❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

Does the reward go somewhere? How about rep? Does it cost you voting power?

One question I've had come up semi-frequently from Steemians is around what happens when you vote on a post that is past it's payout. Because we see our vote go through...but the payouts closed! So how does this work?

Q: Does my vote give any reward to a post past the 7 day payout period? If so, does the author get it or does it go somewhere else?

This one's pretty straight forward. The answer is no. If you vote on a post with a closed payout you give zero reward to that post. This also doesn't effect the reward pool in anyway.

Q: Do I get curation rewards if I voted on a post that was past payout?

Unfortunately no. The curators cut was already paid out and no future votes get any curation reward.

Q: Does voting on a post drain my voting power? or put another way...does it count as one of my forty votes a day?

Yes. When you vote on a post, regardless of the scenario, your voting power percentage will decrease (about 0.5%.) Even if you un-vote somebody, you don't get it returned.

Q: Does voting after a posts payout has closed effect reputation?

This one has actually been tricky to get a well sourced answer on. My understanding is that a vote at any time, even past payout WILL effect reputation...both up or down (if it's a downvote.)

Q: So why do they even allow votes after the post was paid?

This has changed a couple of times over the last year, with there being points that no votes were accepted once it closed. Now, it's only rewards and resteems that close, but votes and commenting are left open.

The underlying idea is that it's still nice to see when you get a vote on something from waaaaaay back when. You know people are actually reading it (likely) at that point. This also lets the voter have that opportunity to give their support, even if it doesn't end up being monetary.

Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
Closed Sign

Sort:  

Sorry for off-topic. I'm not getting anything on my balance. Am I blacklisted or flagged or something? Where can I check this out? Not a single curation reward, no speak about post rewards. I know they are small but has anyone the same problem? I have 1 or 2 sbd in conversion (mistake I know).
Please?

Off topic is no problem.
I'm not quite seeing the issue at first glance since I saw entries under your rewards, claimed rewards and even a transfer to poloniex.

Is there a specific post or something I might look at?

I'm just on my phone right now, but can take another look when I'm home on my desktop.

Now, it's only comments and resteems close, but votes are left open.

No monetary rewards given upvoting an old post past its 7 days payout, seems understandable.
But C'mon, Not allow comments on those same old posts ¡SOUNDS PLAIN MORONIC! ¡Wadda Hell!

¡Upvoted & Resteemed! to rise awareness about this issue. }:)

I mis spoke on the comment aspects and edited it in the post. While comments used to close, now they do remain open.

Only things that close are post rewards and resteeming it.

Oh! Thank you very much for the clarification dear.
I was already dusting my whip to write & perpetrate the most frightening post ever seen on steemit. LOL

i comment on old posts that i find in the search function... Not allowing a post to "live again" seems counterproductive, to Steemit's potential to be a Resource of information, experience, and knowledge... Opportunities for secondary, residual income from old posts; could really work out for people who have provided a post that continues to help people.. like this one for instance..

very helpful article

Thanks for the Q&A, I think we're all still figuring the finer details of Steemit, even after being on and active for a while. @ironshield

Thanks for making this guide and your others @sykochica. I've used them to greatly increase the quality of my posts and Steemit experience. This had been one of those questions I had in my head.

It seems the purpose of being able to vote after a payout has been made is the same purpose that upvoting a several year old post on Reddit has, as you said, to show that someone appreciates the post still.

So, testing a theory here... If comments are closed, then I wont be able to post this one... If they are open (since the reply button is still here) then will upvotes on my late AF comment still be eligible for reward?

I Guess We'll See!

Looks good so far!

Wow... You have some great articles!
Upvoted resteemed
Following!
Thank you for all the help you are giving!
🤠
Namaste

Thank you! I love helping others out. Even if it does stretch me thin at times.

Always feel free to ask questions. I really try to answer all of them, even if it takes me a couple days.

Thanks for the info.
Enlightening. Maybe it's just me but that seems unjust.
Why was it decided that a vote won't count after 7 days?
And why does the author only have the same time period to accrue from their work?
Sorry if these are fundamental questions but I'm still relatively new and this all sounds unfair.

I discussed this at some length just a few days ago: HERE

I think before it was 1-2 days, so its better than before at least ^_^

Wow didn't know that.
So I guess there is the possibility in the future to extend if it was something the collective wanted.
Thanks for the reply

These other comments do look correct. We used to have two payouts, one after one to two days and the other thirty days later.

There's been lots of discussion over earning indefinitely on posts (the long tail. ) From what I've heard there, any open payout post has to be held in memory by witnesses running a copy of the blockchain. At some point it's a question of computing burden and overall speed (transactions are to take less than three seconds. )

Aldo, the vast majority of votes are placed in the first few days or so, then trailing off hard (typically. )

With all that said, I do expect this payout period to be adapted over time. I've seen great proposals on how to handle longer or indefinite payout windows.

Thank you. It seems now that voting on a post that is past payout does not in fact reduce your voting power.

But voting on your own new comment on a post that has past payout does reduce your voting power and seems to give a payout.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54