California Is The Place To Be This Weekend! Here's Why! 🎉Changing the World!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

If you're in California this weekend, are you ever lucky!

There is an incredible event going on this Saturday and Sunday that has me almost jumping on a plane half way across the world!


Screenshot (448).png


First of all, if you haven't seen the life-changing documentaries Cowspiracy or What the Health yet, you've gotta add that onto your TO-DO list right now!

These two films, by Kip Anderson and Keegan Kuhn changed my life! It started with Cowspiracy when I was living in California where fate brought to a mutual friend of Kip's which transpired into hearing about a new film that was causing quite the commotion at the time! It impacted me immediately and I have been eternally grateful for the immense opportunity it gifted to me, seeing the world through new eyes.


vegan fest1.jpg


See Kip was searching for health. He started off asking questions that lead him to some unexpected answers and that's when this powerful film came to life!

Kip and Keegan (who brought Cowspiracy to the world) decided to keep the ball rolling after the success of their first documentary (Leonardo DiCaprio helped get them launched on Netflix) and went on to produce another film answering the questions that were left wanting.

With the launch of "What the Health", Kip came all the way to Bali and here we are hanging out at Bali Vegan Festival!

Just when I thought I knew it all, this film came in and just shook my world up!

Now I cannot tell you which film is more powerful. They are both so different and so mind-blowing. I cannot recommend them enough!

So, all that said... these guys are putting on a convergence in San Fran THIS WEEKEND!

I'm telling you, this is going to be THE PLACE TO BE THIS WEEKEND!

Take a look at the speaker list!


Screenshot (446).png


Presentations:

  • Dr. Sailesh Rao: Why Everyone Should Go Vegan NOW!

  • Dr. Lori Marino: The Whale Sanctuary Project: The Next Wave in Our Relationship With Marine Mammals

  • Miyoko Schinner: Innovations, Investments, & A Plant-based Future

  • Jodi Monelle (CEO LiveKindly), Klaus Mitchell (Co-Founder Plant-Based News),

  • Lucie Manning (Seaspiracy Co-Director), Kam Waters (YouTube),

  • Fio Migliore (Vegan Activist): The Power of Activism through Social Media

  • Earthling Ed: The Power of Unity: How we can Create a Better World Together

  • Dr. Will Tuttle: Healing Our World: A Deeper Look at Food

  • Captain Paul Watson: Sea Shepherd & The State of the Oceans

  • Dr. Russell Marz: Blue Zones, Longevity and the Ideal Diet.

  • Anna Ferguson: Self Care: The Inner and Outer Sustainability of Activism

  • Ali Tabrizi: Seaspiracy

  • Kip Andersen + Keegan Kuhn: Behind the Scenes

  • John Lewis "Badass Vegan": Vegans Aren't Filling Up Hospitals

  • Dr. Milton Mills: True Health: Mind, Body & Spirit

  • James Aspey: Why Veganism is a Moral Imperative


Schedule:

(Saturday on left, Sunday on right)
Screenshot (456).png


Support System:
Screenshot (449).png


How much is it?

Screenshot (454).png


Where is it?

Screenshot (455).png


WHY YOU SHOULD GO?

Obviously as a vegan there is going to be a lot of your tribe there. Movers and shakers of the movement, vegan food, awesome vendors, incredible inspiration...

But what about people that are not vegan? Should they still go?
Oh my goodness a hundred times yes! The information I have seen given at these events is LIFE CHANGING! At Bali Vegan Festival last year, I cannot tell you how many people expressed to me how much of an impact this had on their existence!

If you're not in Cali this weekend, take a look at Cowspiracy and What the Health which are both available on Netflix!

I myself didn't understand anything concerning my food, my health or the environment until I watched these films. I strongly recommend them!

Click here to get directed to WTF-COW-CON website!

All photos (except for the one of Kip and I) are taken from the WTF-COW-CON website

Sending you love!
heart thing.png

My heart's in charge here. I write about what I feel in the moment. What inspires me, what drives my passion!
Here are some of my recent additions:

💁Want to Stay in the Loop? AUTOVOTING Can Make Your Life MUCH Easier!

Your dream has come true- NEVER MISS a post again!
show some love.jpeg
Rewarding content we love, rewards us back and strengthens the community! Yay for curation rewards!

💖DO YOU HAVE THE COURAGE TO JUST BE YOU?💖
Inspiration for your heart!
My Words Define My World
Unexpected Advice That Changed My Life! I Hope It Will Change Yours Too! ❤
Telling you the truth that no one else tells you!
Why You are the best You there is!

My Challenges:
🥝Have you heard about #veganwednesday?🍓
Check out the contest update here!

🍴Hungry? Check out these yummy plant based recipes!🍴
🍰Secret Ingredient Carrot Cake Recipe
🍟Epic Smothered Garlic Cheese Fries!
🥕Wait Don't Throw That Away! How To Make Veggie 'Neat Balls' and 'Burgers' From "Leftovers!"
🍦DYI Fro-Yo!
🧀Baked Herb Cashew Cheeze!
🧀Smoked Cheddar Cheeze!
🍰Special Power Cake!
🍞 Get Stuffed: Gravy/Cheesy/Stuffed Loaf!
🍫 5 Min, Easy, Healthy DIY Chocolates!
🧀Na'cho Everyday Cheese! Vegan Queso!

🌍I can show you the world!🌍
🗺The Mysterious Fame of a Small Town!
🎥Video!Drone footage of the Maldives!
🎥Video! Drone footage= waterfalls!
🎥Video! My favorite place in NZ
🎉Exclusive Bali Beach Party!
Come Wanderlust Through the Magic Island, Bali


Until next time!

Sending you love through food, travel, inspiration and epic storytime!
XO,
hearttoheart signature.png

trial5.jpg

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

I'd love to be here this weekend! I've watched both What the Health and Cowspiracy, and I think the way these two films are made is brilliant. They are quite provocative, which is great, since they provoke a lot of discussion around them, and make people think about their lifestyles and everyday decisions. 😊

I would too! I really thought about it but I am actually already going to be in Singapore so :( I agree with you. Each one is unique in delivery but absolutely question the watcher to think. That's what I love most about them. You can't walk away and not think about the questions it poses :) <3

Hopefully they come to Florida. There are vegan festivals all the time here. I just have to find out about them before the event :)

Florida does usually seem to have a lot of events @kubbyelizabeth! The big one here in Atlanta is in November, but there are occasionally other events. If you follow some of the big plant-based advocates that are involved in a lot of the events they usually post information ahead of time on Instagram, Facebook, or send out emails. I haven't gone to a lot of events in person, but I will try to log in to online events like the Plant Fit Summit where you can watch presentations when you get a chance. I've seen Ellen Jaffe Jones speak online before and she is a powerhouse! I'd love to scoot down to Florida to see her speak in person some time. What part of Florida are you in?

You're right @plantstoplanks, there are so many events going worldwide! I can hardly keep up! <3 All it takes is to be on the look out and all of a sudden they are everywhere!

Yep! We went to the Atlanta Veg Fest for the first time last year and I was amazed how many people were there! We got there half an hour early, and the line was already wrapping around the building. The word has gotten out for sure!

Yay this makes me so happy to hear =D

Loading...

My Valentine, you got a ticket for two, right?

No dear :( Sadly I won't be there to visit this time, just wishing :)

Hahaha ouch. You are really playing hide and seek with me.

Have fun!

Upvoted, resteemed and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.

Thank you! I wish I was going but I'm actually not this time, I have another commitment this side of the world that caught me first ;)

Ah, OK.
Let me know what you think of the 1 SBI promo within the new MAP Upvotes post. Even PM me if you prefer.

Would like to experience what it's like in San fran one day

I lived there for a year, it's always got amazing events like this going on :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61205.14
ETH 3376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51