In the Park Part 19 (Saturday Prompt: mosquitoes)

in #freewrite6 years ago

mosquito-1754359_640.jpg

image credit

Clumsily, Lisa opened the package of cigarettes and shook one out. "Oh no! I don't have a lighter!" she exclaimed. Selene was already digging in her purse. "I always carry one, because I know so many smokers. Here you go!" After two unsuccessful tries, Lisa lit the cigarette, then stared at it balefully. "That Samson better be a really great guy and an awesome kisser after all this trouble!" Cautiously, she put the cigarette to her lips and inhaled. After a great deal of coughing and choking, she began to get the hang of it. "Why does anyone do this on purpose, more than once?" she wondered aloud. With great perseverance she made it through enough of the cigarette to consider it all smoked, and then rubbed it out on the nearby sidewalk. Gasping a little, and still coughing from time to time, she gestured for Selene to follow her into her apartment. "There are too many mosquitoes out here all of a sudden. You probably shouldn't try to walk home at this hour. How about if you spend the night here with me? I have to stay up 'til midnight so I can scream, and you can keep me company. We can watch a movie if you like; I have Netflix."

If you would like to read the preceding segments of this story, here are the links. Thanks for stopping by!

part one

part two

part three

part four

part five

part six

part seven

part eight

part nine

part ten

part eleven

part twelve

part thirteen

part fourteen

part fifteen

part sixteen

part seventeen

part eighteen

Sort:  

Oh that was easier than I thought! Now the worst for her is over with, hopefully!

I have a few ideas lurking, but it all depends on the prompt next time I get around to writing!

Yay- we like suspense!!

I am reading backwards to find out what these 2 are up to. 🐓🐓

Hmm, I never thought about reading it all backwards! Good luck!

You sure are doing a great job of keeping this story going. : ) What a coincidence. I just posted a crane fly which looks like a mosquito.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16