg


  • Add in the carrot pulp and stir all together!

carrot5.jpg


  • Optional: stir in raisins and coconut shreds!

carrot6.jpg


  • Now is secret ingredient time, pour the black coffee into the bowl!

carrot 6.jpg


  • Mix everything together well then pour it into a cake pan and bake for 40 minutes on 190'C.

carrot 7.jpg


  • While it's baking, smooth together coconut cream, maple syrup and vanilla for the icing!

carrot cake 1.jpg


  • Pour the carrot juice in a bowl and soak 1/2 of the coconut shreds inside! (They will become orange and look beautiful on top!)

carrot.jpg


  • When the cake is ready, spread the coconut cream icing on top, sprinkle with both orange and white coconut shreds and top with some raisins.
  • Put back in the oven for about 10 minutes! (Oven times may vary so use a toothpick to see if your cake it cooked all the way through!)

carrot cake 3.jpg


slice.jpg


cake.jpg


Who said carrot cake couldn't be delicious?

I hope you enjoy! 🥕
heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!
Here are some of my recent additions:

💁Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg
Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

💖DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?💖
Inspiration for your heart!
Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too! ❤
Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
Why You are the best You there is!

My Challenges:
🥝Have you heard about #veganwednesday?🍓
Check out the contest update here!

🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴
🍟Epic Smothered Garlic Cheese Fries!
🥕Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"
🍦DYI Fro-Yo!
🧀Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
🧀Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
🍰Special Power Cake!
🍞 Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
🍫 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
🧀Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!

🌍I can show you the world!🌍
🗺The Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
🎥Video!Drone footage of the Maldives!
🎥Video! Drone footage= waterfalls!
🎥Video! My favorite place in NZ
🎉Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
Come Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali


Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Good grief! Wow, this looks unbelievable. So tell me, can you taste the coffee? I would have never thought of this, you are a genius! I agree with you , carrot cake in a restaurant would definitely be a big no...geesh. Well done my friend. Really genius!

Hmmm.... not as much as you might think, it's subtle and also masks the carrot in combination with the spice so it is really different than any dessert I can think of. I don't know what possessed me to do this but it was a welcomed surprise ;) <3

Wow, such original recipe! I never used a sweet potato flour 🙄

Alright. Stop right there!

Carrots are plain and simply awesome. Put them in smoothies, soups, with a roast AND in sweets!

Those photos are divine. The colour is magical and they are really popping off the page. I wish we had a favourites button on #steemit along with a print button and a way to organise our posts into folders..🙄 because it would be on my favourites list!

Sublime article.

nm

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Most funky flour i have ever seen :-)

Haha crushed from the organic purple sweet potatoes here! Isn't it cool? I love using it to make everything extra beautiful :)

It just look so delicious!!! 😍 seems you can get your hands on amazing local ingredients!

When the ingredients I am using are coming from plants I get lucky because every country has those ;) <3

Yum, yum, yum, yum...

<3 In my tum tum tum, still waiting for you to visit! <3

I know! I will eventually get out that way! One of the clients of another trainer was showing us pictures of her daughter's trip to Bali last week. I was green with envy... :P

I really support your post, very good post, thank you

Carrot cake is LOVE!😍

Haha now I too believe it ;)

This is adoring. Good tutorial for this great lesson. Thanks greatly for this voluntarily service @heart-to-heart

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64582.42
ETH 3502.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46