Slaughterhouse - Part 9 - Things go South.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

The writing prompt was:

"You are a cow and you have discovered that you and all the other cows are destined for the slaughterhouse, you draft a plan to free yourself and the others!"

Provided by @braveheart29

We had some back and forth writing collaborations with @braveheart29. Hope you enjoy it ^.^


writing-prompt-fulfilled.png

Image provided by @rocking-dave, the same awesome dude that gave the idea for this story


Part 1, written by @svashta
Part 2, written by @svashta
Part 3 written by @svashta, and Part 3 written by @braveheart29
Part 4, written by @braveheart29
Part 5, written by @svashta
Part 6, written by @braveheart29
Part 7, written by @svashta
Part 8, written by @braveheart
And before you is part 9, written by @svashta

Disclaimer: The story consists of exactly 666 words.
You have been warned.


It was half past noon and John Svashta was in the kitchen, cooking lunch for himself before heading to town.

Knock knock

John dropped what he was doing and went to the door. He wasn't expecting any visitors so he picked up the baseball bat from behind the door and asked who it was.

“Open up, John. It's Jim. We need to talk.”

John could feel the anger building up inside him and as he unlocked the door with his left hand, he gripped the baseball bat firmer with his right.

But as he swung open the door he was greeted with the sight of Jim pointing a double barreled shotgun straight at his head. No matter the physical advantage John had over Jim, the baseball bat was no match for the shotgun.

John dropped the baseball bat in shock and took two steps back, lifting his hands in the air.

“I'm only going to ask you once, John. Lie to me, and I blow your brains out. One time, get it?”

Jim placed the shotgun’s barrel straight on John’s forehead and waited for an answer. John wanted to speak up, but feeling the cold steel on his skin, he couldn't muster any word and just nodded instead.

“Did you, or did you not steal my cows?”

John swallowed and began sweating profusely. His mind went racing with so many thoughts he could barely keep up with all of them.

First thing that came to John’s mind was that it wasn’t Jim who stole his cows and dirtied his car a few nights prior. If it was Jim, he most certainly wouldn’t have come to Svashta farm and threaten to kill John for doing the same thing he did to John. No, it couldn’t have been Jim who stole the cows.

John knew it didn’t matter much if he said yes or no. If Jim had decided to come to his farm, he already knew Jim wouldn’t believe him regardless of the answer. He needed to come up with something to either calm Jim down or get him to change his mind. And fast.

John took a deep breath, swallowed again and spoke up.

“Y-your cows got stolen too?” John stuttered.

“What do you mean too?”

“Three of my cows went missing in the last few days. And my car got covered in manure every night the cows went missing.”

“So you accused me without even talking to me, stole cows from me, used cow sh&t to write “revenge” all over my car and you thought what? I wouldn’t do anything about it? Just laugh it out like it’s no big deal? No, no, no, John, you got this all wrong. Here’s what we’re going to do. We’re going to go down to your barn, you’re going to unlock the doors, and if my cows are in there... You know what’s coming next. And if not, you and I have a cow thief in common that needs lecturing.”

“Sounds fair.”

Still aiming at John, Jim backtracked out the front door and hinted John to follow suit.

John completely relaxed at that point. He knew he was safe and his thoughts shifted completely.

Who was the mysterious person stealing cows? And writing with manure on top of that. Who would wish to harm Jim and John? What did John and Jim do wrong? What was it revenge for?

The couple made it to the barn doors and John pulled out the keys from his pocket.

“You first,” said Jim to John and indicated to him to enter the barn.

The cows in the barn gathered round in confusion, both because it was unusual for anyone to enter at that hour and because it was two men instead of just John.

Jim’s cows stayed in the near corner of the barn and Jim immediately recognized them by their branding.

Without saying so much as a word, he pulled the trigger and dealt with John Svashta the old-fashioned way.


End of part 9


While you are waiting for content new,
in the comments below leave me a clue,
an idea for a story you'd love to read,
a journey to the unknown my keyboard will lead.


Svashta_gif.gif

Gif provided by no other than the awesome @rocking-dave


Previous writing prompts fulfilled:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19


Next writing prompt to be fulfilled:

"I would love it see a story of two lovers who are separated by distance. In the story, I would love you to use distance as a human."

Provided by: @fona

Sort:  

Oh my! I am not quite sure what to do with this? Does John want to be dead and stop here, or shall we have a few more miracles and twists and turns?

I can't think of a person who would want to be dead :p But after all, the title of the story is "Slaughterhouse", so I figured it needed some bloodshed again. After all, no crime goes unpunished, right? Whatever the cause may be. Looking at you Clarabelle and Bob

There's plenty of room for what's left to happen here;
How does Clarabelle react to John's death, knowing she caused it? And how does she find out? Does she find out on yet another of her rescue missions? Perhaps on the TV?

What happens to Jim? What happens to John's cows? I have ideas for these two, and will happily write a part on that, but feel free to write about it yourself if you'd like. ^^

If you wish I can also go ahead and write part 10 and leave you with part 11. I promise to stick to our silent deal, in that I won't write about Clarabelle, but only about Jim and (now deceased) John.

So all in all, I believe the story doesn't need to end. Heck, I don't want it to. I'm just introducing some... consequences... to it.

Oh good, I am glad you want to continue writing! I have some ideas for part 10. I’ll get busy with that. Magic? Telepathy? Space Cows?

Can't wait to see what Clarabelle has in store for us this time ^^

It's kinda like George Orwells Animal Farm, I like it!

I am ashamed to admit I haven't read it myself :<
But I'm happy you like it! :D

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

@svashta, you just received an upvote powered by smartsteem. Our goal is to support quality posts and authors on steem.

Everyone is invited to be a part of and to join the smartsteem community: https://smartsteem.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48