❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get a Video I have on Fakebook, err Facebook, onto Steemit? 🎥

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

I'm sure many of us have been there. A great video that you want out of the grips of the of the giant soul sucking Conglomerate?

It's really quite easy, especially after doing it a time or two. Use this little trick to "Stick it to the Man" and reclaim your greatest moments on film. (Yes, yes, I know it's not actually film anymore.) I do need to mention this ONLY works for videos you are able to actually see yourself. Obviously if a video if private to you too, this won't work.

  • Goto the video you want to download on Fakebook and click it open. (They're listed in the videos album inside your photo section.)

  • Right click on the video and click "Show Video URL." This will pop up a little box with the web address..highlight and copy this.

  • Paste this URL/Web Address into the top of your browser window. Then change the www part to m and hit enter. So the beginning will look like https://m.facebook.com/blahblahblah.

  • You'll now being seeing the video again, though the dimensions are a little different. First press play and then right click on the video to have a little box pop up with many options. Select Save video as..

  • In the box that pops up, just name it whatever you want, select where on your computer to put it (i.e. desktop, video folder, etc).

  • Now just upload it to your Youtube page. To do this, sign in to your Youtube account and the click the little up arrow at the top of the screen.

  • Either drag and drop the file or click on the gray arrow in the middle of the screen to be able to browse your computer for it. When it's done just hit publish and you can copy the video's Youtube link (or embed code) into your Steemit post!

Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I know if I got Flagged? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can I voice chat with Steemians? Learn how and where to Discord! 🎤

❓Answering Common Questions: What is STP (Steemit Talk Podcast)? 🎧

❓Answering Common Questions: I've heard Steemit is Censorship Resistant, What does that mean? 🚫

❓Answering Common Questions: What is @Randowhale? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I spend money from my Steemit wallet? 💲

❓Answering Common Questions: What are flags and downvotes? When should they be used? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: How can I see who last Resteemed, Followed me or How much my Pending Payouts are?

❓Answering Common Questions: What is SteemTrail? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
No Facebook

Sort:  

There is a slightly easier way. Use the chrome extension at https://fbdownloader.info/ - it gives you the video download button in your news feed which saves a couple of steps.

Nice! I'll definitely check that out...ty! :D

Nice trick, didn't know it could be done. I would add more your Q&A posts like this to steem.center, but there are no pages for them in "to create" list.

I know they've been linking some of these in there. Just leave a comment on a @steemcenterwiki post with the pages you're wanting to make...I believe they can get them created for you. :)

Thanks for the tip! :)

💣💥⌨️💻🎥📹thx

🙈🙉🙊 🐱
Hehe...you're very welcome. Love the use of the emojis there!

🙌🏼🙌🏼thx

Nice tutorial!
Here's the link to the video @sykochica used in her example in this post.

Hehe..I didn't think you'd mind some extra exposure for that post. :P

This is nice to know indeed ...thank you !
Concerning videos, is Youtube a must to have a video in our post ? No possibilities to upload vid files or did I miss something..?

Unfortunately there's not a way to directly upload video's to Steemit...yet. There is something being worked on but I'm not sure when it's planned to be done.

We can of course always put links into our posts, but to get the video to actually embed..the only options at the moment are YouTube and Vimeo.

I was about to look after it lol!!

it's really easier that i though Thank you for the informative post, it will surely hellp a lot of newbe like me ^^

Hehe..I figured this'd come up for some of us.
Happy to save people from Fakebook one at a time. :P

Thank you for sharing step by step easy to understand👍🏻🙏 great job👍🏻

Happy to be helping out! :D
Thank you!

Whats the best way to add videos from my computer to my post?

This is a really great trick! Thank you for sharing this to us. It would be nice to put up some videos on our blogs!

Excellent guide - re-steemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54