❓Answering Common Questions: What is @Randowhale? 🐳

in #steem-help7 years ago

Some call it good. Some call it bad. But it's no doubt Fun!

Last week a new account called @randowhale was created made an immediate splash! Originally it was funded with about 250,000 Steem Power, it's up to 500,000 SP! But this isn't your standard whale...it's a cyborg! Muuaahahaha!

But more seriously...it quickly got attention with many users sending money from their wallets to get an upvote. Some people are big fans of this. Some have been calling foul with it being vote buying. Admittedly I've had fun having it upvote some of my own stuff as well as other peoples posts.

Q: What is @randowhale?

Long story short...send it Steem or Steem Dollars and get a whale vote at a random percentage.

Q: How exactly does this work?

If you have a post you would like to see get a whale upvote:

  • Transfer 2 Steem or 2 Steem Dollars to @randowhale (NOT @randoMwhale!)**
  • Put the link of the post you want upvoted into the memo field (in the transfer box)
  • Receive a vote between 1% and 50% vote strength (i.e. the slider bar)
  • @Randowhale can only cast one vote (I don't think you can send $ again for a better 'roll' if you get a low one. Though I've not tested this yet to be sure.)

Q: Is it worth it?

There are a few factors that effect this:

  • How much you're post payout is (higher payouts get larger effect from this.)
  • The vote power % of @randowhale (which you can check here: www.steemd.com/@randowhale)
  • What vote % you receive

Q: Can I have @randowhale upvote posts of other people?

ABSOLUTELY! This is one of my favorite parts about it! There's not a much better feeling when you get to 'be a whale' (if you are lucky with a high % vote) on somebody else's post!

Q: Is this vote buying?

While it's new and fun...I still have to say yes. It's pretty much the definition of it. For a long time that's been something frowned upon by the community at large, but I've seen what's acceptable evolve over time on here. Many months ago, making 'betting' posts (like @steemsports) wasn't bound to get flags, but there was a turning point where it did become acceptable.

Q: Is there anything I shouldn't do with @randowhale?

This is worth saying again. DO NOT send your money to @randomwhale!!! The account for this is @randowhale (with no M)! The Random Whale account was created by somebody else to purposely try to get you to send your fund to it. It will not vote for you (at least with any meaningful SP if it actually did) NOR will it return your money! This is purely someone trying to SCAM you!!

Q: Who created, runs and/or funds @randowhale?

No idea. I have my guesses, but that's about it.

Q: What's @sykochica's take on @randowhale?

I'll admit that there are ways people could try to take advantage of @randowhale. While allowed, those with the highest payouts can make then even bigger (remember the higher the payout the larger the $ increase from this vote.) Now, we've already seen it be tweaked by only allowing votes between 1-50% (it was 1-100%) increase the cost to 2 Steem/SBD (it was 1), and double the Steem Power it holds up to 500,000.

Now, I do think that it has provided a different and fun spark for this place. It's nice to some degree be able to spend a little bit to get a whale vote cast where you choose it to go. But there are limits to what @randowhale can do since too many votes over a period of time will drain it's vote power to a point that it may not be worth it (at least until the vote power % regenerates.)

While this is somewhat similar to the new #whaleshares project, I do think there would be room for both of them. They each would have their uses and elements of fun. As a crude analogy I view @randowhale as paying for a lottery ticket and #whaleshares as paying for a food-stamp. (Yes, I know people don't actually pay for food-stamps. Call it a bonus multiplier if you want to.) I rather to expect to see both take their place in the community.

On the aspect of vote buying, I somewhat view this as a means for whales to actually make a return on their Steem Power (outside Steem price going up.) They lost their massive 'interest' to cover inflation, to some degree too a hit on curation rewards since having to reduce their voting power on votes (and overall r-shares), so it doesn't bug me a lot if they have a way to make something while being willing to hold their Steem Power.

As a final thought, there is always a way for users to exploit and abuse parts of Steemit. These projects are no different! Like everything else in the world, I expect things to be imperfect at the start...ideally getting tweaked along the way. As long as I see this sort of progress to close/reduce the ability to abuse, I'm OK seeing where these projects go from here. I'm sure it'll get thrown out "What if @randowhale can only vote on other people's posts?" Even then..talk of abuse can happen when people just vote up accounts also owned by them, or friends just having it upvote each other.

[NOTE: I know many Steemit users have passionate feelings against these projects. I can understand where you are coming from. This is simply my personal take on it, at least for now.]


Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I spend money from my Steemit wallet? 💲

❓Answering Common Questions: What are flags and downvotes? When should they be used? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: How can I see who last Resteemed, Followed me or How much my Pending Payouts are?

❓Answering Common Questions: What is SteemTrail? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Whale
Robo Whale

Sort:  

Resteemed by @resteemable

Awesome!! Thank you! :D

I'm happy to see you got this up and running!! :D

I had a good time with it.
No problem! :)

👍👍👍 Thank you for the info about @randowhale. I 1st heard about it last night. I may try if I can enough SBD to participate. I just started 3 weeks ago, what was most helpful is your section on "Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies". This is a great resource, I bookmarked it so I can use at a reference source.

Thanks again!👍👍👍

I won't equate @randowhale to a lottery; I'd rather call post Promote as the true lottery. At least with randowhale you know you will get one upvote for sure :)

True, they both have there chance of being 'worthwhile' for the cost. But yea, you are assured of something with randowhale.

Thanks for this post @sykochica You answered a few of my questions as to how it works. I see you warn your readers about the exact mistake I made...when you can, see my latest post, and maybe re-steem when you can so others don't make the same mistake either. Thanks again.

i think someone might have hit up one of my posts with random whale lol
100_0123.JPG

Nice post @sykochica, guess what? I'll translate it!

I discovered randowhale one day after it was created, I was aware that it depended on the post payout(mine were low) but it might still be worth it, i tried it and recieve a 94% Upvote!

I preferred @randowhale when it was doing up to 100% I have to say! I'm still in love though as he was the topic of my highest rewarded post to date!

I can understand that. I had seen it that first day or so when it was that way..also only cost 1 steem./sbd.

However, they did double the SP in there to mostly offset the 50% max vote, but yea..it was more fun before. But I don't blame them for the change since it was draining the vote power % a bit too fast.

Never even heard about it before.
Already tried that twice, it's funny :D

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54