In the Park Part 15 (5-minute Freewrite Day 239 prompt: skinny)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Thank you once again to @mariannewest for the daily freewrite prompt!

automobile-1834274_640.jpg

image credit

Selene's elderly neighbor, Myrtle, shook her head sadly. "I haven't seen my kitty for three days. I don't know where he went. I'm sorry, Lisa, he may be gone forever. But you can come back in a day or two and see if he's back. I'd love to have you girls stop in any time! Can you stay for a cookie?"

Lisa and Selene looked at each other in dismay. "Oh, thanks Myrtle," Selene finally sputtered. "We have to go do some things yet tonight. Maybe we'll see you in a few days." They made their farewells and slipped away into the gathering darkness of night.

"Oh dear, this isn't going as well as I thought it would," whispered Lisa forlornly. "Now where are we going to find another white cat? It was about 8:00 when I ate that apricot, or maybe 8:30. We only have 24 hours to get this all done. What shall we do?"

The girls walked down the street disconsolately, not enjoying the evening nearly as much as before. Suddenly, a skinny white cat darted out of the bushes of someone's yard and ran across the street. Both girls immediately ran after him, heedless of traffic. (Fortunately, there wasn't much at that hour!) They followed the cat into a neatly landscaped yard across the street, where it darted under the BMW parked in the driveway. They both bent down, one on each side of the car, and began trying to coax the cat out. "Here, kitty kitty!" they called. "Come out, kitty kitty. We want to pet you!"

If you would like to read the preceding segments of this story, here are the links. Thanks for stopping by!

part one

part two

part three

part four

part five

part six

part seven

part eight

part nine

part ten

part eleven

part twelve

part thirteen

part fourteen

Sort:  

We had a family road trip to California over the last 3 weeks so I've barely been on Steemit. What a lovely surprise to see your post pop up in my feed. I've got a lot of unpacking and general catching up to do on the homestead, but I look to catching up on this story!

Thank you so much for reading my little tale! I hope you had a great trip, and are getting situated at home again. Being gone is nice, getting home is nice, but the unpacking and cleaning out the car can be a drag.

If this cat is anything like mine, they will never coax him out from underneath that car!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16