❓Answering Common Questions: What is SteemTrail? 🐳

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

Like to Curate? Is there a Steemit tag you'd like to see grow? Then this is for you!

A long time ago...in a galaxy far far away...Iconic Steemians took the reins to achieve better curation and engagement. See, a year ago, when Steemit was first starting, unless you got a whale vote on your post, it probably wasn't going to make much. Now while whales are the ones who put in their money, risk, etc and I'm not one to tell other what to do with their money...it did cause a bit of a problem.

Because you needed a whale for a decent payout...everyone had to chase after their votes, which meant posting content topics they followed. Again, this isn't a bad thing in itself, but it created a push for posts into a rather thin band of topics. So some of the more fringe tags at the time, didn't get much attention or earnings.

Then along came @SteemTrail!

Q: When did @Steemtrail start?

In August of 2016, the already long time minnow advocate @instructor2121 announced the launch of @steemtrail in [this post. He laid out the foundations that's grown into a HUGE endeavor with at least 75 different trails, each focusing on a different topic. Just to name a few, there are;

@food-trail

@gaming-trail

@fiction-trail

@health-trail

@philosophy-trail

and MANY more!

Q: What do they do?

The idea is that each category has their own channel in the @steemtrail Discord server. People are able to join other interested in the same topic by seeking out quality posts to be rewarded with great, engaging comments as well as some varying (yet decent) sized upvotes.

Most of us know that when a post gets this kind of social and monetary support...we see more of those types of posts! So why not seek out the best of the best (without large payouts already) and reward those authors for their fantastic work.

For newbies this is a FANTASTIC way to get to meet other like minded people, especially being able to target specific topics that match yours!

Q: Does it cost me anything to join?

The short answer is no. Nobody has to pay anything from their wallets, however giving some time and passion towards the topics you're interested in can be expected. If you want to, you can add some of your voting power towards the trail topic of your choice both help support those receiving these votes but ALSO get you more curation rewards (since the trail votes smallest to largest SP weight.)

Q: How do I get more information or join?

Anyone that is interested should hop into their Discord Server Here: https://discord.gg/S6XEAUw

You'll immediately see a LOOONG string of rooms, each named for a chosen topic. Simply hop into one of the channels that match your interest or you can say hello in the "Introduce yourself to steem-trail" channel. @instructor2121 and @anotherjoe tend to have weekly meetings in that discord to by holding a @steemtrail hangout (that anybody is free to join.) Typically these take place on Thursday evenings, 6pm CDT. But make sure to check the 'hangout-schedule' room for announcements on these.

Also, this Sunday June 11th both @instructor2121 and @anotherjoe will be guests on the @steemittalk podcast to talk about their fantastic initiative!

Remember that ALL of my guide posts are eligible to be added as entries to the Steem Center Wiki or Operation Translation.

Click here to find out how these can earn you Steem!!

Feel free to ask me anything. I'm here to Help!

I've had slow response times lately, but I try to get a response to every question.




Previous Helpful Posts for Newbies

❓Answering Common Questions: What happens when you Vote on a Post that's Past Payout? ☑️

❓SPECIAL Answering Common Questions: How can I get 1 on 1 Mentoring Help?👩‍🏫

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I use Steemit.Chat? What does it do for me? 💬

❓Answering Common Questions: What's the Difference between Steemit and the Steem Blockchain? ♨️

❓Answering Common Questions: Since I'm making money, What Images can I Safely Use? ©️

❓Answering Common Questions: How do I Visually Spiff up my Steemit Posts? Are there any Templates available? 🎀

❓Answering Common Questions: What are all these keys in my wallet? Why so many? 🔑

❓Answering Common Questions: What should I write about? ✏️

❓Answering Common Questions: I'm getting frustrated...Are my Expectations too high? 🙍

❓Answering Common Questions: Why am I not getting votes? What can I do about it? 📷

❓Answering Common Questions: Where does the money come from? 💵

❓Answering Common Questions: Should I use 100% Steem Power or 50%/50% Payouts for my Post❓

❓Answering Common Questions: Reputation and Flags! What's this Number by my Name? #️⃣️

❓Answering Common Questions: Steem, Steem Power, Steem Dollars and What Should I do with them? 💲

What's this Slider Bar and Vote Power Percentage? What's the Difference?

Why Newbies Should be Excited about the next Hardfork

Answering Common Questions about Voting and Curation

Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.


Image Sources:
SteemTrail

Sort:  

Aha great, this was one of those things on my mind, people mentioned it a few times and never really got around to finding out as so much to do. Thanking you for this post! 😎

It sounds like when I get home I need to hop on Discord! That seems to be where all the cool kids are hanging out ;)

Cool, I might be become pol-trail today :3, but Im really new to Steemit. Followed you to catch the master @instructor2121 podcast :D

Another great informative post.
Thank you for your dedication to the platform.
And your help to myself and other newcomers.
@tremendospercy

I've been learning more from your post than anywhere else. Thanks

looking forward to listen that podcast :)

How awesome @sykochica ! Thank you for this helpful information yet again, I am looking forward to the @steemittalk podcast this Sunday ~ hope your weekend is off to a stellar start !!

Thank you! I definitely hope to see you at the show.
You have a great weekend too! :)

And yet another whole new layer of Steemit to explore! I feel like a pioneer discovering all this so I can show it to all my friends and guide them through, just like you are doing. Thank you!

Too much to follow and handle at least for me.

But a great initiative.

You never fail to bring the goods to the table. Thanks for letting folks know where to go to better Steemians.

Okay -- back to my extremely random, but fun curation efforts.

Steem On. You are appreciated!!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54