❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

The Guides and Faq's are Great...but I Still Need some Help.

Often there is a gap between generalized information we get from guides and the more concrete suggestions that are needed. Have you found yourself wishing that there was a veteran Steemit user willing to give you some one-on-one mentoring time. Well this is your chance! I'm donating some time each week to give personalized help!

Q: How much time are you donating @sykochica?

My life has been pretty busy lately, so for right now I'm looking to spend 1-2 hours a week ( 2 weeks max) to give personalized help to 2-4 people (about 15-30 minutes a piece.) Depending on your preference, we can meet in steemit.chat and/or discord. Typically these sessions were to either answer questions or have me look over your blog and give you very concrete suggestions.

Q: How can I put my name in to get some help or one-on-one Mentoring?

Feel free to ask any questions you have in this posts comments and I'm happy to get answers for you. If you did want some one-on-one time, just leave a comment on this post.

Q: I'd like to be a Steemit Mentor...can I help with this?

Absolutely! Please get in touch with me on steemit.chat or discord. If this is anything like when Steemprentice Mentor group was active, there will be plenty of people in need. Since I doubt I'll be able to meet demand in a reasonable time frame (nobody wants to wait weeks) anyone willing to donate some of their time is greatly appreciated.

Q: Is it first come first serve? Or is there some other factor in deciding who gets Mentoring time first?

I'd prefer to first focus on people that have been here for some time (1 month or more) since they've spent time ramping up on their own. But at the start, we'll just have to see what sort of response we get for this and adapt it.

I do want everybody that wants it, to be able to quickly get some one-on-one mentoring time. But I also have to recognize my own time limitations and prevent burning out (which has happened before.)

Q: Will Mentor sessions be made into posts?

If acceptable with the Mentee, I would like Mentors to be able to post on what was covered as well as the suggestions that were given. The Mentor could then choose to publish it for a couple reasons...

  • Since it can be quite helpful for others to see the concrete suggestions and possibly some of the analysis behind them.
  • As a means of mentors being appreciated with an upvote, or even a bit of a Whaleshare tip.
  • It gives people that don't normally post another way to make money..if they're a good mentor.

Q: What should I NOT expect from a Steemit Mentor?

  • First off, mentoring does NOT mean we will give you votes on everything. It may happen, but it's not the focus of being a mentor. We are there to help you become a better writer, marketer and Steemian.
  • While mentors do care, we've got our own things going on. So while we are willing to devote the 15-30 minutes to you, we may not always be able to to respond to things quickly outside of that.
  • New users HAVE to be willing to put in some effort on their own first. This means for at least a while, reading posts, guides, writing articles, comments, etc...basically find what you're capable of on your own first. Let's say minimum of 1 month on Steemit.

Q: How long will this Mentoring offer go on?

For now I really need to play it by ear. It depends on how things go, how many requests are made, how many Mentors offer their time, etc. View this as a test that will take one to two weeks.

Ideally, if I'm not able to get to somebody in a reasonable amount of time, another mentor is able to. I know there are a LOT of of new people on here. I also remember the amazement of finding how much there is to learn. (If you want to.)

Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Mentor

Sort:  

As a newcomer to Steemit and crypto in general, I find I'm constantly feeling a sense of being overwhelmed and in the shadow of the big players. One of Steemit's strengths must surely be the fact that it provides a platform to interact with those more experienced, and that Steemians like @sykochica find it worth their while to help the inexperienced. The crypto drew me here, but the promise of community is making me stay. Steem on!

Keep up the great work and let me know if I may be of assistance.
I have whaleshares potentially available and invite people to sign up to bitshares.

You're most welcome! :D

Great initiative, it was something i actually recommended/hoped for when i joined a month ago!

@sykochica thank you for caring so much about this beautiful community. Mentor on!

Hi @sykochica , thank you for the kind offer of your time. 6/11 will be my 1 month mark. I am seeing 155 followers and halfway to a rep of 47 with account 'value' showing 36 bones. How am I doing? My #1 question area is - is there a conservative formula / guess-timate / percent you recommend in holding STEEM, STEEM POWER, STEEM DOLLARS ? At present with SBD value about $2.00 I am converting as much as I possibly can via the Market Tool to STEEM POWER to get me to the 300 mark. Does this make the most sense initially if I am in for the long haul? Your assistance / direction is SO much appreciated! ~ B'Lance :o)

Oh nice!! Those are some pretty good numbers for not quite a month on here.

Umm, it's always hard saying exactly what others should do with their money. When I first started, I pretty much powered up everything I made for about 3 months which got me a semi-decent chunk of SP. Personally, I really like having my SP up so I can give a little bit of $ with my votes as well as it lets me earn about 10ish SP a week in curation without even trying. So, to some degree, if you're loong on Steemit, you can earn some extra with your SP.

Also with the powerdown period only being 13 weeks, keeping stuff powered up isn't as big a deal compared to the 2 years it used to be 'locked in'.

Did that sorta answer your question?

Yes! Thank you for your time and advisement @sykochica ! Makes good sense and I really appreciate it.

While I've only been around for a few days, I've picked up quite a bit from the guides you and others have posted.

I imagine i could use some 1on1 time in a few weeks if you're up for it!

I'm glad to be helpful! :D And that sounds good.
In the mean time, feel free to ask questions on my posts. They don't have to match the topic I have in there. Even though it may take me a little bit..I really try to make sure I answer every question. :)

Works for me! Thanks.

Yes... become a mentor is not merely mean to give vote only. I usually give one or two votes for my followers, because there are many my followers make more than 3 posting every day. So I must wisely to use my vote power, so I can vote for other. Nice posting :)

another great Steemian stepping up to offer help to the new users, good on you @sykochica!

Minnows UNITE!

Thank you!
I'm a huge fan of minnows. Their 'new to Steemit' excitement is really hard to match!
I also remember the HUGE help #minnowsunite was to me when starting off. They are a fantastic group! @cryptohustlin is the bomb :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71