❓ Answering Common Questions: What is Steemit Local Music Society? 🎶

in #steem-help7 years ago

I'm a singer, a musician, in a band, a DJ, a producer...how can Steemit help progress my passion?

This community is all about bringing people together and helping each other up! It's precisely embodied in this group geared to the Music Community!

Have you found it difficult to get your music, band, etc noticed here on Steemit? Have you been looking for a way to easily find and interact with other musicians on here? If so...this is for YOU!!

Q: So what exactly is Steemit Local Music Society?

The Steemit Local Music Society is a group that was put together by the famous @jessamynorchard to help bring together everybody in, or wanting to be a part of the music community here. While it easily runs hand in hand with the @music-trail curation group...this specifically focuses on making it easier for those in different roles (i.e. musician vs songwriter vs producer) in contact with those of similar experience or desire.

They provide a TON of different channels withing their Steemit Local Music Society Discord. So you can easily meet others that are vocalists, into hiphop, in bands, submitting to the most recent Weekly Open Mic Night contest ran by @luzcypher and more!

If you want to read a bit more on this, you can find their Announcement Post Here:

https://steemit.com/music/@jessamynorchard/steemit-music-community-unite-join-the-steemit-local-music-society-launches-now-on-discord-includes-invite-code

Q: How do I join?

This on is easy...just join their Discord by clicking HERE: https://discord.gg/Azeh6sx . I highly recommend putting a little something in their "Introduce yourself to the community" channel to let them know a bit about yourself as well as easily get noticed.

It's already jam packed with TONS of top notch Steemit musicians, producers, etc including:
@jessamynorchard
@soundlegion
@luzcypher
@harrisonmir
@Mattie.B-Leaver
and many many more!!

Hop on over there to meet some great people, get and give advice, find and show off your work...and so many more endless opportunities just by clicking:

https://discord.gg/Azeh6sx

Q: I'm new to Steemit but been into music for a long time. Can this help me?

ABSOLUTELY!! Sometimes it can be hard to find and get noticed by others on Steemit that are into the same things you are. Eventually we will have more formalized communities on here (like subreddits on Reddit) but this is a wonderful substitute until (and once) that happens.

Joining their Discord group lets you directly meet and talk with other Steemit Music oriented people both through text AND voice chat. You also are directly in front of people who honestly care about their own passions as well as helping others progress their own. Rather than being one post among huge lists of posts...hop in here to be easily connected to people that share your interests!!

Q: Will this group give me upvotes on my work?

The short answer is maybe, but it's not why they're here.

There are already music curators around Steemit who focus more on providing these upvotes. This group is more about the community itself, connecting people and helping each other outside of the money. So, while you may get some upvotes from people in this group, it's the wrong mind set to have when first joining there.

These are people who can help refine your craft, better market or get exposed to the Steemit community, provide technical advice and easily connect you with other passionate musicians.

Q: Can I share cool things I've found online here?

This really isn't the place for that. When you look through the #music tag here on Steemit there is a lot of this, making it somewhat hard to find the more original work created by our community members.

So while it may be acceptable to link something off the web that's not yours in a conversation...it's best to only link things that are by your or other Steemit users.

Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓ Answering Common Questions: What is BitShares? 💱

❓ Answering Common Questions: What is SteemitBoard? 🏆

❓Answering Common Questions: Where's my payout going?!?! It's Going Down!! 👇

!!SPECIAL!!❓Answering Common Questions: What questions do YOU have?❓!!SPECIAL!!

❓Answering Common Questions: What Tags should I use? 📛

🎮 Attention Gamers!! How To Embed Your Live Gaming Stream directly into Your Steemit Post! 🎮

❓Answering Common Questions: How do people align things? How do I get those fancy designs between paragraphs? 🎭

❓Answering Common Questions: Wow! Why did my payouts go WAY up? What's this hardfork I keep hearing about? 🍴

❓Answering Common Questions: How NOT to gain Meaningful Votes or Good Followers! 💩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can you explain how Powering Down works to me? 🔌

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get a Video I have on Fakebook, err Facebook, onto Steemit? 🎥

❓Answering Common Questions: What's this Promoted tab? Should I use it? ⏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I know if I got Flagged? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can I voice chat with Steemians? Learn how and where to Discord! 🎤

❓Answering Common Questions: What is STP (Steemit Talk Podcast)? 🎧

❓Answering Common Questions: I've heard Steemit is Censorship Resistant, What does that mean? 🚫

❓Answering Common Questions: What is @Randowhale? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I spend money from my Steemit wallet? 💲

❓Answering Common Questions: What are flags and downvotes? When should they be used? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: How can I see who last Resteemed, Followed me or How much my Pending Payouts are?

❓Answering Common Questions: What is SteemTrail? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:

Sort:  

good post @sykochica!

And for the Hip-Hop heads, make sure ya'll join the Hip-Hop discussion room that is moderated by me... if you're into Hip-Hop we're doing live rap battles in the voice chat soon too.

Thank you!!
And for those of you that are interested..here is the latest RAP BATTLE post with 200 SBD in prizes, if you want to take part!! It has everything you'll need to know!

https://steemit.com/rapchallenge/@rondonson/steemit-rap-challenge-week-3-submission-thread-r-i-p-prodigy

This is a really great initiative and way to mingle with musicians on Steemit. It's amazing how fast it is growing and all of the talent on Steemit blows me away.

I love running the Steemit Open Mic contest and appreciate the mention in your post. Your posts have helped me so much and I link to them all the time and refer people to your posts when they have questions you answer so well.

Thanks for all you do for the community.

I totally agree! It's a great supplement to go with things like the open mic night for those into music. Coordinating both of these initiatives have to take some time and effort, but also soooooo worth it for the community! :D

I'm happy to give it a mention...you'll probably see a post that hightlights it on it's own in the near future..it deserves more than than couple lines.

And thank you! It's a double win in that I rather enjoy writing stuff like these as well as having easy reference to link others, saving us all some much needed time. :)

Exactly. I use your posts to answer questions people have all the time.

Nice initiative, hope it works out :)

This is a great attraction to talented Musicians . I even see rap battle contests going on in a steemit now I like seeing the community grow

Upvoted. Musicians are unsung heroes.

i think that is a good thing to build a musician community, steemit is a good place for musician to make relationships and work together.

Good luck

It's a great initiative and so happy to be part of it!

thanks for this post - i linked up on discord and hope to be invited to share some music with you all soon - i followed you too so will be looking out for your posts

This is very helpful @sykochica thank you for the guide and all the best in your music career

GIF.gif

Thank you!
I should say though that I really don't consider myself a musician, though I do love hitting my drum and singing when nobody is around. Lol. But I am trying to help them out by playing a bit of an advisory role on this. I truly want to see it succeed.

How fun to know about the Music Society and Open Mic options through SteemIt. I will keep that in mind in the future. Thank you for all of the Helpful Posts for Newbies. I think I'm on information overload! Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54