One photo every day: Super Carenar MC f=35mm 1:2.8 (51/365)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Super Carenar MC f=35mm 1:2.8
I am very familiar with this forty-some-years old lens.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/6.3
Exposure: 1/100 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200



Before the last time I suddenly disappeared from the blockchain last Winter, I was doing a project I was supposed to post here on Steem. I was going through the good and bad things on this manual lens, a review of sorts. I was promising to do it "soon" and everything.

But I guess the time wasn't right and the project stagnated. In a matter of fact it is still pretty much frozen, but the good news is it is not lost and forgotten. I have saved everything I wrote into a text file I can edit and eventually copy on Steem.

I have plenty of photos shot with the 35mm, but they were all taken in the winter so I might have to re-do some of them, or wait for the next Winter to come before publishing.

Anyway, today I made some studio shots for the article. I'm still wanting to release the full article, or shorter segments if it if grows too long.

But for now on, I will just try to continue my #threesixtyfive #onephotoeveryday project without too many distractions and maybe if I have the time, tweak and eventually finish the lens review. It may take a while, but I guess this lens that's almost as old as me has learned some patience during these last forty years.


[Previous post: Project 365 // Fifth week in pictures (5/52)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)

Peekaboo! (36/365)
Story of a lonely bench (37/365)
Rehab work, de-stapleizing newspapers. (38/365)
Jackdaw (39/365)
Selfie (40/365)
Playing billiards with my friend Janne (41/365)
A light in the dark (42/365)
Father-Son bonding w/ Leo & waiting for Halloumi burgers (43/365)
Funny chairs (44/365)
First school day (45/365)
At work, gluing samples. (46/365)
Hot (47/365)
Lightning (48/365)
My desktop. (49/365) "1337" post
Reconstructing the crash. (50/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

Looking forward to the review of the lens, and getting to see the images taken with it! Great studio shot of the lens!

Thank you! I'll be looking forward to the review too. Patience. ;)

I do not know much about lenses :) But I hope you still can make some good pics with it because I am enjoying your onephotoeveryday :)

Am expecting the publication. The lens must be an old reliable. Amazing.

Lens is often, apart from photographer's mind, the most important part of equipment ;)

Very essential tool I would say. Otherwise we'd be doing pin-hole photography instead.

I did that, actually. It is not difficult to create a camera that does it. Well, those were still real film times. I also developed my photos back then. If I find some of my pinholes, I ll gladly post them :)

Yeah a 50mm lens is something every photographer needs to have. It is the perfect size to take portrait photo's!

I'd say something between 55 and 150 is good for portraits. 50 works, but you have to be careful to not shoot too close.

50 is in theorie how the eye sees things. So a 50 should be best if handled correctly. But if you want some zoom something between 40 - 80 is best :)

314 to go :)

it was great that you still hold on to the course. Cheers.

But for now on, I will just try to continue my #threesixtyfive #onephotoeveryday project without too many distractions and maybe if I have the time, tweak and eventually finish the lens review.

Perfect Lens you have

Well of course it's not perfect, but it gets the job done, especially with some practice.

If everything was perfect, you would have never learn and you would never grow.

@gamer00
I really like your #onephotoeveryday# posts...
And I like your photograpy..
What is your camera model my dear friend...and how much it..
Happy steeming...keep it up post..
Cheers!...

It's mentioned in the post, but the price I'm not so sure about since the camera itself is already nine years old and not sold in shops anymore.

its wonderfull and hope it was give u some better results from than other @gamer00 and here a quote that the old is gold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63