Benefits of a 30 Day Challenge

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit (7).png

Day 29 Question by @dragosroua

May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Twenty Nine: What’s The Most Consistent Benefit From This Challenge So Far?

Two more days you can participate

Seemit band.png

Benefits

Daily Posting

Let's first talk about the obvious benefits of entering a challenge like that. Obviously, it is designed to get into the habit of daily posting. As a habit-forming exercise, that wasn't significant for me since I am already doing that. As a matter of fact, I am at day 222 publishing my Daily Freewrite Prompt.

I was also nominated to participate in a 7-day gratitude challenge (and a couple of others I ignored for now). So, in a sense when one is already in the habit of posting several times a day, adding a challenge might be a bit overwhelming to the followers.

Different Topics

That said, I enjoyed writing about Steem and topics about applications and behaviors on the platforms. Those are not my usual topics so it was fun to explore them.

Money

Of course, an extra post a day means some more money coming in. I can't say that any of the challenge posts did particularly well. But every bit helps.

Designing a System

During this challenge, I got pretty good at creating a "brand" for this kind of post. After playing around a bit with the design, I settled on the elements I wanted on the graphics and the layout of the posts. That made it easy and fast to create a new graphics for each topic. Then, I followed a similar framework for each post which makes them easy to write.

Making New Friends

That was by far the best part of the challenge. Through the comments, I got to know @glenalbrethsen through his post length insights and tips, and @michaelluchies. Both are experienced writers and I can learn from their expertise. And Michael joined the #freewrite which I am super excited about.

Also, it was fun to read my friends @fitinfun's posts and find out that many days, we almost wrote identical posts. What was that about great minds......?

Overall, I didn't see a whole lot of interaction between the participants and it felt a bit like playing in the boy's club.

Seemit band.png

My Previous Posts for this Challenge

Day 2 -How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Day 3 -Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

Day 4 - 5 Witnesses and my Why

Day 5 - My Top 5 Crypto Holdings - Day 5

Day 6 - Why am I still on Steemit - Day 5 - 30 Day Writing Challenge

Day 7 - 3 Things I Like to Change on Steemit

Day 8 - Most Consistent Hobby in the Past 5 Years.

Day 9 -Steemit in 5 Years from Now

Day 10 - My Favorite Morning Drink

Day 11 - Hive Mind or Smart Media Tokens

Day 12 - Most Popular Crypto Currency in Five Years

Day 13 - My 3 Top Cities

Day 14 -My Favorite Writing topic

Day 15 -How Many Posts Per Day?

Day 16 - Steemit & I in Five Years

Day 17- If Steemit Stops Paying - Stay or Leave?

Day 18 -My "Other" Social Media Life

Day 19 - My Three Favorite Movies

Day 20 - The First Person(s) I followed on Steemit

Day 21 - The Worst Thing about Steemit for Me

Day 22 - What Do I Consider a Worthy Post on Steemit

Day 23 -Commenting on Steemit

Day 24 -Three Accounts I Follow

Day 25 - My Favorite app to Post on Steem

Day 26 - My Favorite Tool on the Steem Blockchain

Day 27 -How Many Comments Do I Upvote?

Day 28 - Would I start a Steemit Clone?

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

Would I start a Steemit Clone

Day 221: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: detective

Multiple Posts on Steemit

More than one Picture on Steepshot

My favorite App on Steem

Day 6 - Gratitude

Commenting on Steemit

My Front Garden - a Short Tour

What Do I Consider a Worthy Post on Steemit

Garden Projects - D-Live

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/mariannewest
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Well, I'm glad to have met you, too, and it's true, it's primarily happened through the writing challenge. However, we're both in Asher's leagues, so it was bound to happen and continue to happen through that.

I agree with all of your points. I kind of ran out of STEEM on both these challenges because while I don't mind giving my opinions about STEEM and Steemit, talking about it nearly every day is a little more than I care for. Gratitude is something I could probably talk about more, but again, it's not what my principle motivation for being here is, and I feel like, even though I've continued to publish posts from my WIP throughout, I've been neglecting it. I did seem some financial uptick and more people seemed to actually comment on the posts, so that's all positive.

Overall, a good experience, just would like the subject matter to be a little more diverse. And since I've been trying to post a couple of times a day, too, who knows, maybe it's impacted followers? I don't think the vast majority are reading, anyway. :)

And that is the truth - many are not reading the posts LOL

I have often found it frustrating that if I do a quick steepshot post with a cute dog, chicken, or kids picture, I often get way more comments and upvotes than for articles I spend a long time writing.

Oh well. Such is life :)

I often wonder how people choose to spend their time. I know in some cases it's work and family and other responsibilities and so the quick image, meme, short post or video is what they go for. But then there's just a bunch of people who hate to read, or who have short attention spans, or have something else they'd rather be doing that isn't any more important, just more important to them. So, since they want to vote on things as fast as they can, they jump on whatever. It doesn't help really.

I've been trying not to do my very best work in the beginning, but do my next best work so that I at least get people interested in what I'm writing. At whatever point I can say I have a sufficient following, I'll start spending more time on things. There needs to be a balance, and a lot of it is psychological. Do the best that you can with posts that don't need anymore than an hour and a half, and build from there.

I try for a mix of things. Of course, the writing prompt and the reading of the freewrites takes a lot of my time. But ideally, I like to have a good mix of different topics and media - video, audio, photo, and posts...

So do you think that having the different media helps? If you're already going for different topics, does how people consume it seem to be helping as far as engagement and upvotes go, or does it tend to dilute things because you're not concentrating on one form or another? Or would you say results are mixed? Trying to cover the bases here. :) And i don't have any particular bias or opinion here. Just hoping to get your personal thoughts and observations from doing it.

there are some that really like video, others like posts with some pictures and not much writing, a few like long articles. I am trying to do more Dlive.
It seems to me that it is a minority that actually likes long articles. For me, I spend most of my effort with the freewriters. I am a bit niched there.

Congratulations @mariannewest, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 61

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

P.S. I kept meaning to join into this but never found the time, I also need to get back to the #freewrite but with less than a week until we fly out to get our bub, time seems a little elusive. Thanks for giving us things to write about daily. @insideoutlet

Thank you so much!!! And so exciting that you are getting ready to be a mom. You will have even less time :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you very much!!!

I think you could add discovery. The challenge gave us a chance to see you and your passions. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52