the Rembrandt's of Electronic Music

in #musicdiscovery6 years ago (edited)

For a long time Techno was considered an underground music style, but by now it seems Techno became mainstream; Something I don't like too much I must admit. Being mainstream means many artists start out with a different mindset; Spotlights, Earning a Living and so on, and maybe in second, third, fourth place: try to create some music. The result is a lot of mediocre and even bad productions and performances. Even some of those artists who created quality music before, demoted themselves by changing their music to what the mass eats, what sells. Artists like Adam Beyer and Richie Hawtin (Plastikman) were my King's of Techno back in the days, but for more than 10 years they are far away from the top of my quality techno pyramid. However, I do appreciate the fact all those techno artists producing and spinning the wheels for no money back in the days, now able to earn a good living from it; One of the good developments of the music genre.

Fortunately quite a few artists are true artists; They stick to what they want to create, regardless if the mass likes it or not. How cool is that!? Sure, many of such artists struggle to make ends meet, but certainly quite a few find their ways to make a very decent living from it.

Nothing wrong trying to be a Rembrandt, a quality painter who knew how to earn a living. One can be a Vincent van Gogh, but then it'll be very difficult to survive.

Artists of which I love their work, I give a spot in my @qsounds channel. This channel doesn't only cover Techno, but electronic music in it's widest definition, from dance music to experimental, pop-ish and even classical music. You'll be able to find some none electronic music as well.


Some of my Favourites

Björk - Vulnicura (2015) ... album | play | post
Etienne Jaumet - RBMA (2016) ... set | play | post
Heiko Laux - Fernweh (2014) ... album | play | post
Hooverphonic - The Magnificent Tree (2000) ... album | play | post
HVOB - Burning Man (2016) ... set | play | post
James Blake - James Blake (2011) ... album | play | post
Joris Voorn - Nobody Knows (2014) ... album | play | post
Kate Bush - A Sea Of Honey (2005) ... album | play | post
Kraftwerk - The Man-Machine (1978/2009) ... album | play | post
Lana del Rey - Born to Die - the Paradise Edition (2012) ... album | play | post
Lanoche - Madrid Suena | Veranos de la Villa (2017) ... set | play | post
Little People - We Are But Hunks of Wood (2012) ... album | play | post
Mark Knopfler - Cal OST (1984) ... album | play | post
Massive Attack - Mezzanine (1998) ... album | play | post
Minilogue - Blomma (2013) ... album | play | post
Pantha Du Prince - This Bliss (2007) ... album | play | post
Petar Dundov - Be-at.tv (2017) ... set | play | post
Ricardo Villalobos - Bionic Sad (2016) ... track | play | post
Ryuichi Sakamoto - Async (2017) ... album | play | post
Steve Rachmad aka Sterac - Movement Detroit (2017) ... set | play | post
Talk Talk - Laughing Stock (1991) ... album | play | post
Ulrich Schnauss - Far Away Trains Passing By (2008) ... album | play | post

NJOY

follow me @edje
check out my music channel @qsounds

Sort:  

Fantastic list!

For me I would add:

The Prodigy
Skinny Puppy
Psychic TV
Jarre
Tangerine Dream
Gary Numan
NIN
Front 242
Cabaret Voltaire
Banco De Gaia

You made the fantastic list even bigger. Great bands in here...

@edje has really got the gears turning in me and I missed so many! I have to mention:

Underworld
The Chemical Brothers
The Crystal Method

....or I won't be able to sleep at night!

these three I have in my collection (of course)...F242 is also one of my favo's

Front 242 - awesome! Nobody did rhythms like they did! Amazing live too in a small venue.

Did you know that they have/had side projects?

  • nothing but noise
  • underviewer
  • Really like the "Nothing but Noise"!

    You just made my day! I feel a mixed tape coming on.

    Owww, you certainly have some gold in your list!

    Even though I have never met you in person, I think we know each other at a musical level. Music means so much to my perception of life and the different eras of my life!

    I am very happy to be writing music again and I owe it to @dsound for giving me a reason to!

    It is very interesting to see what things like dsounds for you, and Steemit for me can do. I never was into blogging, and now am writing about all sort of things including music and also support the Steemit music community through my activities for @illuminati-inc. Takes a lot of time, but I seem not be able to not do it; "I must like it" is my conclusion :)

    Too funny. My last social media experience was MySpace! This is so much better. I don't earn much and it is a grind sometimes, but it is addictive!

    Wat een lijst!! En er zitten er meerdere tussen waar ik nog nooit van gehoord had.
    Bedankt om ze onder de aandacht te brengen (vooral voor mijn dan ;-) )

    Ik heb nog meer voor je: alles wat ik gepost heb tot 5 maanden geleden. Moet nog een keer deze lijst updaten met alles van laatste maanden, echter Steem blockchain laat niet toe om alles in 1 post te zetten, teveel content :( https://steemit.com/explore/@edje/bored-why-not-please-your-mind

    Waauw... wat een lijst...
    Straf dat ik die gemist heb...
    Tangerine dream & J.M. Jarre waren voor mij de eerste contacten met electronische muziek. Als hardrock-fan konden mijn vrienden mij niet begrijpen dat ik dat toen goed vond...heb het me niet aangetrokken, ik vond, en vind nog, dat je voor alle muziek moet openstaan. Je kan natuurlijk niet alles goed vinden...

    Helemaal mee eens, openstaan voor muziek betekend iig dat je begrip kunt krijgen voor wat anderen goed kunnen vinden zonder dat je het zelf prettig hoeft te vinden. Er waren in verre verleden al festivals die met name rock en electronische muziek (vaak Techno) combineerde; wel op verschillende stages. Tegenwoordig zie je dit vaker, meer de dorps festivals waar EN bandjes EN electronische muziek stages te vinden zijn. Ik vindt het alleen maar goed, zo worden meer mensen blootgesteld aan muziek waar ze in eerste instantie niet voor zouden kiezen.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.15
    JST 0.028
    BTC 63177.41
    ETH 2439.37
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.58