One photo every day: Peekaboo! (36/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

This morning Miro and I were playing about on the living room sofa and suddenly we saw Kiemurainen (Squiggles) sticking its head up from underneath the peat and start staring at us. It was probably waken up by the loud sounds and it wanted to find out what all the fuss was about.

peekaboo
"People are sleeping here, can I get some quiet please?"

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.5
Exposure: 1/60 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200


peekaboo wide

If you are wondering what the "INGMARIINI" margarine case is doing in the snake terrarium, I'll tell ya. It's a hiding place with pure peat inside. Vera cut a hole in the lid so Kiemurainen can easily go in and out. It's not his main shelter, or "home" though, it's got an upside-down strawberry casket for that.

Here's a wider (uncropped) picture where the peat-box is fully visible (on the right):

Do you have snakes or other pets? Any weird or cute ones? Show them all to me! :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Kantelusmeloni & Kaljameloni (35/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)

Minigolf with Miro (15/365)
A stout and paper (16/365)
The quest for the ultimate flim-flam omelette. (17/365)
Sepe (18/365)
Rooster "Mike Monroe" (19/365)
Doing yesterday's dishes and photo. (cheating) (20/365)
Eating trout at Luosto (21/365)
White flower (22/365)
Enjoying the silence over an e-cig and a can of beer. (23/365)
Poison (24/365)
Me and my boys, fresh out of the sauna. (25/365)
Gauges (26/365)
Sweet dreams (27/365)
Maariankämmekkä, Dactylorhiza maculata (28/365)
Toripoliisi (29/365)
Bumblebee (30/365)
Miro's four-leaf clover (31/365)
Couch dwellers. (32/365)
Hard Punch (33/365)
Red Grape with Blue Cheese (34/365)
Kantelusmeloni & Kaljameloni (35/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

beep beep

This guy is very cute. Do you think it recognizes you? I don't have any pets but I'm hoping a goat I got you will arrive to comments soon ;)

I don't know if it recognizes me or if it's just got used to humans, but today when I went to take it out from the terrarium, it no longer got startled or recoiled, but settled for calmly slithering and watching my hand as I then picked it up.

I would bet it still considers the boys a bit too unpredictable and will likely startle if they try to take it in their hands.

And hey thanks for the upgoats. :)

I don't know what's the wait. Seems some kind of automation failure. Give it a day ;)

I didn't even realized that's a snake at first. I'm a simple person, I have a dog, the same dog since I was a kid. :D

Cool. It is an old dog now?

(Prepare yourself, a long story coming up...)

I had a cat once, it adopted me and moved into our apartment (I was living with my parents at the time) and into my room. It never left our yard even while it was never in a leash and we didn't have a gate or anything. It just sort of "guarded" our patio to keep other cats out. :)

It was originally our neighbour's cat (for 8 years), but it left them because they had a 2-year old who was yanking its tail too much, and then later at the end of that summer moved into our flat.

Its name was Romu ("Trash" in English), no idea why it was given to him, neighbour said her ex-boyfriend named it, and she had never told that name to anyone. She was quite puzzled how we came to know its name and even we didn't know where we had heard it.

Romu was a fat cat, he weighed 10 kilograms when he moved to us. After we started feeding him, he started losing some weight and became a "normal sized" cat at 8 kilos. ;) Something in the food I guess.

He was very social cat, he used to talk to me a lot, and purred so loud he could be heard all over our 80m2 apartment wherever he was.

He was also very therapeutic to me, I was diagnosed with depression some years earlier, and during the time he lived with us I would always find solace and comfort in him.

He didn't like my then girlfriend though. I bet he thought she was too loud all the time. She did have a very loud talking voice.

Sadly Romu died two years after he had moved in with us. Cancer got him at 10 years. It completely broke my heart, and afterwards I couldn't go near any cats for my allergies, though never when Romu was around, became so great I would almost suffocate when near a cat, or a dog, or any furry animal actually.

I'm glad my allergies have now eased up a bit though, I can be around animals without getting issues, unless I accidentally touch my eyes after petting an animal.

Squiggles doesn't give me any symptoms though. So that's good I guess. :)

I like long stories. :D
I'm not really good at names either. I called my dog, "dog". I mean, at first it was temporary till I would've find a better name but it remained dog. I was a kid after all :))

That's a fat cat indeed. My last girlfriend had a fat cat and god, it was big.

I'm sorry to hear about the depression thing. I hope you didn't took any pharmaceutical drugs. They are the worse.
It's sad that he had to die. I used to had some kind of allergies too, so my mother didn't let me play with the dog but I played with him anyway.

I enjoyed your story. I really did. You should make a post about it. :)

When a snake goes for a stake out trying to steal the holy grail of margarine.

I love furry animals ;) i have 2 cats and 2 dogs, and if my husband wouldn't stop me the house would be full of animals.... When I was young my dream was to become a vet :)

Here I am today as i promised. But wait, you keep a snake as a pet?? thats wierd. Jajajaja. I dont have a pet, but maybe I will keep a dog. We are together till you achieve 365/365.

Your snake looks awesome. Never seen an orange one :) How long do you have it ?

We've had it since April, but it was donned to the kids already in last November. It was just too cold to move it here in the Winter.

Wait, this snake is not poisonous, right?

Not poisonous and very friendly. :)

You remind me of my little brother. He used to have snakes in his room, but now he replaced it with 4 tarantulas! Crazy I know. I will tell him to buy that "INGMARIINI" margarine so that his spiders will be happy like your lil snake. :D

Haha, thanks. I must say though that the snake belongs to my boys. They got it as a present from their aunt.

What a cool aunt! She probably thought that it's a great prank to give it to the little boys. :))

Yeah, I have an alligator in my bathroom.

My son has a bearded dragon that has been on my blog a time or two:

Iggy__2__MONO__PS__P1080670.jpg

IGGY_1__PS__P1070598.jpg

Yea this guy is familiar. How's it doing?

We have had him from a baby and its been 7 years and its fit as a fiddle!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50