❓ Answering Common Questions: What is BitShares? 💱

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

It's a cryptocurrency, that let's you make your own cryptocurrency!

This is where things get interesting!!

First of, it's worth mentioning that before starting Steem (and Steemit), one of our founders named @Dan Larimer, created and worked with #Bitshares. Now, he's been kicking off his new project @eosio.

Quoting @MrWang: Bitshares is like Steemits older brother!

Bitshares is one of the many cryptocurrencies out there that we are able buy and sell like the others. But as always, each project has aspects that makes it useful and drives it's value. While I don't want to get too in depth since I write these for newbies, I do at least want to highlight a few aspects that makes it interesting and stand out a bit.

Q: Is Bitshares just a currency to be traded?

While Bitshares can be bought and sold, the platform also lets you make your own coins. We've already had many Steemians make use of this feature such as:

  • A more recent addition, many of you may know...Whaleshares. Each Whaleshares token you turn in gets you a 1% upvote from a whale (right now @officialfuzzy) on any post you want! Turn in more tokens, get higher percentages! While these a few of these coins can be found for sale on the BitShares exchange, most of them are won or earned! You can read more about Whaleshares HERE or even hop in their discord HERE.

  • @Steem-trail's Trail-Coin that is given out to it's curators, those that get voted on by them and even for writing posts for your trail! You can find out more about @steem-trail HERE or about the Trail-coin HERE.

  • @MrWang's Wangchange which lets you be eligible for share drops (i.e. giving away money) as well as Wangcents which can be earned by finding easter eggs within his content (so look carefully!) You can read more about these HERE and HERE.

  • And sometimes there are coins like @virtualgrowth's Virgrow coin that hasn't quite settled in on a specific use. Yet it still holds a value a bit over $20 USD and handed out for free, along with many other coins in his Daily Coin Give Away Posts. That's right folks...just vote for the coin you want in the comments, provide your BitShares wallet address and that's it!

The BitShares platform provides a feature known as "user-issued assets" to help facilitate profitable business models for certain types of services. The term refers to a type of custom token registered on the platform, which users can hold and trade within certain restrictions. The creator of such an asset publically names, describes, and distributes its tokens, and can specify customized requirements, such as an approved whitelist of accounts permitted to hold the tokens, or the associated trading and transfer fees.
-BitShares.org

Q: What's this Bitshares exchange you keep mentioning?

First off, you've may have been hearing of the issues many people have been having with the (centralized) Poloniex cryptocurrency exchange lately with it crashing, money being held in limbo, shutting down certain currency transfers for a time and sometimes even worse. **You won't run into these problems over on the (Decentralized) BitShares exchange.

Not only can you still trade for the better known crypto's, you'll also be able to do so for these user created coins (User Issued Assets.) With it's Decentralized setup, you not only won't have issues you can find elsewhere, but you also typically have 3 second transaction times!

Throughout history, centralized exchanges have repeatedly proven unreliable and untrustworthy. Whether it is MF Global, Mt. Gox, or BitStamp, many people have been cheated because they allowed a 3rd party to hold their funds. It doesn’t matter how big they are, or how many auditors, regulators or insurers are involved, every kind of fraud, abuse, and theft can occur. In the modern financial system, these transgressions happen all too frequently within centralized banks and exchanges operating across the world.
-BitShares.org

Q: What was this all made for?

The general idea is that for most businesses to take payments outside of cash, required some sort of bank or credit card provider service. But by using the BitShares blockchain, a business won't need to use these "normal" routes of holding, handling, spending and receiving money. As time goes on, more and more people have become quite disgusted with greed of these institutions and how they are run. With the features within BitShares, people can run their business without being charged fees out the wazoo or being controlled with threats of being frozen or shut down. As with most of @Dan Larimer's projects, the core ideal is rooted in achieving Life, Liberty and Property.

BitShares looks to extend the innovation of the blockchain to all industries that rely upon the internet to provide their services. Whether its banking, stock exchanges, lotteries, voting, music, auctions or many others, a digital public ledger allows for the creation of distributed autonomous companies (or DACs) that provide better quality services at a fraction of the cost incurred by their more traditional, centralized counterparts.
-BitShares.eu

If you would like to learn more, check out:

Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓ Answering Common Questions: What is SteemitBoard? 🏆

❓Answering Common Questions: Where's my payout going?!?! It's Going Down!! 👇

!!SPECIAL!!❓Answering Common Questions: What questions do YOU have?❓!!SPECIAL!!

❓Answering Common Questions: What Tags should I use? 📛

🎮 Attention Gamers!! How To Embed Your Live Gaming Stream directly into Your Steemit Post! 🎮

❓Answering Common Questions: How do people align things? How do I get those fancy designs between paragraphs? 🎭

❓Answering Common Questions: Wow! Why did my payouts go WAY up? What's this hardfork I keep hearing about? 🍴

❓Answering Common Questions: How NOT to gain Meaningful Votes or Good Followers! 💩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can you explain how Powering Down works to me? 🔌

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I get a Video I have on Fakebook, err Facebook, onto Steemit? 🎥

❓Answering Common Questions: What's this Promoted tab? Should I use it? ⏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I know if I got Flagged? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: Can I voice chat with Steemians? Learn how and where to Discord! 🎤

❓Answering Common Questions: What is STP (Steemit Talk Podcast)? 🎧

❓Answering Common Questions: I've heard Steemit is Censorship Resistant, What does that mean? 🚫

❓Answering Common Questions: What is @Randowhale? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I spend money from my Steemit wallet? 💲

❓Answering Common Questions: What are flags and downvotes? When should they be used? 🚩

❓Answering Common Questions: How can I see who last Resteemed, Followed me or How much my Pending Payouts are?

❓Answering Common Questions: What is SteemTrail? 🐳

❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Bitshares Logo

Sort:  

Thank you for continuing to grow your Steemit Guides for everyone. I started watching the Whaleshares #41 last night and will continue today. So much great information, you are all a trip to listen too. :-)

Hehe..I love doing these..such a great win/win in my eyes. I'm a big fan of whaleshares and can't wait to see how it scales up from here!

...you are all a trip to listen too. :-)

Hehe, thank you! We have fun with these. :)

For sure! I just won my first whaleshares in a photo contest the other day. I look forward to putting them to good use.

Good post and Important Info
Thanks for sharing

This comment has received a 0.06 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Another nice guide @sykochica ! Thank you for putting it together. I was looking for more info on bitshares myself as well for some time now :)

Nice post. I believe BTS will be a lucrative investment. I add to my position every week.

Thanks, I am getting interested in bitshares.

Going to spending some time reviewing the information on this post.
Thanks, need to really start getting more into this before I get left behind

That is, it is a personal bank for everyone, do I understand correctly?

It can serve that function...yes.

I didn't know bitshares was this cool, very informative, thanks!

Good summary. I think Bitshares is much like Steemit, hugely useful but still pre-adoption. It could be a wild ride if all the advantages catch on.

Good stuff.. would make a nice video too

I really wanted to add your video on in here..but figured better to just try to direct them to your post with it. :)

You really did a fantastic job on it!

Thanks homie.. you can add if you like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54