One photo every day: Lahti Radio Hill Stadium, Radio Towers (60/365)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My health had somewhat elevated today, so I decided to go out and shoot some night photos with my old 35 mm Super Carenar lens.

(Btw. I'm writing this as I'm trying to edit the photos. I took a slightly different photo and I need to stitch it in digiKam.)

This is taking me some time since it looks like digiKam has been upgraded while I've not been using it, and it wanted to update everything. And I mean everything, it is looking through all the folders in my home directory instead of just ~/Pictures.
(Oh, and it Looks like the digiKam albums are all over the place. The joys of using two cataloging software.)

Oh well. I finally found the photos I had pre-edited in darktable, now onto stitching them into a vertical panorama.

(...some time passes...)

Funny thing happened though... I ended up having to stitch the photos in Hugin instead of using digiKam as a front end to Hugin. Usually things like these work quite flawlessly in digiKam, but today it kind of decided to distort the picture to something I didn't want.

Stitched in Hugin only:

Lahti Radio Hill Towers_0001 - Lahti Radio Hill Towers_0002.jpg
Quite pleased with this one.

Stitched in digiKam, using Hugin as backend:

Lahti Radio Hill Towers_0001-Lahti Radio Hill Towers_0002_digiKam.jpg
Not so pleased with this one. ;)

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Super Carenar MC 1:2.8 ƒ=35 mm
Aperture: ƒ/11
Exposure: 15 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200


Oh, "Why did I do a panorama instead of just one shot?" you ask. Well I only had the 35 mm lens with me, and I couldn't quite get far enough to fit the nearest tower into the picture, I decided I'll turn the camera upward a bit and get the rest of the tower into the photo as well. Sneaky, right? ;)

Okay, this was all I had time for tonight. Maybe something totally awesome in a later post, but now, before contracting a sequela I'll be going to bed. Thanks for sharing this photo journey with me! :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Experimenting #2 (59/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)

Peekaboo! (36/365)
Story of a lonely bench (37/365)
Rehab work, de-stapleizing newspapers. (38/365)
Jackdaw (39/365)
Selfie (40/365)
Playing billiards with my friend Janne (41/365)
A light in the dark (42/365)
Father-Son bonding w/ Leo & waiting for Halloumi burgers (43/365)
Funny chairs (44/365)
First school day (45/365)
At work, gluing samples. (46/365)
Hot (47/365)
Lightning (48/365)
My desktop. (49/365) "1337" post
Reconstructing the crash. (50/365)
Super Carenar MC f=35mm 1:2.8 (51/365)
Orange (52/365)
Fetching Leo from his Piano studies. (53/365)
Sleep mode (54/365)
Pikkuvesku (55/365)
First ride without training wheels (56/365)
Sore throat, bad cough. (57/365)
Experimenting (58/365)
Experimenting #2 (59/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

Excellent photography me dear @gamer00 and the night pic is really awesome but i could not able to distingush between the two pics where u have written that for the first one "u r satsfied" but for the seond one "you are not..".....

I spent some time to look but did not find any reason why u have written so...can u please explain....

thank u...steem on & stay blissful....

You did not notice the left tower was bent all out of shape?

Yes...i can notice that now...thanks for the reply...

Glad ur feeling better.
the picts are awesome!
the second one almost has a fish eye look to it how the towers curve!

Yea but I have no idea how it did that, while in the other window, Hugin did the exact same thing but with straight towers.

when I use the 360 panorama app on my phone it gives it that fish eye look.
Think it has to do with the meshing of different angles and points of view.
trying to turn a circle to a square and stuff.
if they wernt next to each other I prolly wouldn't have noticed tbh.
some shots look good in fisheye.
they both are awesome, can you climb the towers?
:O

Not those towers, no. But I did climb this one yesterday.

:O
bout to check it out now!

Yes i agree your comment

huh, interesting you got two different results depending on the software you're using for the panorama; personally, never had that problem (although tbh, I don't make a lot of panorama pics).

its nice to be able to go to fresh air again :) nice night time photos .Btw if you are a gamer what games did you play?playing?

Thanks!

I play mostly puzzles and adventures I've found on Steam, but my obsession is an ancient board game called "Go".

i watched hikaro no go , its anime about "go" im more into chess:)

Ah, you are familiar with go. I also learned about go from watching HnG. I also play chess, but that's just an afterthought for me. Miro, my younger son likes chess more than go, while Leo, his big brother likes go.

Were u trying to make the leaning tower of pisa? :D

Well it's almost there, but somewhere along the way it must've gotten confused and thought it was spaghetti instead.

It's probably made from rubber ;)

nice shot with a lovely cool evening. Good to know your health is better.

Glad you feeling a bit better man... Don't push it too hard until you're 100% though hey 😉

@gamer00,
That would be nice photography! I hope now you are 100% recovered! Nice to hear that too!

Really appreciate your effort and thanks for sharing!

Cheers~

Congrats on your recovery process. The photos are really beautiful.

Its nice to hear you feeling better! we dont wanna miss you here on steemit!

Thanks! I don't want to miss a day posting these either. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50