In the Park Part 10 (Selfie Freewrite Contest Day 11 prompt: appetite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

sombrero-177347_640.jpg

image credit

Lisa and Selene quickly walked around the little park. Sure enough, on the far side of the grassy area near the playground equipment stood a young boy wearing a sombrero and cowboy boots! He couldn't have been more than ten or twelve years old. And nearby on the monkey bars perched Samson. As the girls approached, the boy saw them and smiled broadly. "I'm so glad you came! I was afraid you wouldn't come! Now everything will be all right!"

This certainly was not a scenario either of the girls had considered. Mr. Sombrero was neither handsome nor paunchy; he was just a little boy! Samson was preening and looking as pleased with himself as a macaw can look.

"What's this all about?" Lisa finally recovered from her astonishment and found her voice. "Why did you leave a note in my door? Does this parrot really think I'm wonderful? How would you know, anyway?" There were more questions ready to fly out of her mouth, but she made herself stop there. She didn't want to overwhelm the poor kid.

"Let me explain," said the lad. "My name is Larry. My older brother and I have been living in a a travel trailer in a parking lot for several months. He had a good job, and we were getting by okay. Our parents died in an accident, so he has been taking care of me. About a week ago a really strange woman came knocking at the door, asking questions, and being super nosy. She wanted to know all about us. She was crazy, I think. We were eating supper when she came, and just looking at her made me lose my appetite. She began demanding money. She was convinced my brother was wealthy and we were just living like gypsies for the fun of it. We didn't have any to spare, just enough to buy food until my brother's next paycheck. She said if he didn't give her $5000, she would turn him into a bird. He didn't have that kind of money, of course, but she didn't believe him. And then she turned him into a bird. Isn't that right, Samson?"

If you would like to read the preceding segments of this story, here are the links. Thanks for stopping by!

part one

part two

part three

part four

part five

part six

part seven

part eight

part nine

Sort:  

Ack what a horrible woman! Thats a great development in the story!

Now I have to figure out what to do about it!

OMG! I sure wasn't expecting a boy either. LOL! And the story he told was a fun twist. : )

Shortly I will write the next part....not sure what is going to happen, myself!

I didn't see any of that coming!! 😂 This story makes me smile!

Well, you know how it is: Sometimes the author doesn't even see it coming! HA HA!!

Haha I do know!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16